We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel situated in shopping area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality to your Saves list
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88/19 Ratchaprarop Rd | Thung Phayathai, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #326 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel situated in shopping area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is my second visit to Citin after 2 years. Condition of the hotel is still good even after two years. Hotel is situated in the heart of the partunam shopping area where Indra squar, evening market, morning market situated. Also walking distance to Fashion Mall, Pantip Plaza, Big C even you can walk to MBK which is about 2 km. Siam Commercial Bank has money exchange counter just near the entrance of the hotel which open till 9pm even on weekends and provide good rates for currency exchange. Do not keep big hopes on hotel complimentary breakfast as it is limited to few veg items.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    360
    145
    42
    33
See reviews for
121
188
43
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2009 and again in July 2012 - service and quality has remained consistently high. It's a relief stepping in to the cool, air-conditioned reception area after trekking across Bangkok all day. The rooms have no view but are cool, clean, comfortable and equipt with complimentary fridge water and also a mini bar (not free). The bathrooms are clean and don't have that smell you at times find around Asia. There are many services nearby - Citin run a complimentary tuktuk service to nearby areas, there are street vendors on the door step, a pharmacy around the corner. I'd really recommend Citin as somewhere to spend your first few nights in Thailand - particularly if you've not been before.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have booked 2 rooms for 2 nights from 19/10/2012 to 21/10/2012 after going thru Citin Pratunam website which looks nice, new and good.

However, upon stepping into the room, we are very disappointed because it was different from what we have seen on the website. Please refer to the below breakdown.

1) The hotel reception counter and the way to the rooms are far from each other, because we stayed in opposite building and this info we could not find on website.

2) The rooms are not the same as shown on the website, furniture and walls looks old and dirty.

3) Morning breakfast provided are not as described (only have breads, plain rice, congee, Indian curry and mixed vegetable). The website show the foods look sumptuous, but it was not.

4) Room service – The staff failed to provide us a new pair of slippers upon request and even took the torn slippers which was thrown in the dust bin and place it back on the floor treating them as new slippers. Towel color like grey colour instead of white. We request for another clean kettle, because the kettle has a layer of oil on the top, we suspect someone may use to cook for instant noodles. The house-keeper did not change for us when they cleaned up our room. The receptionist only said sorry when we complaint all of these, but she was not instruct housekeeper to clean up.

5) Bed sheets upon arrival are dirty and when asking for change, another more dirty bed sheet is provided – as good as taking a used bed sheet from one room to another by recycling.

6) Ants are found crawling on the bed, floor and table! We feel itchy after wake up.

7) WiFi reception is very weak and TV programme cannot see it clear.

8) All your complimentary items could not use, when we request to book body massage, the receptionist did not explain well to us and her tunes seems impolite and her attitude we are not satisfied.

9) We get mislead from Citin Pratunam Hotel website, rooms are not as nice as what your website showed. Location also inconvenient, the road so narrow and most of the time taxi will not go in.

We could not enjoyed and relax our holiday due to all the above problems.

With the above mentioned that we are facing we simply felt cheated!

Room Tip: Please think twice if you want to make a booking to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawit C, General Manager at Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear DisappointedGal,

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Citin Pratunam and for spending of your time to write your feedback following your recent stay with us. Your valuable comment is certainly helping us to improve and achieve in high level of services. We regret to learn that your stay was not an enjoyable one as expected from both services and room quality. In this we have to apology I will seriously look into these areas and fix to ensure it will not happen again to our value guest.

Once again, please accept my sincere apology for all inconvenience caused during staying with us. As a gesture of apology we are pleased to offer you a very special discount to you and colleague for your next visit. Please direct contact to me and I will make a special arrangement. We hope to have chance to welcome you back again and that I will have an opportunity to meet and greet you and colleague in person with warm and Thai hospitality.


