We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great Value for money. it was a good location, close to the train station. Rooms are not too bad for the price. Towels are limited and the bed is quite hard. Reception is friendly. The little kitchen would have been great for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    216
    45
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
33
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location is not bad - it is just off Sukhumvit behind Exchange Tower. Walking from the hotel to Asok BTS / Terminal 21 takes about 10 min at a leisurely pace. Soi Cowboy is in a way just across the road (same time as Asok BTS).

Food is a problem. This place has no restaurants. So if you land up after 9 PM then you either have to go out to eat (Terminal 21 / Sukhumvit) or you have to order food in. Till 9 PM there is some basic room service available (club sandwich / green curry, etc.). On Soi 16, just next door to the hotel is a Foodland and above that there is a Japanese restaurant. A little bit further down the road there is a Korean restaurant beside a massage joint. If you keep walking further down the Soi then you will come across 2 other restaurants - an Italian joint and a Thai one. Other than this there is nothing else.

The room I stayed in a was a suite. It was pretty small in size although it did have a separate bedroom and living room area. Both were small but the living was especially disappointing. You sit in front of the TV and that means you are literally in front - about 3 feet from the TV. There is a small writing table just beside the sofa. A fully equipped open kitchen is present but no dining table.

The bed is ok and I had good sleep quality. THere is however, no telephone and no TV in the bedroom. So in case you have requested a wake up call then you really need to wake up, get out of bed, walk out of the bedroom and go and answer the call in the living area. not that this is a huge distance away - just about 10 to 15 paces. There is a cupboard in the bedroom but not enough space to keep your suitcase. If you do that then there will a bit of a space crunch in the room.

The WC and the shower are separate. The former is quite small and claustrophobic if you close the door. The latter has a bathtub but not a separate shower cubicle. It is quite small also in size - the tub, the sink and you and there is no room for anything else in there. Liquid soap dispensers in the shower only. Towels could have been far better.

The corridors of the floor areas would not be out of place in a communist era soviet republic - very bare and no natural light.

Breakfast facility exists - but very basic offering - fried rice, local meat or fish dish, chicken sausage, bacon strips, local soup, cereals, basic bread collection, some fresh fruit and canned juices, milk, tea, coffee, butter and jam. Oh there is also eggs on order. Not bad at all if you are not very fussy. I quite liked it.

Check-in and out was very smooth. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The place is neat and clean. Overall, a very average place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visited the Tokyo Citadines last year and was impressed by their room layout and thus decide to chose the Bangkok one as well.

Location wise, it is minutes walk from Asoke BTS station or Sukhumvit MRT station. If you taking the BTS to the hotel once you reach look for exit 4 or 6. Exit 4 requires you crossing a traffic junction toward Exchange Tower. I would suggest using Exit 6 which is a bridge link into Exchange Tower, go into Exchange Tower and take the escalator down rather than having to carried heavy luggage down stairs if you use Exit 4. Once down the escalator walk towards the Starbucks and exit the main door, go towards left and turn left on the 1st alley u see, u should be able to see the Citandies logo. There is also a Foodland super market 15m down from the Citandies which is great as it a 24 hour mart so food and water can be purchased there.

Room wise, it is almost identical to the one from Tokyo, a dry kitchen when u enter the room and follow by a small living and movable panel dividing the living room from the bed. It was bigger than the Tokyo one though. Clean and tidy all 4 nights of my stay, small episode of a lizard in the room on one of the night and the showerhead was not able to fixed to a position and kept sliding down and air-conditioner was a bit noisy during the night but bearable, just slight signs of wear and tear but overall still very good

Service was professional through out although perhaps I was expecting a bit more friendliness from the reception that is known for in Bangkok when we arrived initially.

All in all this a fantastic place to stay and very good value for money. The room provide more than the typical hotel room and is good for leisure usage and business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the highest rated of the 4 Citadines hotels in Bangkok, though I assume they are all run to a high uniform standard.

Things started off well when they let me check in at 10 am, so I was able to freshen up before tackling this vast city. The room is the same layout I had at the equally impressive Citadines in Tokyo (Shinjuku), with a kitchenette, small studio area, and a double bed set off by a partition. TV has Al Jazeera - yay! - along with 42 other channels.

I did not see any other guests during my 2-night stay, and external noise was minimal. God, I love quiet hotels! Front desk folks were friendly. A pool, gym and laundrette are on the top (8th) floor.

Across the road is a Mailboxes, Etc. store to take care of your postal needs. A minute or so farther down the road is a 24-hour Foodland supermarket catering to expats. You will need to buy soap powder here for the washing machine. The Sukhumvit/Asoke metro is also a stone's throw away.

