We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Gold Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Gold Garden to your Saves list
Silver Gold Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541/1 On-nuch Rd, (Huatakhe Market) | Latkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here just for the one night before flying out of Thailand and thought this hotel was great value for money and a good location for the airport - the transfers they arranged for us all arrived on time. This is not a great location for exploring the city so I would only stay here again to be near to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    219
    112
    26
    19
See reviews for
26
116
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked through Agoda for this hotel. This is my 3rd day. I will stay here for 30days! March 1 to 30. This hotel is very near to the airport compared to the other hotels in bangkok.
1. The worst is, this is too far from the city and even from tourist destinations where tourists and expats usually hang out. Very far from khao san road and MKB phaya thai. There are no fastfoods along the areas. Though there are markets that serve only thai food and 7/11 beside of the hotel, but id rather go to the city because I cant take the taste of the delicacies. No bars, fastfood, restaurants near to this hotel. It has a restaurant but almost everything is not available. You have to spend about 620baht just for the fare if you want to go to the city.

2. STAFF are not accommodating! Especially in front office desk. They are avoiding me when I talk to them.. maybe they are afraid because they cant speak english very well. I am having difficulties whenever i need something. They couldnt give an exact answer and i always need to repeat my words.. also, staff seem they are also tourists, they dont know almost everything.

3. Need to enhance the communication skills of the staff. And improve its restaurant.

This hotel has a spacious room as well as clean bathroom. A/c is good. Bed is quite hard. And the tv is okay even it is not a flat screen. Wifi has a charge of 300B.
I would recommend this hotel for only those expats who have a conneting flight or have to stay for overnight or 2 nights in thailand. If you are going to stay here a week or a month like me especially you are alone, so better not to.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Im a well seasoned traveller...everything is acceptable...it's clean really facilities are very good, i lost my breakfast coupon and approached the front desk the new FAT LADY there told me breakfast is not included but i said hey the other lady gave me a coupon last night, and still she insisted i have no breakfast, and i told her ill get my voucher because its written there. After some yelling (she's rude very rude, i know, why? oh god forbid.) and told me she didn't know, that's not an excuse, you have to know it's your job. To all hotel owners and managers, just please dont get someone from the streets, it will ruin your business, it would create a reputation and words would come around.

Room Tip: Find a nicer hotel. i wont comeback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Airport pick up and drop off was good but that was about it. Apparently we got a deep discount by booking through Agoda bit it was worth exactly what we paid for. There is no elevator and I requested a lower floor room. Our room was on the top floor. Fortunately we did not have much luggage. There is no free wifi and do NOT pay for it because it does NOT work. Their routers do NOT work. Even in their so-called computer room, there was internet access. Do NOT pay for the breakfast. It is horrible and 100% of the people who ate while we were trying to eat could not eat more than 10% of it. Packaged, processed crap served with some eggs, white bread, instant coffee, and some raw cabbage. Just walk outside of the hotel and buy coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt at less than $1 total for everything. For one night stay it is acceptable but even for that there are better hotels in BKK area for the same amount of money. Staff was extremely unfriendly. Perhaps our luck.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had an excellent short stay at this hotel. I didn't have a lot of expectations after reading the reviews but it turned out great. Most people choose this hotel because it's close to the airport and not very expensive. The best thing to do when booking is to choose a roundtrip transfer with your room. The free roundtrip transfer from and to the airport will ensure you won't have to worry about explaining the hotel location to a taxi driver. As soon as you land at the airport, call the hotel and inform them of your arrival. They should already have your name on a list and will arrange for your pickup. They will tell you to wait by gate #4 which is known as the meeting point. There you will see many other hotel staff waiting for their guests. Just be patient if it takes you some time to find the hotel staff member.

When you get to the hotel, try to be as polite as possible. I noticed that the receptionist was a little nervous because her English wasn't very good. If you have something to complain about (like I read in some of the reviews here) just explain it in a friendly manner. Remember, she isn't the owner and most likely not responsible for whatever is bothering you. I kept smiling as I tried to explain to her that I'll be checking out the same afternoon and not the next afternoon because she was asking to pay extra for extended stay. It took a couple of minutes but since I was friendly she didn't get nervous or agitated and eventually realized what I was trying to say. The rest of the staff were all very humble and friendly.

Our room was way better than we were expecting. Very clean with everything functioning properly and even a flat screen TV (although hardly any channels had good picture). The room also had a balcony looking out over the night market next to the hotel.

The hotel is in an OK location. There is a 7-eleven and a Tesco Lotus Express just outside the hotel. But not much else to do around. During your stay, if you decide to visit other places by taxi, keep the hotel phone number handy in case the driver has trouble finding the location. Also remember that the hotel is in an area called Lat Krabang. The night market next to the hotel is called Huatakhe Market. This information could be useful for taxi drivers. It certainly helped us.

Room Tip: We were given room 308 which is on the 3rd floor (ground floor is considered 1st floor here). This r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

From the first minute on checking in I knew this was a mistake,the first impressions from the miserable girl on reception!rooms just ok,no internet,was charged 100 baht for wi-fi.no bars or restaurants nearby so you confined to the hotel,that's a waste of time,tried to ripped off with the price of a beer,then they ran out so we had to go to tesco.the restaurant staff was more interested in playing computer games.give this a miss!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very close to the Suvarnabhumi Airport, about 10 minutes' drive. Taxi from the airport to the hotel was around 80B plus 50B surcharge, by meter. The hotel can arrange shuttle charges 150B one way. I totally suggest that you use their shuttle service on your way TO the airport rather than from the airport, as I heard that you might need to wait for a long time. However, we did book their shuttle from the hotel to the airport and it seems the van runs every one hour, which you can check it once you've reach the hotel.It was very convenient because it was hard to get a taxi.
Their room was clean and quite, staff were not bad. There are some convenient store nearby as Tesco Lotus express, 7-11 and mini Big C where you can by some snacks and water. The hotel offered two bottles of water for free, by the way. We booked this hotel as we had a morning flight to catch. It was a good choice if you only stay there for transfer.
However, their beds were a bit small, and shower water was just warm, not hot enough.

Room Tip: They can help you to carry your bags so it's ok if you stay upper stairs. Just remember to tip t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Gold Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gold Garden

Address: 541/1 On-nuch Rd, (Huatakhe Market) | Latkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Gold Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Gold Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Gold Garden Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Gold Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.