Yours sincerely,

Prawit Chokamnuay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I go to bkk almost every month for business and always stay in citin. The room is clean and for that price is really worth it. The room itself Is not so small and have a good shower. Internet is free. Outside hotel is paradise, food is everywhere. Its a really nice place for business trip. Its lil bit difficult to find the hotel because its inside the alley. But as long as u have the address and phone number u will be fine. Free tuk tuk to pratunam area. Overall its good affordable nice hotel

Room Tip: Try to not get breakfast package, i heard it s not really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really nice hotel n area alongwith the caring owner.. A home away from home...i love everything abt the hotel but didnot get the room for extended stay n had to stay at true siam n it was worst hotel of the world

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We (me and my wife) stayed there last year in November only for 3 nights. Our final destination in Thailand was Pattaya, but we had some time for shopping and to see some sights of Bangkok. So we needed a cheap hotel near shopping centers and common to get to the city center.
LOCATION
Advantages. One of the main criteria why we choose this hotel was a convenient transport location. By the map, it’s close to the airport link stop and to the shopping malls. Another advantage of this hotel is closeness to Baiyoke Sky, because no one of locals (as well as taxi drivers) knew where the Citin was even by address, but everyone knew Baiyoke. So, by the help of Baiyoke and locals, it took us about 15minutes to get to the hotel from the airport link stop.
Really, it’s very close to all these malls: it took us about 5 minutes walk to the nearest and about 20 minutes to the Siam Paragon (the best, in my opinion). That’s why it’s really good for shoppers!
It’s also close to metro station and river bus.
Disadvantages. I can mention only one. It’s situated inside small streets near the local market, so the surroundings are dirty and noisy. For us, people who were in Asian country for the first time, it was shocked and scared a little. But these feelings disappeared by the same evening.
ROOM AND SERVICE
Our room was small but really clean. All the necessary staff was there. So, nothing special. About service can’t say a lot. The receptionist was pleasant when we checked in and check out. We didn’t meet a maid, but our room was cleaned every day. In other words, the staff didn’t bother us, so my point is “good”.
TIPS
We didn’t take breakfast, because there are a lot of places where you can eat any kind of dishes, from Thai food to European.
As for me, this hotel really good for solo or a company of friend, but I wouldn’t recommend it for the couple with children.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a hard time finding the hotel upon arriving in Bangkok, it is hidden and in an alley beside Goldplace Plaza. But after familiarizing ourselves with the area, it was no trouble finding the hotel. The hotel is located a few minutes walk to Baiyoke Sky, Pratunam Market & Indra Square and if you do not want to wait for their free tuktuk service, Platinum Mall is just a few mins walk which is just beside Shibuya too!

The nearest BTS however is a little far off. There are many vendors selling streetfood just outside or near the hotel. They sell yummy BBQ and the nicest PadThai i've tasted! They sell Iced Milk Tea, Thai Iced Coffee, Banana Pancake too. Just beside Baiyoke Sky and opposite Indra Square which is a few mins walk only from the hotel, there is a row of massage parlours that's good too!

The rooms were small, as we expected. So expect what you paid for, The downside was that they do not have a bathtub. They provided us with bottled mineral water daily but the other items were accountable. The toilet sometimes is flooded after a shower though.
We booked the room for 3 yet they only provided us with 5 pillows and two handtowels though.

Hotel Staff: They were helpful, whenever they see us carrying a big bag of our shopping loots, they'd always help us out. And one of the nights, my friend got tipsy and fell on the ground, they hurriedly helped us out.

On our last day, we checked out at 11am and the hotel allowed us to leave our bags there as our flight is still at 8pm. We then booked a cab from the hotel which is a lot cheaper rather than getting one ourselves. The cab from the hotel costs us 350baht only!

Room Tip: No tips for a good room but it'll be useful to bring a map of the hotel before arriving as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: 88/19 Ratchaprarop Rd | Thung Phayathai, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city's vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood, Citin Pratunam features 126 studios designed in a modern style. Facilities and services include 24-hour reception and security, WiFi Internet connection, in-room electronic safe, LCD flat screen TV with satellite channels and more. Additional facilities include Citin Cafe which serves vegetarian fusion cuisine, Citin Spa for those tired feet, a sauna and gym. Within walking distance or a short ride by our free tuk-tuk shuttle service are Pratunam Market, Platinum Mall, Pantip Plaza, Central World and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citin Pratunam Bangkok
Hotel Citin Pratunam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.