We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best rooms are worth the extra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Orchid Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Orchid Villa
Save
You added Wild Orchid Villa to your Saves list
55 Langsuan Road Lumpini, Bangkok, 10330 | Banglamphu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“The best rooms are worth the extra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We choose the very best, top floor rooms and they are large, have fridge, internet etc. Being high up there is not much noise. It does get tiresome walking up all the stairs, especially with bags. The reception needs looking at with the 1 staff member usually swamped( maybe why the day time person is not that happy!) , this place is busy so I think they can afford the wages of another receptionists.

Room Tip: Choose one of the more expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    82
    97
    42
    24
See reviews for
9
126
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had reserved a room online, with a toilet and shower. When we arrived, we were shown a tiny room, barely big enough for the bed, with no toilet and no shower. When we questioned it, we were told the other room wasn't available until the next night and shown the communal toilet/shower down the hall. There was also a hole in the wall of our room to the outside hallway.

We refused the room and the staff just stared at us. We decided to go across the street to Erawan House, which was great. However, Wild Orchid still charged us for the room. The woman at the desk was rude and unrepentant about now providing the promised room. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel and took nearly an hour to check in, the staff and other guests did not understand the concept of queuing at all.
The rooms are ok the beds are comfy. We upgraded to the 950 Bhat room because the other one wasn't ready and we needed to sleep but our friends had the 800 one and it was fine.
The place has air con which is good. The wifi broke when we were there and they were grumpy about issuing new codes despite us paying for all our accomodation. There's no lift but you can ask a wee man to lift the bags up for you and he was happy enough so I gave him 20 Bhat tip.
Near to khao San road and there's no noise issue here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The good: the place could not be more central. Couple of minutes to Khao San road (shopping till 7 then party till 7) the rooms are alright, they're a bit small though but we had our own bathroom which was clean and has everything you need.

The bad: the woman at the counter is terrible. She is rude, never helpful and always shoots dirty looks around at all the backpackers (this is a backpackers place so it doesn't really work) The room was not very clean, had a bit of a smell to it and there were electrical cables hanging off the walls.

Its pretty good for backpacking, its cheap and comfortable enough if you have your own bathroom. Wouldn't recommend for families or older people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Location is good, near khao san road. I couldn't sleep because of the noise from the lobby, normally noise doesn't bother me. The noise did not stop till 5 AM.
The rooms were clean but small. It was too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our first backpacking trip and our first stop in Thailand. The girl at the reception had a sour look every time we walked through, but the rest of the staff were always smiling! You get what you pay for here. The TV, air con, shower etc worked alright and the balcony was a nice touch. The nights were quiet, even though the roads downstairs were busy with stalls, parties and scooters, so a perfect location and only a few minutes from Khao San road!

The room was nice and simple for a backpacking trip or if you're just passing through for a day or two. The restaurant downstairs had a nice chill vibe and the food was very nice and well priced. The waiting staff were always keen to help and serve us and the food always came so quickly! I would definitely recommend for other backpackers!

Room Tip: The massaman curry is lush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour so it was included in the price. Had a twin room with private bathroom, air-con, window, television and safe. Room was the first room off the stairs so got a bit noisy with people coming and going but not too bad. view from window was a wall so nothing special.
Downstairs area was nice, music on, comfy chairs, nice food, good atmosphere in general.
Set back from Khao San Road which is good for the quietness but still in a nice area with market stalls, shops and places to eat nearby. Short walk to the waterfront, overall good location.
Free wifi which you have to get anew username and password for each day, they have computers downstairs but you have to pay to use them.
Service a bit slow when ordering food/drinks but that's typical Thailand for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Orchid Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Villa

Address: 55 Langsuan Road Lumpini, Bangkok, 10330 | Banglamphu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Villa Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Orchid Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.