We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but better values can be found!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rikka Inn

Save Saved
You added Rikka Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rikka Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   259 Khaosan Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice, but better values can be found!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel to SE Asia quite often, but always use Bangkok as my starting point, and always head straight for the Khao San area. I had stayed at the Rikka before, but remember my room being better. It was very basic(looked nothing like the room in the photo), and room-wise there are better values to be found in the Khao San area. The location is great, and although I didn't get a chance to enjoy it this time, the Rikka does have a nice pool area. I was also impressed that the manager takes the time to reply to each review, I think that shows that he does care about improving service and quality at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. , especially from an experienced traveler from your.
We strive to provide the attention to service that you spoke about,
and would like to apologize for any inconveniences occurred during your stay.
We always care about improving service and quality at the hotel,
appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    254
    168
    46
    40
See reviews for
33
256
62
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

RIkka Inn was the perfect place to stay! If you are interested in being near all the action of Khao San Road- this is it! However, this place was surprisingly very quiet- The hotel was right in the middle of Khao San Road but kind of set back in a way and it seemed as though most rooms were away from the street noises. I stayed there 2 nights at the beginning of my trip and one night at the very end of the trip and was glad i did.
Great reception- we were to arrive at 11pm but didnt arrive till 4am due to flight delay- this wasn't a problem- our room was basic, but extremely clean and had a unique feeling (interesting decor)- comfortable beds- Most showers in Thailand were like the ones at Rikka Inn- a shower that is in the bathroom directly over the toilet- so you pretty much get the entire bathroom wet -dont forget to remove the toilet paper! Kind of annoying but we found this standard unless you are at a fancy hotel/resort where there are more western style showers- But good water pressure/hot water-
excellent rooftop pool/showers/bathroom- We used on our last day and they held our bags for us for the day (20 baht/day) since we had a late departure out of Bangkok-
Just outside of reception is a adorable coffee shop- some of the best i had in Bangkok- and delicious breakfast sandwiches/fruit- 7-11 also right there for any other needs as well-
If you are looking to stay on Khao San Road this is absolutely the place!!! 100% recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

The Rikka Inn would like to thank you very much for your generous feedback on TripAdvisor website regarding your recent stayed in our hotel.

We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found that our in-room amenities are useful, the location is good, and the staff are friendly.


Should you visit Bangkok in the future, please do not hesitate to return stay at Rikka Inn.

Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Roof top pool and views from a centrally located Hotel. I paid 1100ThB through Agoda and was very happy. The room was fair sized, clean and convenient to the sights I wanted to see. The girls at the front desk were a little distant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

The Rikka Inn, Bangkok, is pleased to learn your recent stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We hope to see you again soon.

And we will do our best to keep our reputation.


Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, everything u need is close by and the pool on the top of the building is just great. The street is quite loud at night, but surprisingly I slept really well! Definitely worth checking out, nice and helpful staff as well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

The Rikka Inn, Bangkok, is pleased to learn your recent stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We hope to see you again soon.


And we will do our best to keep our reputation.


Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on our first trip to Bangkok. Although it is located on KoahSan Road we had no problem with noise and got to sleep well each night.

It's a bit pricey for what you get but all hotels along this road are. Air con worked fine and the bathroom was clean .

We didn't use the pool but the roof top was a good place to chill from the craziness downstairs.

They have a tour desk in the lobby and the man who works here was extremely kind and helpful in booking our onward trips and even have us basic tips for surviving Bangkok !

Wifi was vey fast in the room.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences occurred during your stay.
We appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve our service.

And we will do our best to keep our reputation.


Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Situated on Khaosan Road, this hotel is perfect for backpackers or holiday makers looking for a lively scene in Bangkok, rooms aren't exactly luxurious but when I stayed I spent such a small amount of time in them that suited me just fine :-) 
Good prices and reliable staff, you leave your key with reception when you leave and head out. 
Perfect breakfast stop just outside of the hotel too for the hangover 

Overall, happy with the hotel but this all depends what you are looking for on your visit to Bangkok

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible to get away from the noise down below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and even found our services improving in subsequent visits.
We will share your comments regarding to our team for further encouragement.

We hope to have to pleasure to welcome you back again as a guest, in the near future.

Kindly regards,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I booked this hotel at last minute after a recommendation from some fellow travellers... It was the first hotel I stayed in in Thailand that cost more than £6 but i decided to have a treat because I'd be meeting my best friend for the last leg of my 2 months in Asia... I think we paid about £20 per night and although more expensive than other places I stayed, I thought it was worth it!! Completely central location, air-con, private bathroom, comfortable beds, clean sheets, clean surroundings, nice reception staff and a pool on the roof! Great :) I got more than I expected, to be honest. After a long hard trip, it was worth the extra. There was a reasonable check out time and we had no problems with anything... It was even quiet in our room, which was one of our concerns with the busy street outside.

If i had to criticise something it would be that we couldn't use the luggage room because it was full and we only had small backpacks... shame! Also, the tuk tuk drivers bothered us every time we walked out of the front door... but, we were in Thailand after all!! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and even found our services improving in subsequent visits.
We will share your comments regarding to our team for further encouragement.

We hope to have to pleasure to welcome you back again as a guest, in the near future.

Kindly regards,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rikka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikka Inn

Address: 259 Khaosan Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rikka Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rikka Inn : New Budget Hotel with a Touch of Style On Khaosan Road. Superbly located right on Khaosan Road. Very convenient- shopping, dining, clubing. Breathtaking outdoor roof-top pool. Room equipped with private bathroom with hot shower, air-conditioner and satellite TV. Simple,sleek and stylish decoration with relaxation atmosphere. Clean rooms and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rikka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rikka Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rikka Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.