We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same experience as other reviews suggest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Gold Garden

Save Saved
You added Silver Gold Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Silver Gold Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541/1 On-nuch Rd, (Huatakhe Market) | Latkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Stanwood, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not the same experience as other reviews suggest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the free airport shuttle and the tripadvisor reviews since we just needed an overnight stay until our next flight. First, I would like to say that the staff was extremely friendly. I don't want to take away from that. The bad review is because the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. We always do a bed bug check (no bed bugs) when we enter our hotel rooms and found the pillows had 3 long black hairs on them as if the bed linens hadn't been changed. So we pulled back the covers and there were 3 dead mosquitoes in the sheets. We chose to sleep on top of the covers. The negative first impression probably doesn't help with the rest of the review.

We stayed in a first floor room which was dated, musty, and needed to be painted (dirty walls). The bathroom is more of a wet room and just has a shower coming out of the wall (no tub or stall) and did not provide hot water (other reviews say they have hot water so perhaps ours was broken). You can also hear everybody else in the hotel if they are talking in the halls. There is a restaurant on site that serves eggs, ham, bacon, toast, etc. for breakfast. It is nothing special but does the job. There is a small food store just a short walk away (maybe 100 yards) from the hotel if you need anything.

I realize this is a budget airport hotel and that we shouldn't expect a lot, but I would not recommend this hotel based on our experience. There were a lot of other hotels with free shuttle in this price range. I'm sure you can find something better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    220
    104
    25
    17
See reviews for
25
107
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Thai is not a Holiday Inn or a Hilton but I've reviewed the hotel in consideration to the price paid and the accommodation and service provided (hence the 4 star rating) Think the accommodation is best described as being a transit / short stay type of place for those who are cost conscious or on a budget (in terms of value for money the place is incredible and ticked all my boxes) A ten to fifteen minutes transfer from the airport "but that's dependent on the time of day and the fortitude of the driver" clean and secure accommodation with good air conditioning and a fridge and mini bar (the Internet comes extra but only costs 100 TBT for 15 hours) The hotel boasts a small bar come restaurant and breakfast while being very basis was good enough!

The only negative to report was noise emanating from a local bar (karaoke type stuff and I honestly thing the lady singing was in pain and should seek medical attention) in fairness this stopped on or about midnight.

The staff were reasonable helpful and check in / check out was painless so many thanks from me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arrived at Bangkok airport, found our transport.which wasn't difficult. The hotel is basic, clean and as expected. Changed rooms because the bathroom smelt musty and damp. The bathrooms a wet room but the loo doesn't get wet, there's an electric shower so hot waters no problem. 2 free bottles of water per day, fridge in room with cans if you want them but you have to pay. It's clean, towels are spotless and aircon. There was also a market daily outside the hotel from 4 pm daily till about 9pm. Food and hardware and the other usual stuff. We used it as a base for exploring Bangkok (easy to get to city centre with cheap trains, (20-30 mins)etc, and the locality is interesting with canals and other markets should you want to explore the local markets and shops and cafes/ restaurants. Good supermarkets in walking distance including Tesco's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here during the last week of January 2012 and will stay again if we have early flight from Suvarnabhumi airport. It is perfect for first/last night in and out of Bangkok Airport. Room was nice and clean but the bathroom is small and very basic. Nice hotel cafe and outside there is a local night market and 2 x 24 hour shops. The transfer is free, and covers both ways. We had early flight, so they gave our breakfast in our room at 4:40 am. Though the breakfast was too basic, only coffee, juice and bread and butter, I like this hotel as it is only 15 minutes car drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Hotel has no lift, so choose ground floor rooms if you have problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night before my flight home from Suvarnabhumi.
I was impressed by the room an the appearance of the rest of hotel.I paid about £14 for a double room with TV and fridge and a return transfer was included.
Ate breakfast in morning ,but only had scrambled eggs and toast and coffee.Which was as good as the rest that I have had through out Thailand
There is not much in th surrounding area ,except quite a big local market which sells food very cheaply .and also Tesco ,and 7-11.shops.
The transfer time was under 10 mins,so for the price it is a very good choice compared to other Airport Hotels..
I paid 100 baht to have 15 hours of Wifi in the room ,but there is a free internet cafe that can be used.
IT looked like this hotel had had a refurb.and was spotlessly clean.I will use again.

Room Tip: I had a groundfloor room and heard no noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Silver Gold Garden on transit flights through Suvarnabhumi airport. This is a good transfer hotel being only 10 minutes away from the airport and only 20 USD per night. This is not a hotel to stay at if your plans are to visit Bangkok, stay in the city as its a 30-40 minute drive into Bangkok. The hotel offers free round trip transportation to and from the airport. The hotel is very basic, offers a large bed, a/c, frig, tv, and Thai style shower. I could not expect more for 20USD. The thing I like about the hotel is that there is a night market, I believe only on weekends in the parking lot next door. Lots of good and cheap local Thai street food. There are also two convenience stores next door and a restaurant. The hotel has two computers for guest to use in a computer room.

Next time I am on a short transit through Suvarnabhumi airport I will stay at Silver Gold Garden. If I have a bit longer transit time and I want a hotel with a pool I'll stay at Paragon Inn for 40 USD. Paragon Inn rooms and hotel grounds are nicer than Silver Gold Garden but only offers one way free transportation. There are no convenience stores or restaurants nearby Paragon Inn. They do however have food, beverages and beer on site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here in Dec 12 for one night before flying out of Bangkok and was impressed. It's close to the airport (not too close that you hear the planes) and a free shuttle is provided. The rooms are basic but clean - perfect for the price we paid. It's not 5* luxury but has everything you need for a cheap stop over. Would recommend and would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Gold Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gold Garden

Address: 541/1 On-nuch Rd, (Huatakhe Market) | Latkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Gold Garden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Silver Gold Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Gold Garden Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Gold Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.