I wholeheartly recommend this hotel, or any bearing the Citadines mark anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear dgdevil,

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage and the feedback through tripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation especially to the Guest Service staff. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better.

Once again, thank you for making Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok as your preferred accommodation choice. We will welcome you too at any of the other three Citadines properties in Bangkok as well viz. Citadines Sukhumvit 8, 11 and 23.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had an excellent stay at this hotel with my friends. Initially i was worried that it would be too crowded for 3 people but when i got there it did not seem to be the case. while 2 person is ideal, a third person still can be squeezed in provided everyone is of average to small size. Other pros and cons are as stated below;

Pros
-Clean rooms
-Bed while a lil hard was comfy with pillow being on the softer side. (perfect for me)
-Well equipped kitchenette ( pots, utensils, boiler, microwave,mini fridge, dishwashing soap)
-Iron and ironing board provided
-Liquid soap in bathroom smelt really good
-Aircond is really powerful
-Cabs directly outside the hotel incase u need any
-Near Asok BTS ( skytrain so its easy to get around the city)
-Near Shopping mall (Terminal 21 is a relatively new mall that has a very interesting concept design based on an airport terminal with each floor representing a diff country. Food court has some pretty good and reasonably priced selection)
-Near 24 Hour Foodland grocery (must try the restaurant inside it called tok la dee, you can even custom order dishes that are not on the menu)
-Close to a number of good massage parlours

Cons
-Water heater does not function well ( the trick to get your water warm is to first select the hottest option and thn when u feel the water getting hot adjust to cooler setting)
-Hotel signboard in pretty small. Taxi missed it when we first arrived. Just need to be on a better lookout towards the top when you first arrive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Beacholic11,

It was a great pleasure having you at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok and thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay experience.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better. Your comments with regards to the water heater was not function well has been looked into by our Engineering Manager. For this we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we now look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Sukhumvit16 Bangkok, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The apart-hotel is located on a quite street in Sukhumvit, Soi 16, near to everything yet not in the middle of hustle bustle.
We stayed for 2 nights at this property and the check in was smooth. The studio room was clean and tidy and had a small living area which could be converted into a mini room with the help of a sliding partition. The room had a small kichenette, all basic utensils for cooking, a minin fridge and a sliding television which could be moved from the living area to the bedroom area. The bathroom was small though. The bed though small was comfortable and we had no problem sleeping.
There is a Foodland supermarket nearby in case one wishes to indulge in cooking. For people who like Indian food, there is a restaurant which serves Indian food of decent quality. A Starbucks is also nearby.
Another advantage is that one of the main BTS stations, BTS Asok is just 7-8 minutes walk away and hence moving around Bangkok is not a problem at all. The Station also has a link to Terminal 21 mall which is a good mall and has all the omni present eateries like KFC etc.
Reaching the hotel from airport was not difficult for us. We had the name of the hotel written in both English and Thai and hired a metered taxi from the airport. The taxi used highway and including the total toll charge and airport surcharge, the fare came to around 500 Bahts which was reasonable considering the distance and considering the fact that there were 3 of us with luggage, otherwise there is an Airport Express but I believe the charges are 150 Baht per person.
There was only one negative and that is we booked a Safari World tour through the hotel and they overcharged us. It is much better to book it through an independent travel agent. We booked the tour only to know later that others booking through travel agents got much better deals.
Bangkok is a nice and vibrant place and you can get along fine with a little bit of English and a lot of smiles.
Overall, I would recommend Citadines to everyone for a decent and hasslefree stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed in this apart-hotel for 3 nights in bangkok and in overall i must say it's a truly enjoyable and comfortable stay.

The hotel room basically has everything you need (comfortable bed, big LCD TV, clean and tidy setup...) and the great plus point is it also well equipped with iron, light cooking equipment and comfortable work desk!

Location is perfect because it's windy surroundings and some way off the busy main road but it's within short distance of walking to the happening places too!

Great thanks to the receptionist who have been really helpful and showing great customer service level that made me felt reluctant to leave!

I will certainly like to stay here again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Holiday in bangkok made you feel everything is great, so no specific advice needed since this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear BC Y,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards especially to the Guest Service team. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Yours sincerely,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok

Address: 38 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#142 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok is situated in Bangkok's bustling Sukhumvit business and commercial district. All 79 apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and living room, WIFI internet access and home entertainment system with cable TV. At Citadines, you will experience friendly staff, chic living space with flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Citadines Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.