We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good property under Citadines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Another good property under Citadines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visited the Tokyo Citadines last year and was impressed by their room layout and thus decide to chose the Bangkok one as well.

Location wise, it is minutes walk from Asoke BTS station or Sukhumvit MRT station. If you taking the BTS to the hotel once you reach look for exit 4 or 6. Exit 4 requires you crossing a traffic junction toward Exchange Tower. I would suggest using Exit 6 which is a bridge link into Exchange Tower, go into Exchange Tower and take the escalator down rather than having to carried heavy luggage down stairs if you use Exit 4. Once down the escalator walk towards the Starbucks and exit the main door, go towards left and turn left on the 1st alley u see, u should be able to see the Citandies logo. There is also a Foodland super market 15m down from the Citandies which is great as it a 24 hour mart so food and water can be purchased there.

Room wise, it is almost identical to the one from Tokyo, a dry kitchen when u enter the room and follow by a small living and movable panel dividing the living room from the bed. It was bigger than the Tokyo one though. Clean and tidy all 4 nights of my stay, small episode of a lizard in the room on one of the night and the showerhead was not able to fixed to a position and kept sliding down and air-conditioner was a bit noisy during the night but bearable, just slight signs of wear and tear but overall still very good

Service was professional through out although perhaps I was expecting a bit more friendliness from the reception that is known for in Bangkok when we arrived initially.

All in all this a fantastic place to stay and very good value for money. The room provide more than the typical hotel room and is good for leisure usage and business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    216
    45
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
33
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the highest rated of the 4 Citadines hotels in Bangkok, though I assume they are all run to a high uniform standard.

Things started off well when they let me check in at 10 am, so I was able to freshen up before tackling this vast city. The room is the same layout I had at the equally impressive Citadines in Tokyo (Shinjuku), with a kitchenette, small studio area, and a double bed set off by a partition. TV has Al Jazeera - yay! - along with 42 other channels.

I did not see any other guests during my 2-night stay, and external noise was minimal. God, I love quiet hotels! Front desk folks were friendly. A pool, gym and laundrette are on the top (8th) floor.

Across the road is a Mailboxes, Etc. store to take care of your postal needs. A minute or so farther down the road is a 24-hour Foodland supermarket catering to expats. You will need to buy soap powder here for the washing machine. The Sukhumvit/Asoke metro is also a stone's throw away.

I wholeheartly recommend this hotel, or any bearing the Citadines mark anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear dgdevil,

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage and the feedback through tripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation especially to the Guest Service staff. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better.

Once again, thank you for making Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok as your preferred accommodation choice. We will welcome you too at any of the other three Citadines properties in Bangkok as well viz. Citadines Sukhumvit 8, 11 and 23.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had an excellent stay at this hotel with my friends. Initially i was worried that it would be too crowded for 3 people but when i got there it did not seem to be the case. while 2 person is ideal, a third person still can be squeezed in provided everyone is of average to small size. Other pros and cons are as stated below;

Pros
-Clean rooms
-Bed while a lil hard was comfy with pillow being on the softer side. (perfect for me)
-Well equipped kitchenette ( pots, utensils, boiler, microwave,mini fridge, dishwashing soap)
-Iron and ironing board provided
-Liquid soap in bathroom smelt really good
-Aircond is really powerful
-Cabs directly outside the hotel incase u need any
-Near Asok BTS ( skytrain so its easy to get around the city)
-Near Shopping mall (Terminal 21 is a relatively new mall that has a very interesting concept design based on an airport terminal with each floor representing a diff country. Food court has some pretty good and reasonably priced selection)
-Near 24 Hour Foodland grocery (must try the restaurant inside it called tok la dee, you can even custom order dishes that are not on the menu)
-Close to a number of good massage parlours

Cons
-Water heater does not function well ( the trick to get your water warm is to first select the hottest option and thn when u feel the water getting hot adjust to cooler setting)
-Hotel signboard in pretty small. Taxi missed it when we first arrived. Just need to be on a better lookout towards the top when you first arrive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Beacholic11,

