We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navalai River Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Navalai River Resort to your Saves list
Navalai River Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Navalai River Resort is a very good hotel in the heart of the action on Phra Athit. It's just a brief walk to Khao San or Soi Rambuttri and the orange and blue flag river boats stop here. There's a lot of good places to eat and drink right on the road. The food is decent in the restaurants and they have a nice pool/bar on the rooftop. We enjoyed the room, it was very clean and well appointed. The only fault we found with this hotel was the extreme hardness of the bed (I like a firm mattress, my wife doesn't); it was kind of like sleeping on a hard floor.

Room Tip: The river view room had a nice balcony to sit on and watch the world float by. Make sure to take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    486
    126
    27
    10
See reviews for
139
508
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was our 4th stay at the Navalai over the past 8 yrs.
We loved it this time as much as before.
It is located right on the Chai Phraya river, just a few blocks from Khao San rd.
The rooftop pool is really nice and now offers poolside service of food and drinks.
The staff is very accommodating in the gentle and lovely thai manner, many have been there for years.
Rooms are really great - the street view rooms offer continual activity to see, the River view rooms offer a different and wonderful view of Bangkok.
We will look forward to our next stay at the Navalai,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a great hotel, the staff are incredible and the rooms are comfortable and clean. I had a room at the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy (what do you expect in a large city) but had no trouble sleeping. The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and for lunch. The hotel is situated right next to a river taxi stop and so is very convenient for travelling around the city. You will quickly learn the meaning of the different colours of flags flown from the taxis as they relate to places they stop and how much they charge. There was some discussion as to whether being at the front of the back of the hotel is best for peace and quiet, for me the front is best as the water taxis run pretty early and late and the guys who direct the boats in to the dock use whistles to communicate. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in total either side of a stay in Koh Chang.
The staff is very friendly, breakfast on the deck overlooking the river is excellant. Pool is brilliant.
Only thing letting it down is patchy Internet.
The location is brilliant, proximity to the old quarter sights, and it is next to a ferry stop. We did have issues wi that but only coz the protests were on.
You are located near enough to Ko San (is that the spelling?) road to get over there and enjoy it if you want - prob a 7 minute stroll, but you are far enough away to avoid it completely if you want and stick to the local night market on weekends and the nearby restaurants etc. it's not cheap, but it's worth it I reckon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We are staying across the river and after a long hot day out decided to eat here before getting the boat taxi t o the hotel. What a good decision! Staff were efficient and friendly, the food was eexcellent,. We sat outside on a beautifully warm evening _ lovely. Try to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a river view room. It has a great view. I would try to get a room on the 4th or 5th floor (better views and not right next to the roof). It is right next to the river stop so it was pretty loud. I would say that was the most annoying for me. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only problem is when you are far away most taxi/tuk tuk drivers don't want to drive you back to Navalai. The river boat is the better transportation option if going farther.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Have stayed at Navalai a few times now, its on the river and has a nice ambience, spacious rooms, good breakfast, but the price keeps going up and there are much better hotels in Bangkok at lower prices. Signs of age are appearing, the upkeep is not as good as it should be. The wi-fi is pathetic, it hardly works. Save yourself the frustation and go to one of the nearby internet cafes.

Room Tip: River-view rooms only have kingsize beds; twins are on the side only (no river view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#140 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#156 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navalai River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.