We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, prompt service, delicious seafood...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somboon Seafood Surawong

Somboon Seafood Surawong
169,169/7-12 Surawong Rd, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)
0―2233-3104,0-2234-4499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #596 of 7,183 Restaurants in Bangkok
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent value, prompt service, delicious seafood...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This very large restaurant offers superbly fresh, Chinese style, tasty seafood. The service was excellent, the food was cooked quickly and worth every baht. I will be coming back regularly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    235
    90
    36
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“You have not been to bangkok if you you didnt try Somboon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was the 2nd trip and 4 time dining in the restaurant. Its a medium costs restaurant. a decent meal for 4 costs around 2,000 to 2,500 baht.

Aplace you must prebook and preferably reaching there before 6pm if you want to miss the long waiting and bad traffic jam.

They have 5 branches, but if you stay in sukhumvit area, like myself, then the Branch Surawong ( near to patpong area) is the best choice.

Must try the iconic Curry Crab. Strangely called curry crab but it tasted no spiciness rather sweet and creamy due to coconut content. We ordered prawns, morning glory ( vege) in stir fried, fish and dessert plus coconuts water.

I love the food so much that each trip, i make sure to dine there at least twice.

Service though is bad perhaps they know the food make up for it. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not much from first appearances - a brightly lit canteen style restaurant with plastic tables and crockery. The food was consistently good but it earns its stars for the curried crab - sensational if a little inelegant to eat....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Somboon is overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I think this place is totally overated. Water/tea/ice is charged. I tried their famous curry crab, the sauce is good but the crab is not that fresh. We ordered a pepper crab and they are only available at 800bhat. The meat is slightly better but its still a long way comparing to the Crabs in Singapore (No Sign Board in Gaylang). We also ordered a deep fried groupa with Thai special sauce. My dad noticed theres a large piece of fish meat missing and was covered up with deep fried flour. We try to convince ourselves that maybe its not the full fish so we just let it go. But now I think back, it's so silly that I didn't ask them to explain, this place is no fish & chips! The other dishes are adequate, the taste is good but the ingredients are not fresh enough (i.e. the prawns in Tom Yum Gung) i think a lot of other restuarants may have better quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood place, let down by rude staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is a place to definitely visit if you are in Bangkok. Their seafood is out of this world. Try the Black pepper crab curry!

If they could just fix their staff attitude, they are very rude and pushy, which is strange for Thailand.

If you ignore that, and only go for the food, I would highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somboon Seafood Surawong also viewed

 

Been to Somboon Seafood Surawong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somboon Seafood Surawong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.