It was a great pleasure having you at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok and thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay experience.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better. Your comments with regards to the water heater was not function well has been looked into by our Engineering Manager. For this we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we now look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Sukhumvit16 Bangkok, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The apart-hotel is located on a quite street in Sukhumvit, Soi 16, near to everything yet not in the middle of hustle bustle.
We stayed for 2 nights at this property and the check in was smooth. The studio room was clean and tidy and had a small living area which could be converted into a mini room with the help of a sliding partition. The room had a small kichenette, all basic utensils for cooking, a minin fridge and a sliding television which could be moved from the living area to the bedroom area. The bathroom was small though. The bed though small was comfortable and we had no problem sleeping.
There is a Foodland supermarket nearby in case one wishes to indulge in cooking. For people who like Indian food, there is a restaurant which serves Indian food of decent quality. A Starbucks is also nearby.
Another advantage is that one of the main BTS stations, BTS Asok is just 7-8 minutes walk away and hence moving around Bangkok is not a problem at all. The Station also has a link to Terminal 21 mall which is a good mall and has all the omni present eateries like KFC etc.
Reaching the hotel from airport was not difficult for us. We had the name of the hotel written in both English and Thai and hired a metered taxi from the airport. The taxi used highway and including the total toll charge and airport surcharge, the fare came to around 500 Bahts which was reasonable considering the distance and considering the fact that there were 3 of us with luggage, otherwise there is an Airport Express but I believe the charges are 150 Baht per person.
There was only one negative and that is we booked a Safari World tour through the hotel and they overcharged us. It is much better to book it through an independent travel agent. We booked the tour only to know later that others booking through travel agents got much better deals.
Bangkok is a nice and vibrant place and you can get along fine with a little bit of English and a lot of smiles.
Overall, I would recommend Citadines to everyone for a decent and hasslefree stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed in this apart-hotel for 3 nights in bangkok and in overall i must say it's a truly enjoyable and comfortable stay.

The hotel room basically has everything you need (comfortable bed, big LCD TV, clean and tidy setup...) and the great plus point is it also well equipped with iron, light cooking equipment and comfortable work desk!

Location is perfect because it's windy surroundings and some way off the busy main road but it's within short distance of walking to the happening places too!

Great thanks to the receptionist who have been really helpful and showing great customer service level that made me felt reluctant to leave!

I will certainly like to stay here again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Holiday in bangkok made you feel everything is great, so no specific advice needed since this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaiya_k, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear BC Y,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards especially to the Guest Service team. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Yours sincerely,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is less than 5 minutes’ walk to Asok BTS station, which also connects to Terminal 21 (shopping mall) via the bridge link. There is also a Starbucks and 7-Eleven in the office building at the corner of the street turning into Citadines 16. If you need any urgent kids supply, you can get it from Foodland Supermarket which operates 24 hours, just a stone throw away from the hotel. There is also a restaurant at Foodland called Took Lae Dee which means cheap and good in Thai language, serves local and western food (when travelling with kids, sometimes you just need a clean and convenient place to dine in).

One night, when we got back to the hotel at about 8pm, the power supply for the whole building is down, but the hotel was very efficient in damage control. The minute we step into the lobby, the staff offered to transfer us to their other outlets, in their Tuk Tuk. We didn’t take up the offer and power supply came back in about an hour later.

The only drawback for kids is the sharp edge on the drawer, so we just put our luggage on it to cover it.

There are also coins operated washing machines located at the top floor, just remember to bring some laundry detergent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Positives: 1) Spacious, clean, modern, bright rooms with free WiFi. 2) Friendly staff. 3) Quiet (as for Bangkok) neighborhood. 4) BTS station (Asok) at 5 min walking distance. 5) "Foodland" supermarket nearby. 6) CitiBank branch nearby (if it matters to you).
Negatives: 1) It may be not easy to find the Soi 16 Sukhumvit street even if you have been there yet. Remember to have the hotel address written in Thai script always with you. 2) No restaurant. But it is not the big problem in Bangkok. You can eat in the small restaurant in the "Foodland" or from plenty of food stalls in the neighboring streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok

Address: 38 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#142 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok is situated in Bangkok's bustling Sukhumvit business and commercial district. All 79 apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and living room, WIFI internet access and home entertainment system with cable TV. At Citadines, you will experience friendly staff, chic living space with flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Citadines Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.