We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for those looking for the shuttle service to Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Gold Garden

Save Saved
You added Silver Gold Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Silver Gold Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541/1 On-nuch Rd, (Huatakhe Market) | Latkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ideal for those looking for the shuttle service to Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Suvarnabhumi Airport and for those who are looking for the hotel's free shuttle service to the airport. The hotel is located near a market and provides an interesting experience while you roam around the shops. The room we stayed was clean but the toilet was terrible. It was the smallest and the worst toilet that we have ever seen not just in Thailand but any where else including cheap hotels in India. The staff was moderately helpful but a little more smiling faces would do no harm to the hotel. The food at the restaurant was satisfactory. All in all, if you are looking forward to staying close to the airport then the hotel can be a good option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    214
    107
    25
    17
See reviews for
25
110
80
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an overnight trip following long flights and en route to other areas of Thailand the next day. It would be wrong to say anything too negative about this hotel, as we didn't choose it for the facilities; we wanted somewhere close to the airport and with a shuttle service. The SilverGold Garden has both of these qualities; the transfer was easy and reliable, the rooms were spotlessly clean, and the service was fine.

Our only negative would be that we happened to be unfortunate because there was a fairground and some sort of live music concert on the night that we were there, making it very noisy. Whether this is a permanent fixture or not, I am not sure.

We didn't really explore outside of the hotel, so couldn't comment any further.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

it's a ok and clean room if you need a transfer night before leaving on a plane the next morning. Free shuttle every hour. There is a market right next to the hotel, where you can buy street food. We didn't take the chance before going on a 12 hour flight. However, there is a 7/11 and Tesco right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the free airport shuttle and the tripadvisor reviews since we just needed an overnight stay until our next flight. First, I would like to say that the staff was extremely friendly. I don't want to take away from that. The bad review is because the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. We always do a bed bug check (no bed bugs) when we enter our hotel rooms and found the pillows had 3 long black hairs on them as if the bed linens hadn't been changed. So we pulled back the covers and there were 3 dead mosquitoes in the sheets. We chose to sleep on top of the covers. The negative first impression probably doesn't help with the rest of the review.

We stayed in a first floor room which was dated, musty, and needed to be painted (dirty walls). The bathroom is more of a wet room and just has a shower coming out of the wall (no tub or stall) and did not provide hot water (other reviews say they have hot water so perhaps ours was broken). You can also hear everybody else in the hotel if they are talking in the halls. There is a restaurant on site that serves eggs, ham, bacon, toast, etc. for breakfast. It is nothing special but does the job. There is a small food store just a short walk away (maybe 100 yards) from the hotel if you need anything.

I realize this is a budget airport hotel and that we shouldn't expect a lot, but I would not recommend this hotel based on our experience. There were a lot of other hotels with free shuttle in this price range. I'm sure you can find something better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Thai is not a Holiday Inn or a Hilton but I've reviewed the hotel in consideration to the price paid and the accommodation and service provided (hence the 4 star rating) Think the accommodation is best described as being a transit / short stay type of place for those who are cost conscious or on a budget (in terms of value for money the place is incredible and ticked all my boxes) A ten to fifteen minutes transfer from the airport "but that's dependent on the time of day and the fortitude of the driver" clean and secure accommodation with good air conditioning and a fridge and mini bar (the Internet comes extra but only costs 100 TBT for 15 hours) The hotel boasts a small bar come restaurant and breakfast while being very basis was good enough!

The only negative to report was noise emanating from a local bar (karaoke type stuff and I honestly thing the lady singing was in pain and should seek medical attention) in fairness this stopped on or about midnight.

The staff were reasonable helpful and check in / check out was painless so many thanks from me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arrived at Bangkok airport, found our transport.which wasn't difficult. The hotel is basic, clean and as expected. Changed rooms because the bathroom smelt musty and damp. The bathrooms a wet room but the loo doesn't get wet, there's an electric shower so hot waters no problem. 2 free bottles of water per day, fridge in room with cans if you want them but you have to pay. It's clean, towels are spotless and aircon. There was also a market daily outside the hotel from 4 pm daily till about 9pm. Food and hardware and the other usual stuff. We used it as a base for exploring Bangkok (easy to get to city centre with cheap trains, (20-30 mins)etc, and the locality is interesting with canals and other markets should you want to explore the local markets and shops and cafes/ restaurants. Good supermarkets in walking distance including Tesco's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here during the last week of January 2012 and will stay again if we have early flight from Suvarnabhumi airport. It is perfect for first/last night in and out of Bangkok Airport. Room was nice and clean but the bathroom is small and very basic. Nice hotel cafe and outside there is a local night market and 2 x 24 hour shops. The transfer is free, and covers both ways. We had early flight, so they gave our breakfast in our room at 4:40 am. Though the breakfast was too basic, only coffee, juice and bread and butter, I like this hotel as it is only 15 minutes car drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Hotel has no lift, so choose ground floor rooms if you have problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Gold Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gold Garden

Address: 541/1 On-nuch Rd, (Huatakhe Market) | Latkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Gold Garden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Silver Gold Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Gold Garden Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Gold Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.