We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for two of us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saladaeng Colonnade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saladaeng Colonnade to your Saves list
Saladaeng Colonnade
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   21 Soi Saladaeng Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Choice for two of us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Saladaeng Colonnade in June for four nights. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The hotel is tucked not too far down a quiet soi away from the busy street, but not too far to walk to everything you need. Of the 5 hotels we stayed in on this trip we rated it number two. It was very clean and very roomy with very comfy bed. The kitchen facilities although we did not use it much was also very handy. It was also very quiet in our room. We read a lot about the breakfast before going but have to say we were more than happy with it each day. The markets were out in Silom Road along with plenty of eating options. A wander through Lumphini Park which was not far away was lovely too. We were close to the BTS (rail system) - perfectly positioned really. The pool was great too after a long day of walking in the heat. We were very happy with our stay, and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
19
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed in the Two Bedrooms Suite for 4 nights. The rooms were quiet, spacious and decorated somewhat successfully in the "British India" style - and the daily cleaning was very thorough. Both bedrooms come with ensuite bathrooms. However, do note that one bedroom - and its bathroom - is considerably larger than the other. The living/dining area comes with a kitchen, and is ideal for hanging out after a day of touristing. Just a short walk from the Silom Road thoroughfare, the hotel is conveniently located with a 7-Eleven a stone's throw away (for purchasing bottled water and essentials). There is also a supermarket within Silom Complex - an approximate 8-minute stroll away - if you need to stock up on more groceries. The complementary breakfast was nothing to write home about though (I actually ate out every morning). No room service either. Overall, although it is near the hustle (in more ways than one) and bustle of Silom Road, the hotel is certainly not dodgy or seedy. Recommended if you are holidaying with a friend or family members.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Saladaeng Colonnade for 5 days with my husband and two children. We got a 2 bedroom apartment that was equipped with a kitchen, dining room and living area. The rooms were quite big and perfect for the family as we had space to move around and do our own thing without bumping into each other. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We didn't do any cooking in the apartment but the cupboards with stocked with the basic necessities like plates, glasses, utensils, pans, bakeware, and even dishwashing liquid!

The room comes with two choices for a plated breakfast, which they could possibly expand for wider variety, specially for longer staying guests. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is also equipped with a small gym (which we didn't use) and a small lap pool which my children enjoyed using as a break from the heat.

The location is also very good, being a short 10 minute walk from the nearest BTS station. There is also a small local market across the street where one can buy delicious local meals for 40 baht.

The downside to our stay was the smell of lacquer paint emanating from the room next door on the first 2 nights. Apparently, they were painting the room next door. We were out all day so it didn't really bother us except for the evening when we had to air the room for a while because of the accumulated fumes. We complained about it and they offered to move us to another room. But since it was a weekend, there was no renovation work ongoing for the next 2 days so we decided to stay.

All in all, it was a pleasant experience and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the opposite end of the elevator have a better view because it overlooks a nice big old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a great option of for a hotel. The only downside is that you need to get your own food.

The room I stayed in was a one bedroom apartment. Big and specious. Clean and had everything. However the kitchen wasn't equiped very well.

They offer a simple breakfast that gets you going for the day but you probably need somthing more if you aren't happy with cup of tea and a croisant. Internet was also a very poor quality and only giving once access per room.

The location was good. Only a few minutes away from Silom Centre and the Skytrain stop there.

Good value for money and well located as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel i usually stay at was fully booked so i was desperate to find somewhere nice in the same location. I came across the Saladaeng Colonnade via this site and then went direct to their website where they had some nicely priced Summer promotions. I stayed in their one bed apartment and really enjoyed my stay there. The spacious rooms and quietness of the rooms were great and the location is skytrain perfect and less than an hour from the airport by train and the same by road if using the highway express and blessed with not so busy roads. The breakfast is really basic but it's enough to fill you until lunchtime. As someone mentioned they don't provide detergent for the washing machines but one of the staff kindly gave me some detergent. I will definately come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Do improved the quality and the selection of breakfast; everyday it's the same choice of breakfast served in room; either flakes or ham with toast.
Continue to provide detergent in the rooms; I wonder why the hotel stopped this because packets of detergents were provided for those who wish to do their own laundry downstairs.
The Wifi access should not be restricted to only one device. If I have a laptop, and a phone, I can't use the wifi at the same time. Worst still if I'm not staying in the room alone.
This is the Land of Smiles. All staffs especially the guards and the receptionists should learn to smile and greet the customers well. Even the room cleaners smile warmly, better than them!
Water pressure is so slow at the higher floors and the water temperature is rather difficult to adjust; you may need to adjust again and again for the right one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our first visit to the Saladaeng Colonnade and we have been more than satisfied. We normally use the 5 star hotels on the river when we are in Bangkok but decided to try a serviced apartment for a change. The position of the Colonnade is perfect as it is only a five minute walk to both the Sky Train and Underground. Everything is at hand, shops, restaurants, wine bars and anything else you may need.
Our two bedroom apartment on the sixth floor was clean, comfortable and quiet. Slightly faded perhaps but this adds to the atmosphere of the building. The breakfast was quite adequate and served in your apartment at the time of your choice each morning.
I have read in some earlier reviews that the staff are unfriendly. We certainly did not find this to be the case and they were charming, helpful and courteous at all times.
If I had one negative comment to make it would be about the hotel 'limousine' service which is obviously contracted out to a third party. Whilst the two drivers were both polite and helpful the cars they use are old, not very comfortable and in my opinion this service does not reflect positively on the hotel. On our return journey to the airport we were driven into the car park and then escorted to the terminal by the driver.
This would not stop us from visiting Saladaeng Colonnade again however and we hope to do so many more times in the future. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saladaeng Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladaeng Colonnade

Address: 21 Soi Saladaeng Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saladaeng Colonnade 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saladaeng Colonnade offers Bangkok serviced apartments on Saladaeng Road, which is close to Silom Road and Sathorn Road. All rooms boast antique furnishings that blend perfectly with modern amenities, such as private bathroom, flat screen TV, and DVD player. The concierge desk is open 24 hours to entertain queries and welcome arriving guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saladaeng Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladaeng Colonnade Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saladaeng Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.