We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roof View Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roof View Place to your Saves list
Roof View Place
90/1 Samesean Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn 15000 | Soi 6 Banpanthom, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good for the cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a decent hotel with working bath facilities that are at or above most thai standard for the price. Small balconies, quiet neighborhood, great location. This is definately worth it for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    134
    50
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
105
57
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is located near Kao San Road, just over the River so it's a lot more quit. The neighborhood is nice, many little shops and restaurants around. A room on the front side of the hotel gives a great view!

The staff was very nice and helpfull. Breakfast is simple but with fresh fruits. It was a very nice play to stay in Bangkok!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here two years ago and loved it so much I recommend it to any friends traveling to the area.
My boyfriend and I had a private room. It was clean, came with a balcony and fridge, the breakfast selection is fantastic, and the location is great! One night we were coming home late and got invited to join some Thai neighbours (a family) at their street side table to enjoy some snacks and beers. I think only one of the people spoke a small amount of English, but it was such a great experience to bond and try and communicate. You'd never experience that staying at a cliche hotel in a touristy part of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a perfect stay here, for a budget hotel it was everything you need. Good location, lovely breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly helpful staff, complimentary bottles of water, and all for a reasonable price. A previous review mentions a 'chicken farm', which apparently keeps everyone awake from 4.00. Yes, there is a rooster who lives nearby, but from what we could tell it's only the one, and whilst we heard him from time to time, i wouldn't say he's a particularly early riser. Neither did we feel that the hotel is located in an 'unsafe' area, also mentioned in an earlier review. it's pretty quiet and residential and at no point did i feel threatened or unsafe. We will definitely come back to stay here, when we're back in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is great. Near Khao San Rd. - like 15 mins walk, and also Grand Palace etc. Staff are very friendly and helpful. If you want, the room can be cleaned every day. If not, u still get 2 bottles of water. Price for the room (with AC) is great - breakfast included (and its really very tasty). I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We really enjoyed the 6 nights we stayed here. The rooms are modern and cosy, with a closet, tv, a/c, fridge, table with mirror, balcony and a neat and clean bathroom. The rooms are cleaned every day and if you ask them not to clean your room they still give you two bottles of drinking water (they do not enter your room but put the bottles in a bag and hang it at your doorknob). The included breakfast buffet is good and has something for everyone. The location is about 10 minutes walking from Khao San road, and yet it's nice and quiet at night. The staff is very friendly and we would recommand this hotel if you want a good hotel in central BKK for a very reasonable price!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

There is a chicken farm near-by. if you don't mind waking up at 4 am then it might not be so bad. But don't expect to sleep after 4 am. It is also in a very unsafe area. There were people sleeping in the streets right outside of the hotel. I live in Northern Thailand, so I am used to some of this stuff, but it's really bad in this particular area. It's in walking distance (2km) to Wat pra kaew and some other things were close-by, so that is why I gave it 2 stars. They had very very basic ammenities, but I don't mind bringing my own shampoo, etc.... It's just that you wont get any sleep after 4 am and you might get robbed if you walk outside the hotel at night.

Room Tip: Try booking just 1 night first to see how well you can sleep with roosters outside your window, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roof View Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof View Place

Address: 90/1 Samesean Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn 15000 | Soi 6 Banpanthom, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Old City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Roof View Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof View Place Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roof View Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.