We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Location, Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its location. About 5 minutes walk to Asoke BTS Station and Foodland supermarket, which makes it convenient to you to buy stuffs.

The booking process was smooth, after a series of emails. I managed a booking plus a guarantee of an extra bed. Check in was cool. Since we arrived early, the room was not ready yet for us. We had to leave our luggage and came back at 12 nn and our room was ok.

The room is a typical condo unit set-up. Upon entering you will see kitchen area going to a bathroom. and on the left part is the small living area converted to a room with the extra bed. And a partition where the double bed is. They happened to give us the corner room which gave us a very good view of the city, where you get to see the buildings, BTS station from our view which we liked very much.

The daily housekeeper made sure we went back to a very clean room after a day tour during our stay. The staff are friendly and will always facilitate your request. I even had our itinerary of travel printed for us at no extra charge. And even delivered the document in our room. That is a good service. :)

Breakfast and dinner. No problem. Coffee Alley it is just stone's throw away from Citadines 16.
Good food too. Serve typical breakfast menu. Ham/waffle/egg/bacon/sausage/sandwich and other menu being served.

Check out was efficient. The fastest check out process I encountered in my travel experiences. :)

We had a great stay with them. I can say that the 5days 4 nights stay with them was cool. Some glitches about the access cards given but the concern were addressed promptly.

I'll recommend this hotel to anybody who will visit in Bangkok. :)

Room Tip: choose 507 room. Cool window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasiwimon23, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Melanie R,

Greetings from Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok!

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage and the feedback through TripAdvisore.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service standards met your expectations, Receiving such positive feedback from our residents certainly motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We trust, you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to have another opportunity of welcoming you to Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok soon.

Wishing you a pleasant day!

Kind regards,

Sasiwimon Chaisawat
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    217
    45
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
33
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice, clean and modern room with a sliding partition between living and bedroom area and a quite well equipped small kitchen. Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful reception staff although not everyone had good knowledge of English. Fantastic location very close to the BTS and the MRT and a Foodland supermarket a few steps away. The only drawback in my room was the location of the clothes cupboard, which was in the middle of the window front, thereby considerably reducing the window size. For the next visit I would choose another room with a different layout.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't have the cupboard in the middle of the window front if you value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Check in/out was efficient with no issues.

Room was clean, comfortable and had a good bed. Location is great being close to bts Asoke and other shops and resturants. Foodland grocery store is very close so you can stock up with supplies for the kitchen if you want to eat in your suite.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a mac computer in the lobby for those requiring internet access if you don't have a your device.

Pool area was small but adequate for cooling off from the heat.

My main complaint was the AC. The fan speed couldn't be adjusted to low so this meant it was always on high. It made too much noise at night which affected my sleeping. The maintenance guys tried to resolve but ultimately gave up as it wasn't possible to fix. I ended up turning off the AC at night which made for a warm room by morning. This was the first time I've ever stayed at a hotel that didn't have multiple fan speeds for AC.

Would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great Value for money. it was a good location, close to the train station. Rooms are not too bad for the price. Towels are limited and the bed is quite hard. Reception is friendly. The little kitchen would have been great for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location is not bad - it is just off Sukhumvit behind Exchange Tower. Walking from the hotel to Asok BTS / Terminal 21 takes about 10 min at a leisurely pace. Soi Cowboy is in a way just across the road (same time as Asok BTS).

Food is a problem. This place has no restaurants. So if you land up after 9 PM then you either have to go out to eat (Terminal 21 / Sukhumvit) or you have to order food in. Till 9 PM there is some basic room service available (club sandwich / green curry, etc.). On Soi 16, just next door to the hotel is a Foodland and above that there is a Japanese restaurant. A little bit further down the road there is a Korean restaurant beside a massage joint. If you keep walking further down the Soi then you will come across 2 other restaurants - an Italian joint and a Thai one. Other than this there is nothing else.

The room I stayed in a was a suite. It was pretty small in size although it did have a separate bedroom and living room area. Both were small but the living was especially disappointing. You sit in front of the TV and that means you are literally in front - about 3 feet from the TV. There is a small writing table just beside the sofa. A fully equipped open kitchen is present but no dining table.

