We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one mentions the noise ! Luckily :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
birmingham,uk
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
453 helpful votes 453 helpful votes
“No one mentions the noise ! Luckily :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place is just great. You do not get to number 1 or 2 out of 700+ reviews without being incredibly good at what you do. The odd negative reviews appear to have been written by some strange people.
However if you are averse to background do ask for a room away from the klong ( river) and the school. We were upgraded to a truly beautiful riverside suite but the noise from the school & the river boats was so bad I thought my wife was going to kill me! The rush hour seemed to start about 6.00am. On day 2 the school was quieter & she was more used to the boats but it came as a shock after all the reviews that talked about tranquility .
The rooms are lovely, the decor throughout is sensational & incredibly tasteful. Some idiot complained about a small pool - given the location the pool is huge as are the pool towels.
Vegetarian sausages & bacon are never going to catch on but other than that the breakfasts are good and dinner fantastic. We rarely eat in hotels but then this is not like a plastic fantastic and the quality of the food was just so outstanding that we ate here both nights.
I headed my review "no one mentioned the noise - luckily" I said luckily because if I had known about the noise I would not have booked it & that would have been a great shame as this place is very special.
Staff friendly & charming.
You can get cheaper but at these prices I doubt you will get better.

Room Tip: If you want peace & quiet ask to be away from river - avoid 111,211,311 & 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    732
    121
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
138
495
57
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hard to write a review for this outstanding hotel as everything is said in the reviews already.
The hotel is an island of tranquillity and relaxation in the loud and bustling Bangkok run by a very friendly and engaged owner and his outstanding team.

The buidings are perfectly maintained, everything is clean and neat. The pool area is the perfect place to relax after a long journey or an exhausting sightseeing trip.

We got an upgrade to the executive suite, which was amazing! A two story room with a huge bathroom and all amenities.

Although the hotel is #1 here in tripadvisor (which is definitely the adequate ranking for this hotel) and a highclass hotel from overall perspective the atmosphere was not formal or cramped. Quite the contrary is true, thanks to the owner and his brilliant team. It's all about people!

No question which hotel we'll choose for our next trip to BKK...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely warm reception, staff couldn't do enough, v helpful. Room great. Central location. Hotel has a selection of different rooms and seems to cater for all groups from couples through smilies to business. First night in Bangkok for many years and want to come back before even leaving.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavendon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This beautifully decorated hotel is an absolute gem tucked away down the end of a side road pretty near the centre of Bangkok. The staff can't do enough for you. THe rooms are large with colonial type furniture and restful colours. In each room there is a Buddhist book of good governance which is worth a read. My husband, a staunch atheist concluded he could be a Buddhist after a few dips in! Our room looked out over what felt like a mini rainforest garden. The whole place reeked of relaxation. We'd seen the reviews of the food and decided to go out to a chilled rooftop bar first (red sky rooftop-worth a visit) and return to eat. We were not disappointed. The canapé was the edible leaf of a local tree filled with peanut, tamarind, chilli and lemon grass. We are not veggies but were tempted to try some of the veggie dishes ( there was fish as well). Three mushrooms red curry was delicious as was the fish salad. The English owner was charming and committed to his guests having a good experience. Fab breakfast choices too in the airy and chilled restaurant. Restful pool area. Could have stayed longer here and loved my first visit to Bangkok.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, it was our first few nights in Thailand and we loved this hotel. The hotel is a very attractive and our room was great, full of character and what appeared to be antique furniture. The main part of the hotel is an mid-century Thai family home that has some local architectural significance.

The only drawback that I can think about is that the hotel is at the end of a side street that is about 200 meters off the a main road. While the trip down the side street does not make for a good first impression of the hotel, you soon realize fact that it is so far off the main road, the hotel is peaceful and quiet and there's hardly any street noise. You hardly know you are in the middle of a huge city.

Hotel is convenient to the sky train system...Ploen Chit station is about 300 meters away.

The pool is a wonderful respite from a day touring Bangkok. Even though we were there in the winter, days were still above 30C.

Public rooms are airy and spacious. The Guest room was comfortable and good-sized. The bathroom was great with some interesting design touches. We got a room with a balcony, which helped us unwind from a long day.

This hotel's GM (I think he's the owner) was present daily, pleasantly chatting with guests and making recommendations. Very helpful with recommendations! The hotel staff are very helpful too. We twice ate at the hotel, the food is good. Breakfast offers a variety of good choices.

We will be again consider Ariyasomvilla if we return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in Bangkok for 3 days/night before heading to Cambodia and Myanmar and the Ariyasomvilla started our trip off on a high note. Driving down the street the hotel is on you think this could not be right (it's just a normal Bangkok neighborhood) but then you turn in to a piece of paradise. Beautiful hotel, pool is great, rooms are nicely furnished (we were on the ground floor) and have little touches that makes them special (eg, flowers floating in a brass bowl next to the shower), service is outstanding (they could not have been nicer or more helpful). The hotel is also only about 2 blocks from the sky train which is a huge positive given the traffic gridlock in Bangkok - we took it everywhere and it is even air conditioned. The only perplexing thing was i kept hearing what sounded like street cleaners going by the first night - it was only the next day i realized that our room was next to a canal and they were boats going by. I would definitely recommend this for those who prefer smaller hotels, but still want a level of luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel. we were upgraded on arrival to the executive suite which was a lovely surprise. it was just beautiful, full of character and original furniture.

having a pool to come back to and cool off in makes a huge difference when you have been wandering around hot, humid and hectic bangkok. the staff are fantastic, so attentive. and the food was unmatched anywhere else in Bangkok for us. Breakfast is particularly good. proper coffee and whatever you would like from the menu.

If i go back to Bangkok, i will be going straight to Ariyasomvilla.

Room Tip: the executive suite is pricey but absolutely wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.