We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial style hotel in the middle of Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Overveen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Colonial style hotel in the middle of Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

You would actually not think it is possible if you are in hectic Bangkok: to find a colonial villa style hotel with large gardens, a quiet place and a good swimming pool like if you were somewhere on the outskirts of Bangkok. Well here it is.
We loved it. And next to the above it has a very good restaurant (don't forget to reserve a table), a fantastic massage and spa overlooking the garden and very very friendly staff.
Use the skytrain as Bangkok traffic can be very bad. Try the longboat to bring you to the musea via an agency. And enjoy Arisomvilla as much as we did!

Room Tip: We saw the tip of the deluxe rooms overlooking the pool, but we also liked the rooms more at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    122
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
139
499
59
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canggu, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked this as a final night special treat on a two week, third trip to Thailand this year with my Thai girlfriend. The previous week we stayed at the modern Aetas which was very comfortable and good value.
While I cannot really find fault with the hotel facilities service or food, its the price that puts me off. For £117 per night-double the cost of other comfortable Hotels, this place is just not worth double the price.It's like staying in a relatives country house rather than a Hotel. If you want peace and quiet, you like old victorian wooden buildings, with a spa on site, trendy food, a tiny pool and you're very wealthy, then it may be more your kind of place to stay. Not ours. I appreciate quality and the room detail however, don't be pulled in by the over-the-top reviews put on here. Go elsewhere for two nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlees, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear David C. Thanks for your review. Sorry that you didn't appreciate the hotel fully. It seems from your comments that your only real objection was the price. Obviously you knew the price before you booked with us and clearly you've seen the website and the various review sites - so you should have had an idea of what we are about. We in no way pretend to be anything else but a small boutique hotel. Because we have so few rooms but provide extensive services our costs are a bit higher that other bigger properties. What we are selling is an authentic "Thai" experience - yes to" peace and quiet", an authentic period house from the 40's, certainly not trendy food - but real Thai food which happens to be vegetarian and seafood only, a charming salt water pool ( in no way tiny), a small spa all set in tropical gardens.
The great thing about a big city like Bangkok is it's diversity - it caters to all tastes and all pockets - we are by no means the cheapest or the most expensive. It's obviously subjective and one makes one's choice taking a number of considerations into account.
What we are, is real, and our objective is to take good care of those guests that like our property and style.
In closing I would say that everyone is given an opportunity to review on sites like TA - you have quite rightly been given yours but it's not right to demean others opinions if they do not coincide with yours. The reviews posted on TA are the opinions - whether good or bad - of those guest who have stayed with us.
Many thanks and best regards
David

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. It has a relaxed feel and the staff is genuinely friendly and attentive. Its at the quiet end of a busy street, walking distance from the sky train and bustling Bangkok. You can take a swim in the pool, relax in your room or enjoy a massage in the outdoor pavilion. It's got the feel of old Thailand in the middle of the city. And the food is outstanding. We would love to return for another visit.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool which was great. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked this wonderful hotel based on reviews from other travellers, and it was superb...I arrived early and did not expect my room to be ready; however, the staff quickly offered to put me into the 'spare room' until my room was ready....that way I could have a shower and rest. How kind was that? Then while having lunch at their superb restaurant, a gentleman by the name of David, (the Host), came and introduced himself...
When I was taken to my room, I was so happy....canopy bed with orchids decorating the duvet...It felt like I had stepped into a wonderful oasis.
As a single female (older) traveller, I enjoyed my 3 nights feeling that the staff and owner actually cared about my comings and goings without intrusion into my privacy.
Thank you Trip Advisor for continuing to give recommendations....I never would have found this boutique hotel without your help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely compact resort style Thai hotel in central Bangkok, a short walk from the sky-train and short taxi from the airport express train. Very comfortable room, extremely nice bathroom. Excellent and friendly service, free drinks in room and wifi. But probably the best reason to stay here is the food- the hotel restaurant is excellent, a must for at least one dinner/lunch, seriously! Would come here over the large hotel chains any day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was such a find thanks to trip advisor. Tucked away, but not too far from the sky train, this hotel is just lovely. The foliage and ambiance are a welcome reprieve from the chaos of Bangkok. The rooms are beautiful, the food delicious and enjoyed an outdoor massage. David was the ultimate host. In fact, we brought 9 for dinner from our Bhutan Backroads tour to the hotel because we enjoyed the food so much the first night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The term "boutique hotel" is often misused. It should reflect style, individualism, uniqueness, great location, quality service. All too often it is a marketing term thrown about with scant regard to the customer experience and to merely inflate prices.

The Ariyasom thankfully delivers on its promise. This is an individual hotel run by owner Manager David Seymour Lees and his wife. Davids experience in the hospitality business shows. The staff are extremely well trained - attentive, knowledgeable, charming yet without it being too in your face or feeling too contrived.

The rooms are spacious with individual details, great quality amenities and a style and charm that fits this unique property - which is a beautifully extended family villain the heart of busy Sukhomvit

The hotel just works - well laid out, great pool, peaceful setting. But I think it is the restaurant that really lifts this boutique hotel in to the hidden Gem category. And by that I mean the food.

The food is largely vegetarian and is a fusion between exquisitely balanced thai flavours, regional cuisine and David passion for traditional English Puddings. The Crumble (three were on offer the night we had dinner) is simply one of the best I have tasted, and the Bread and Butter pudding worth travelling from afar to try.

The great test of vegetarian food is the balance of flours, texture and tastes. David and his team deliver this. Beautifully balanced flavours, great presentation and a visual treat. For those of you not vegetarian don't worry - the food is so good that you may just become a convert.

This is a place to come to just for dinner - but make sure you book because it is justifiably popular. I've stayed here too and I would definitely recommend it as a hidden Gem in the centre of Bangkok

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property over look the lovely pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.