We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aubergine Restaurant

Aubergine Restaurant
71/1 Sala Daeng Soi 1/1 | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok, Thailand
02 234 2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,306 of 7,182 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Excellent French Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

A professional, friendly and attentive staff provide an excellent service

The Chef/Owner cooks wonderful traditional French cuisine in a Thai house hidden away from the madness of Bangkok. The food is declicious, the duck confit is superb, we have returned many times to experience this superb uncomplicated cooking! the desserts are wonderful too!

There is a large wine list with affordable wines

Long may it last....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic French Restaurant, an Oasis with beautiful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is without a doubt my favourite restaurant in Bangkok and a must visit on every trip to Thailand. The food is to die for (the frog legs and escargot are both highly recommended entrees) and the main courses are beautifully presented, very authentic and delicious! Have been here at least 3 times in the past year. On the most recent visit the staff were a bit rude and arrogant, they bought out 5 entrees even though one person had stipulated they wanted the 2nd entree as a main meal and it took 3 waiters to come to our table before they understood and apologized. They also serviced my mother a cup of coffee with her dessert that was literally only 1/3 full, when we explained the problem to the maitre de, it was immediately corrected with profuse apologies.

Still giving it a 5 star rating because the food is so consistently excellent but hopefully the staff show are a bit more polite next time!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
“Very Nice French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Had a lovely Christmas dinner here. I ordered the set menu, husband ordered a la carte. My only gripe was with the sparkling wine that came with the set menu....it was flat. Other than that the carpaccio, the soups, the foie gras, my steak, the duck confit, the sorbet, and the chocolate fondue were all fantastic. House wine was very fitting. Beautiful building, excellent service. Kind of expensive, but for a special occasion, worth it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deceiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This restaurant has a pleasant ambiance and nice decoration. The tables are reasonably distant from one another and disposed in such a way as to allow privacy. Service is well geared although some diners might find it a bit slow. We were there on Christmas Eve. There was a set menu on offer as well as the regular a la carte menu which comprise a combination of Italian and French cuisine. The wine list has several options from French, Italian, as well as new world wines. An amuse-gueule of liver pate on bread was served before our starters arrived. Escargots de Bourgogne was up to expectations. Then our waiter brought a refreshing green sherbet (the flavor of which we could not identify, but was definitely sweet). Our main course, confit de canard (duck leg confit) was presented in a pile-like fashion consisting of spinach with garlic, above which there was some roasted potatoes, above which sat the said duck leg. These ingredients were surrounded by a fruity gravy-like sauce with mushrooms. Taken one by one, each item composing this course was well executed and tasted good, but the problem was that they did not belong together, so the whole thing felt rather like a mismatch of miscellaneous. In addition, the duck leg was not ‘confit’ but roasted duck which is not the same at all. The bread we were served was excellent, which is a rarity in Bangkok. For desert we had a cheese plate and profiterolles. The cheese plate came as three pieces (blue cheese, brie, camembert) of the type you can buy in any supermarket and which taste not other than bland, it was oddly served with carrots and celery sticks (not fresh). The profiterolles were made of puff pastry which was not exactly freshly made and there was far too little of the chocolate sauce to top it off. To close the meal, we were offered a glass of lemon Italian liqueur. Overall, we liked the upscale setting and service but we found the cuisine generally out of tune.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a brilliant meal at Aubergine last night. Great food, great ambience and really close to our hotel. Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aubergine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubergine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.