The bed is ok and I had good sleep quality. THere is however, no telephone and no TV in the bedroom. So in case you have requested a wake up call then you really need to wake up, get out of bed, walk out of the bedroom and go and answer the call in the living area. not that this is a huge distance away - just about 10 to 15 paces. There is a cupboard in the bedroom but not enough space to keep your suitcase. If you do that then there will a bit of a space crunch in the room.

The WC and the shower are separate. The former is quite small and claustrophobic if you close the door. The latter has a bathtub but not a separate shower cubicle. It is quite small also in size - the tub, the sink and you and there is no room for anything else in there. Liquid soap dispensers in the shower only. Towels could have been far better.

The corridors of the floor areas would not be out of place in a communist era soviet republic - very bare and no natural light.

Breakfast facility exists - but very basic offering - fried rice, local meat or fish dish, chicken sausage, bacon strips, local soup, cereals, basic bread collection, some fresh fruit and canned juices, milk, tea, coffee, butter and jam. Oh there is also eggs on order. Not bad at all if you are not very fussy. I quite liked it.

Check-in and out was very smooth. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The place is neat and clean. Overall, a very average place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visited the Tokyo Citadines last year and was impressed by their room layout and thus decide to chose the Bangkok one as well.

Location wise, it is minutes walk from Asoke BTS station or Sukhumvit MRT station. If you taking the BTS to the hotel once you reach look for exit 4 or 6. Exit 4 requires you crossing a traffic junction toward Exchange Tower. I would suggest using Exit 6 which is a bridge link into Exchange Tower, go into Exchange Tower and take the escalator down rather than having to carried heavy luggage down stairs if you use Exit 4. Once down the escalator walk towards the Starbucks and exit the main door, go towards left and turn left on the 1st alley u see, u should be able to see the Citandies logo. There is also a Foodland super market 15m down from the Citandies which is great as it a 24 hour mart so food and water can be purchased there.

Room wise, it is almost identical to the one from Tokyo, a dry kitchen when u enter the room and follow by a small living and movable panel dividing the living room from the bed. It was bigger than the Tokyo one though. Clean and tidy all 4 nights of my stay, small episode of a lizard in the room on one of the night and the showerhead was not able to fixed to a position and kept sliding down and air-conditioner was a bit noisy during the night but bearable, just slight signs of wear and tear but overall still very good

Service was professional through out although perhaps I was expecting a bit more friendliness from the reception that is known for in Bangkok when we arrived initially.

All in all this a fantastic place to stay and very good value for money. The room provide more than the typical hotel room and is good for leisure usage and business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the highest rated of the 4 Citadines hotels in Bangkok, though I assume they are all run to a high uniform standard.

Things started off well when they let me check in at 10 am, so I was able to freshen up before tackling this vast city. The room is the same layout I had at the equally impressive Citadines in Tokyo (Shinjuku), with a kitchenette, small studio area, and a double bed set off by a partition. TV has Al Jazeera - yay! - along with 42 other channels.

I did not see any other guests during my 2-night stay, and external noise was minimal. God, I love quiet hotels! Front desk folks were friendly. A pool, gym and laundrette are on the top (8th) floor.

Across the road is a Mailboxes, Etc. store to take care of your postal needs. A minute or so farther down the road is a 24-hour Foodland supermarket catering to expats. You will need to buy soap powder here for the washing machine. The Sukhumvit/Asoke metro is also a stone's throw away.

I wholeheartly recommend this hotel, or any bearing the Citadines mark anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear dgdevil,

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage and the feedback through tripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation especially to the Guest Service staff. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better.

Once again, thank you for making Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok as your preferred accommodation choice. We will welcome you too at any of the other three Citadines properties in Bangkok as well viz. Citadines Sukhumvit 8, 11 and 23.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok

Address: 38 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok is situated in Bangkok's bustling Sukhumvit business and commercial district. All 79 apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and living room, WIFI internet access and home entertainment system with cable TV. At Citadines, you will experience friendly staff, chic living space with flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Citadines Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.