We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic and delicious meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chote Chitr

Chote Chitr
146 Th Phraeng Phuton | Banglamphu, Bangkok, Thailand
0 2221 4082
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,422 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most authentic and delicious meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed this restaurant. It is deceiving because it doesn't look flash but my goodness the food was terrific. We went a little later about 2pm so noone else was there. We had the banana leaf salad, and eggplant salad, white fish and mango salad.
We found the owner to be very pleasant. She ordered for us in fact.
So, if you are looking for an adventure and some really great food, I would highly recommend taking the trip here.
If you are wanting a western style fine dining experience, don't go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    25
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Trading on past reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've visited this restaurant three times and haven't yet changed my order, banana flower salad and red curried prawns. The food is great, however there is a downside. The owner tends to have a sleeping problem. Everytime I've been there she's been asleep at her desk and she doesn't take too kindly to being woken. Also, there is a dog that has a bladder problem who needs to frequently relieve itself at the doorway to the restaurant. On the wall are a number of recommendations from notable newspapers including a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence. This may have been a good place to eat once, but it's past it's use by date and obviously trading on past reputation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nevergo to his place! Owner beats up employees!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel and we were very keen on having another excellent thai meal. However, we did not even get to try it, as 5 minutes after having set, we could not believe our eyes. The owner of the restaurant was BEATING UP, yes BEATING UP her poor old employee, who was in complete panic.

We demanded to owner to stop with the beating and told her that we would be writting this review on tripadvisor to alert the community.

Therefore, PLEASE DON'T GO TO THIS PLACE AT ALL!!!! I would even suggest Tripadvisor to ban this place for unethical behaviour from its owner. We also reported the situation to our hotel and they will no longer recommend this place to their guests.

Sincerely, hope the poor employee finds another job some where else away from the crazy owner!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great authentic yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food you get is absolutely wonderful, I have never had any better yellow curry! The sweet and sour crispy noodles was appetising (except slightly oily since it is fried) The banana flower salad was similar to other thai salad except that it is slightly more refreshing.
the quality of food was one of the best I had in thailand. I have to compare it to Kaan Banitha and i prefer the food from this place more!
The price is very cheap for such good food.
But the shop is small and shabby. I would not have gone in if not for the many good recommendations from books and online reviews. Thankfully of course, that I have stepped in and tried the food. An old shop with small tables and nothing fantastic looking so don't expect much of an ambience. The old setting does give a nostalgic feel though.
If not for the location of the shop (far away from central bangkok) I would have returned for another meal!
PS the shop owner is not very friendly, but she smiled when we told her the food was good haha, a very stern looking lady.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food, no frills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a bite to eat but were slightly put off by the sleepy service and the scratching dogs sitting under the table. Nevertheless we gave it a go and the food was delicious! Delicious but a bit greasy. It's s tiny restaurant, only 6 tables and there was no atmosphere. It was very difficult to have a conversation due to the locksmith drilling away to fix a lock on the door. Overall the food was great value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chote Chitr also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Chote Chitr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chote Chitr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.