We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, fair rooms, unbeatable location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darjelling Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Darjelling Boutique to your Saves list
Darjelling Boutique
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Sukhumvit 18 Bangkok 390/35-36 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small hotel, fair rooms, unbeatable location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel in total for 3 nights. It's a small hotel with only 5 floors, hidden in a soi off the main road, at minutes from the BTS Asoke. Walk to the other side and find Emporium. The thing about this hotel is: it's good value especially because of the location. Asok is at a crossroad of the BTS and the MRT so wherever you want to go, it's very convenient and you don't need to get stuck in Bangkok traffic with taxi's and all that. Asok itself is a great area because there are so many restaurants, shops and entertainment venues at walking distance.
The rooms are well-designed during a renovation some time ago but the teeth of time have eaten at them, so the floors may be cracked and there may be all kinds of minor defects. I had: a water heater that didn't work (but was repaired by the staff), some smell on the 5/F (all over the 5/F), some disturbance with aircon, and some noise on the roof due to a central motor or so.
So it's probably better to avoid the 5/F.
If you can accept some possible minor defects and are not too picky about a perfect finishing (that has worn off), it's good value especially when the price drops below 1000 baht, considering the fantastic location.
Most hotels in this area charge 1,500 up so I would still stay here for the reason that the rooms are reasonable and the location is simply fantastic.
Unfortunately, in all rooms you can smoke, so sometimes you have to put on the aircon for a while to get rid of old smoke.
The hotel is small so expect less formality than in a big hotel. The staff is also less well trained, but you can go to their kitchen and heat up a lunch in the microwave or so.
It seems cheaper to book through an intermediary rather than to go through Darjelling's own site.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5/F because there may be some smell or noise from the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    74
    33
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
47
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly. Location of the hotel was close to the nightlife, shopping mall and rail stations. For the price the room was very nice and very much worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My partner and I are staying here for one night and i wish we could stay longer. The hotel is so convenient just minute from the rail station and shopping mall and the famous soi cowboy which we are visiting tonight thanks to the knowledge of the lovely gentleman that dealt with us. I was so surprised by the condition of the room for the price that we paid was very good value for money. Very modern and stylish and loved the glass window into the bathroom that has a bath. The room was very clean and had a ready stocked fridge of refreshments which I thought was really nice. Even the little smoking area outside was lovely with comfy seats and a Fan. Very quiet location. I would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

A nice place if you do not expect to much.stay was pleasant. The rooms are well maintained. The staff is friendly, but it is true that are not to many. Near the hotel there are two large shopping centers; Terminal 21 and the Emprium. It is also close to the station Sky Train and Soi Cowboy. The price is very reasonable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very good, clean hotel at a nice location. I stayed here for a couple nights while trying to get my visa for Myanmar. It's just a 3 min walk to the BTS Asok sky train. Fairly central part of town if that's what you're looking for. The hotel rooms are decently sized and very clean and comfortable...and the air conditioning works great (very important in Bangkok). I didn't interact with the staff too much but they seemed alright. For the price point you're paying, it'll be difficult to find a better value in this part of town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good location (a couple of mins from BTS and underground, although not very obvious if you don't know where you're going - take a map) just off sukhumvit. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby (some seedier than others, but definitely some good ones).

The hotel was surprisingly modern, large flat screen tv, big comfy bed, strange window into bathroom. We had the room without windows and it was great, no noise, no bugs, no heat.

Only stayed for one night but would stay again if I'm in Bangkok again. Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMERICAN IN BUENOS AIRES
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed in Bangkok for a few days and found this hotel and booked it due to all the great reviews. Darjelling Boutique Hotel is small and a little hard to find, but worth the effort. The location in phenomenal, staff are very friendly and helpful with anything and everything. The rooms are clean, modern and have everything you need. It is a calm escape from the madness beyond. Also, down the small street nearby are great massage options and a few great restaurants. Only disappointment was not having the pool available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.8 mi away
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#222 of 778 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
0.5 mi away
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#409 of 778 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Unico Premier MetroLink
Unico Premier MetroLink
#241 of 778 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tai-Pan Hotel
Tai-Pan Hotel
#288 of 778 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#210 of 778 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darjelling Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darjelling Boutique

Address: Sukhumvit 18 Bangkok 390/35-36 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darjelling Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently opened gem of a small boutique style hotel is the first of its kind in Bangkok. Attention to detail and style ensure that this property stands out from the crowd. There are only 20 rooms, 5 on each floor, which are all furnished in the most exquisite style. The hotel is only 200 yards from the Sky Train station at Asoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Darjelling Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darjelling Boutique Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darjelling Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.