We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in good location, but a bit overvalued” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn Saladaeng

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn Saladaeng to your Saves list
The Inn Saladaeng
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5/12 Saladaeng Rd. | Silom, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in good location, but a bit overvalued”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is located about 200 meters from Saladaeng Sky Train station (which is very important to get around Bangkok and avoid the traffic jam) and in a small road. The Taxi driver we took from the airport took almost 30 minutes to find the place, which is a bit annoying and waste of time.

There were several warning signs of bag snatches in the neighborhood (first time seeing this in Bangkok), but throughout our stay there were no visible incidents. Please note that this is just on the other side of the street where the night life area of Pat Pong is located and you could see several agents offering deals on strip dance when you walked on along that road at night.

The hotel is small so does the room, which is a bit disappointing given what we've paid for. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable (comparable to bigger 4-5 star hotels). The aircon is placing directly in front of the bed so it's bit disturbing to have it blow to your face and body the whole night. The bathroom is also small and there is little room in the shower area. We paid the room with breakfast, but the breakfast they're offering is quite basic, only a few bread and bakery with some drinks, which my wife didn't like so we went out for a noodle bowl breakfast.

The staff was friendly and helpful and we kept our luggage for the day after checked out for free.

I will only come back to this hotel again if there is a better deal. Otherwise, I'll just pay a bit more for a 4-5 star hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    74
    32
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
48
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Yes, this hotel is located in the heart of the busy Silom area within an easy walk to Lumpini Park. The bed is comfortable and the view from the room is great across the Silom district of Bangkok, with all its greenery.
However, the hotel does lie about having movie channels on the Satellite TV. Despite their advert saying they have movie channels, there are in fact no movies. There is a small selection of Thai TV channels and the Australian Network channel and one Korean channel and that's about it! The rooms are VERY small - the deluxe room is not equivalent to a deluxe room anywhere else. The breakfast is limited - toast and a banana (that's all). Also, the shower leaks to the extent that the whole bathroom is flooded when taking a shower. Overall, a clean establishment but very poor amenities.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, then select a room on a high floor because the view is good, if you can squee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Inn Saladaeng is a good choice for singles and couples looking for a budget accommodation in the Silom/Saladaeng area of Bangkok. The hotel is a short walk away from the BTS Saladaeng station and the subway entrance in Silom. The rooms are very tiny, with just enough space to move around your bed; yet the bed is spacious and comfortable and the room is extremely clean with a wooden floor. The surrounding area feels quite cozy given the tumultuous street life just a few minutes away. You are provided with two bottles of water (for a one person room), an air-conditioned room, a safe deposit box, television, a few amenities, and daily change of bedsheets and towels if desired.

There is a very good coffee machine dispensing coffees, cappuccinos, and lattes all day long. A spartan breakfast is served in the morning with drinks, some sweets, toasts, and tea/coffee, which was more than enough for me. The staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and very willing to assist you with any questions.

All in all, a very good budget choice. I don't recommend the hotel for families; a bigger room/hotel would be a better choice. The hotel is quite safe and and the staff is firmly committed to prevent anybody from using this facility as a "love motel."

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was an OK hotel. The location is the main reason we chose this hotel beside the price. We agreed that almost all of positive reviews about this hotel were true. Off course, there were some minor glitches, but probably those were just our personal experience/preference.

Positives:
• Location is excellent. It’s on the Saladaeng Road and within a walking distance to BTS Saladaeng and MRT Silom. It is also close to entertainment area like Patpong night market and Suan Lum Night Bazaar. Around the hotel there were many local resto/cafes and convenience store. The area is quiet eventhough it is close to the main road of Silom.

• Room was very clean, a bit cramped with rather low ceiling, but still OK for us Asian guys. The bed was queen-sized, comfortable, the sheet was clean. It has small TV on the desk, cupboard, small fridge, and safe deposit box.

• Bathroom was very clean, with hot/cold shower and sink. The hotel provided soap and shampoo.

• It has laundry services and it was cheap!

• Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Negatives:
• Breakfast was very limited, although it was expected. But don’t worry, there are indeed a lot of eateries outside.

• In the morning before we checked out, one of the lady staff really annoyed us by keep mentioning that we must check out before 1PM. We understood that the hotel were busy, but we are adults and and not need to be told several times for thing that we were really aware of.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having stayed here in December 2009, I decided to stay at this hotel once again for my two night stopover in Bangkok.

In addition to the A+ location (within 3-5 minutes of Si Lom MRT and Sala Daeng BTS), the hotel has maintained its cleanliness and tidiness. I was in a room on the third floor this time (away from Sol Saladaeng). This room was a lot quieter as I didn't hear any horns from passing traffic. The clean standard for the hotel has been maintained.

The service was also excellent. On the first day, the lift door suddenly closed and hit my hand, causing me to drop my room key, which fell down the gap in the lift and into the eternal darkness. There was no issue with this. The housekeeper let me into my room and a replacement power card (to power the lights/air con) was immediately arranged. The lift technician also came the next day to retrieve the key.

A self serve light breakfast of bread (and toaster), bananas, tea/coffee and some pre made sandwiches remains available.

About 350 THB to and from airport (including 70 THB for tolls and airport fees).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Just checked out from Inn Saladaeng and wanted to share my experiences of this hotel.  I chose the hotel for three main reasons being price, location and the mention of free wifi.  For the price the hotel, in my opinion, was fair value for money at just under £100 for three nights in a deluxe room.  

The room whilst clean and comfortable to some extent would not resemble deluxe under any ones interpretation of the word, whilst most amenities were available there was not a deluxe feel to the decor, furnishings etc

Other reviews have mentioned that the staff were not pleasant - personally I did not find them unpleasant at all - they just weren't overly pleasant.  Essentially if you said hello to them and asked a question you got a response.

Free breakfasts advertised but having researched trip advisor my hopes on this score were not high and I had already planned that breakfast would be taken elsewhere - looking at the breakfast offering I would go elsewhere.

The wifi is free but either has a maximum number of users or poor strength at certain times as on occasion the connection was either not possible or incredibly slow.

Location is fine with shops, bars etc within easy walk and a sky train stop at the end of the road - the air conditioned, immaculate and frequent trains on the sky train network made this a good choice for commuting about Bangkok although it's worth noting that many attractions etc are not near sky train stops.

Would I return to Inn Saladaeng?  If the price was right I may but my first attempt would be to get the right price at a hotel with on site bar, restaurant and pool first...

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I really can't believe the last 3 reviewers stayed at the same hotel... I travel in Asia 3 times a year and usually stay with Marriott as I am a gold card holder so get lots of free benefits, however I booked a last minute stay here a few years ago and now wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bangkok! It's not a five star chain and the reasonable price reflect that but it is always immaculately clean and the staff are always friendly. Location is also perfect minutes walk to Silom and Saladaeng BTS which is 2 stops to Siam Square. I for one would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn Saladaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Saladaeng

Address: 5/12 Saladaeng Rd. | Silom, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Saladaeng 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently opened hotel on a quiet tree-lined street, yet in the heart of Bangkok; just a minute from skytrain (BTS) or subway (MRT). Saladaeng is a small street running between Silom and Sathon areas, the center for shopping and night life of Bangkok. All bedrooms and suites are modern and stylish with a relaxed and contemporary environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Inn Saladaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok
Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn Saladaeng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.