We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, very good rooms and a very accessible location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Urban House to your Saves list
Urban House
35/13 Soi Yommarat Saladaeng | Road Silom Bangkok, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 609 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent staff, very good rooms and a very accessible location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed every bit of the time we are there. The staff are very welcoming and will treat you like a family. The host is very helpful and will give excellent tips to go around the city. She will help you organize your trip for the day and will always greet you with a warm smile.
The rooms are very spacious and very clean. The place is very accessible to MRT(Silom) and BTS (Saladaeng), just about 5-8 minutes of walk from the main road.
We will definitely stay here again.
Highly recommended when you are in Bangkok

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
50
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Even almost a year after my stay at Urban House, I find myself thinking of this lovely gusthouse and of Kwang, the incredibly polite, amazing and very helpful host.

Every morning Kwang greeted us with a warm smile and asked what our plans for the days were. Then she would start giving us advice on how to get to the place we wanted to visit, how much a fair rate would be ("if they ask for more, just say no", she would say) and she would even write us a note in Thai for the taxi driver. Then she would wish you a good day, not before gently putting her delicate hands on an imaginary bag on her hip reccomanding us to "Please watch for your bag!".

One morning we asked her if she could suggest us a nice restaurant where to have dinner to celebrate my birthday that day. She gave us some options and we enden up having a very pleasant dinner. When we got back that night in our spacious suite, there was a little lovely "happy birthday" note on top of the fridge, which totally moved me. Near the note, a birthday candle. "Why a birthday candle, though?" I thought and then I opened the fridge and...found a lovely mini (and delicious!) chocolate cake ! It was such a gentle, generoud and unexpected gesture that it totally conquered me and crowned a very special birthday in Thailand.

Kwang was not only a wonderful resource (so many indiser tipps!) but really made us feel at home in Bangkok. Urban House is a clean, central and cozy guesthouse that I can reccomend to everyone who appreciate, simplicity and authentic kindness.

I really treasure the memories of my days spent as Kwang´s guest.

Room Tip: The suites are great, comfortable and very spacious. For budget travellers the smaller rooms are a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I was looking through TripAdvisor for lodging accommodation along Silom when I chanced upon information on this gem of a guesthouse.
Making a reservation was smooth with correspondence between the two of us prior to my arrival in Bangkok. However, despite ample information on its location given to me, the cab driver still could not locate it easily. It took a phone call to the guesthouse to ask for specific directions before I arrived at its doorstep.
I was given a warm welcome, with facilities explained fully, such as breakfast time, etc. Immediately I felt this was going to be a trouble-free stay. On opening the door to our room, I was surprised by its cleanliness, which was comparable to that of top hotels.
Having said that, I will not hesitate to return back to Urban House in future nor highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had an great stay at Urban House as it was quiet, well furnished, clean, spacious room & bathroom, very comfortable. I prefer the stay here than sukhumvit because the night market at the main street match our taste very much, especially the noodles soup, chicken rice (both must try) just beside the 7-11 when you reached the main road from hotel. Another reason i prefer here because it was surrounded by residents and offices, make it more quiet at night. Many stalls along the alley during noon time and you will see many white collars travelling around. The owner helped us to order a taxi, give us advises to avoid traffic and we were touched that she actually send us off to our taxi and watch us depart. Just like how my parents and relatives do! Highly recommended.

P/S: Kindly take note that the Phat Pong's night market, clubs and bars not far away were infamous for scamming & blackmail tourists for money when they offer adult shows, especially if they said its located at 2nd floor. Not recommended for family as along the market were selling sex toys etc. Many of my friends had bad experiences there, some passport got stolen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelang Patah, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although Urban House is located 5-10 minutes away from the main street (Silom Road), we found it very convenient as the distance is not too far, while you can find many local food & drinks along the way to the hostel. Easy access to both SIlom MRT & Saladaeng BTS, make our trip very convenient as we do not need to change between MRT / BTS along the way.

The owner is very helpful in advising us the way to our destiny, by providing maps and information. She even helped us to call taxi for our journey back to airport, and inform us on the correct timing to avoid heavy traffic and the expected taxi charges. Just feel happy staying here, with the "welcome-home" feeling, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by the friendly owner upon early checked-in. Her knowledge and recommendation about Bangkok has helped us tremendously.

This guesthouse is tucked away few minutes walk to BTS and MRT station, lots of food and coffee available in this area. If you want to enjoy freshly cooked street food at night, do check it out behind Silom Complex, they have English menu available (mostly patronize by locals).

This place is a perfect comfortable stay away from the hustle and bustle of main street, surrounded by offices and residentials, towards noon time you will see stalls lining up the alleyway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Es un hostal sencillo pero acogedor y bien mantenido. Está bien situado, cerca del sky train y el metro y en una zona con mucha vida de día y de noche. Está limpio y el trato personal y es muy bueno. La dueña es muy amable y atenta y da consejos prácticos de la ciudad, cómo moverse, a dónde ir… En resumen, muy recomendable para una estancia agradable y tranquila en Bangkok y sin duda repetiría.

Simple but cozy hostel in an excellent area of the city, full of life day and night. Very good location within walking distance from the skytrain and the subway. It is very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and attentive. The owner gives practical advice to visit the city, how and where to go, etc…In short, highly recommended for a pleasant and peaceful stay in Bangkok and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: La habitacion tipo suite es muy grande y tiene una pequeña cocina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban House

Address: 35/13 Soi Yommarat Saladaeng | Road Silom Bangkok, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 609 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban House, opened in February 2006, is located on Saladaeng, Silom – the heart of Bangkok’s business, tourist and entertainment district, provides you a cozy and clean accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure travelers. Within walking distance, you may find shopping malls, major attractions, embassies, first class hotels, banks, restaurants, night market (Patpong,) Suanlum night bazzar, and recreation area (Lumpini Park). Since it is close to BTS skytrain station (Saladaeng), underground MRT station (Silom), it is very convenient and easy to access to all parts of the city. Amenities: - Air-conditioning (individually controlled) - Refrigerator - Complimentary drinking water (one bottle per person per day) - Television / Cable TV - Bathroom en suite - Linen / towels - Soap / shampoo - Key card access - Hi-speed internet / telephone/ fax facilities in the lobby - Continental Breakfast (7am – 10 am) - Free coffee (7am - 8pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Urban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban House Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.