We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but stylish cafe with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Cafe Thai Restaurant

Gallery Cafe Thai Restaurant
86/100 Soi Captain Bush, Bangkok, Thailand (Bang Rak)
662-237.8609, 639.5580
Improve this listing
Ranked #569 of 7,183 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Simple but stylish cafe with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The evening was rather late, so my colleague and I were the only customers left, despite the fact that it was Friday night. Or perhaps the evenings are not that busy in general, as this is a rather quiet street? Irrespective, we enjoyed an excellent meal with good food and relatively reasonably priced wine, sitting outside on the terrace.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The wrong place ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We ate dinner, late, at a place calling itself the Gallery Cafe, at the right address, on the right street (Charoen Krung 30), just behind the Sheraton Orchid -- largely based on the recommendations here.

As nearly as I can tell, we ate at a "fake" Gallery across the road from the place photographed by the Google truck. I would not call it cute, since we ate in the outdoor alley facing the motorbike and taxi traffic. I would not call the food good; my wife had a beef Massaman curry that was nearly inedible. (Though I will say that we found most beef in SE Asia to be of poor quality.) Service was slow as well. The place was not deserted -- other diners.

Just for the record, or whatever, I have created a file from two Google truck photos from 2011, the one on the left is clearly the Gallery Cafe on the South side of the street, and the one on the right is the location at which we ate, identified as the Gallery, but on the North side. (Photo aspect ratio distorted by editing.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely small bistro near Royal Orchid Sheraton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we discovered this small bistro/cafe near the hotel. It doesn't look much and the street isn't inspiring but it's worth seeking it out if you'd like a change from the hotel. Good food, helpful staff and popular with the locals. Would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good alternative restaurant near Sheraton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very close to the Sheraton this restaurant offers good Thai cuisine in a friendly atmosphere. If you don't want to eat in the hotel nor want to travel this is a perfect option. All is there: Thai food, drinks and Wifi all for a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice and clean place. Food is good and price and staff are friendly. Only negative is six inside place not more. Big terrace is fine but somtimes to hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Cafe Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gallery Cafe Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Cafe Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.