We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scala

La Scala
13/3 South Sathorn Street | The Sukhothai Hotel, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
66 (0) 2 3448888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The food is always great, freshly made, tasty. Yes, it's a bit expensive but it's a great pleasure so ...
My favorite italian restaurant is in Bangkok!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear fred m,

Thank you very much for your review of La Scala on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you were impressed by the authentic Italian recipes at La Scala restaurant. We carefully select only the freshest ingredients to ensure that we serve you the best quality of Italian food at La Scala.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply the best Restaurant Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

After 5 years living in Bangkok, I have visited a lot of the restaurants of this city. At the end if this journey the only one which constantly satisfied my family and me is La Scala restaurant at the Sukhothai Hotel. The creativity of Chef Maurizio is a pleasure for the pallet and after 5 years he keeps surprising me each time I come for lunch or dinner. The several promotions proposed during the year with Chefs of all over the world makes it a culinary temple for the city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Robert T,

Thank you very much for your superb review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to meet one of the true fans of La Scala here on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for an on-going support during the years and we will definitely share this precious review with La Scala’s team.

We are looking forward to your return to La Scala soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Pasta is out the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The resturant is part of Sukothai hotel on sat horn hotel. The food is just amazing and the pasta we had were out the world.the chef personally came and asked my wife what type of pasta she would like to have. Just amazing. Even the risotto was just perfect. The best Italian food I have had in asia. Worth a try. They have veg options . Only thing no shorts are allowed. Also you can sit outside overlooking the pool.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Nirajsomaiya,

First of all, let us thank you for providing the time to review our Italian Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

It is always delightful for us to know that our guests value the amazing experience of dining at La Scala.

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and we will be more than glad to have your wife and you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A rare touch of class hard to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was wet and didnt want to go far but also needed a classy place with food that was going to be healthy as well as soul lifting. Have stayed down the road for 2 1/2 years and now we discover it. It is excellence in fine dining and that extra special touch! We had a Salad that was outstanding. Rocket with pine nuts pear and goats cheese which was totally different in taste and presentation from anywhere in the world. There was an amazing pizza we normally dont have pizzas anymore for health reasons but this was worth breaking the rules.

The dessert is sinfully addictive BUT oh so light, not so sweet and lingering on for a long time. You don't mind dying for.......the best yet to be mentioned. We got amazing 3 pieces in a box chocolate that was designer in taste and presentation. The bill too was presented in style. They do not comprise in style or taste. Everything was prepared in front and in perfection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Intl_coordinatin,

Thank you very much for providing the time to write a review for our famous Italian Restaurant, La Scala.

We are very delighted to learn that you enjoyed this dining experience in our restaurant. It’s worth of breaking the rules when you visit La Scala.

We are looking forward to having you back again soon so that you try out more options in this extraordinary menu.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EXCELLENT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

its a must italian cuisine cuisine place to go if in bangkok...loved it and would certainly go back!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ClubgauravGuptaa,

Thank you for providing the time to write a review for our Italian restaurant, La Scala on trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that its cuisine met your taste and expectations and that you will re-visit next time.

Thank you and we are looking forward to having you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.