We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View Restaurant

The View Restaurant
Bangkok, Thailand (Formerly The Good View Restaurant) (Bang Rak)
02-6891393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #802 of 8,069 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I don't live in Bangkok, but I try to make it to this restaurant every time I visit the city, since the first time I was introduced to the restaurant back in 2010. So far, I've been here four separate times (once a year from 2010-2013), and loved it every time.

The food is amazing - very fresh seafood cooked in a wide variety of (delicious) sauces and lots of traditional Thai food. The river prawns are particularly recommended. The live music is a nice touch, and the atmosphere on the river simply can't be beat.

Such a place is of course very expensive by Thai standards, but coming from Singapore, The Good View is amazing bargain. The place is also hard to get to, but that also means, unlike most "hi so" places in Thailand, this place has not (yet) been conquered by farang.

Despite the relatively high prices, this place remains a largely local restaurant, which keeps quality very high.

My only complaint is that they tend to "forget" when you order rice, serving it in an untimely fashion (after you've eaten everything else), or not at all. This happened to me each time I went.

Rice aside, I strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits Bangkok.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BKK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good River View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good River with Sunset at dinner time, the resturant has 2 zones - -outdoor and indoor with air-conditioned and music band. There are many food style such as Thai food, Japanese food etc. The price is reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Service was poor even though it was not busy while food was so so, always liked this place before but has gone downhill since my last visit 18 months before, plenty of other choices in BKK so this place not worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A good Thai restaurant popular with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is way off the beaten track but worth a visit.
It was mainly locals here but that did not change the warm welcome they gave to our party which consisted of a large rowdy crowd of locals and foreigners who had just completed a steamy run in the area.
The food was your typical Thai fare, delivered with care and attention. The fish was deliciously fresh and fell off the bone.
The view may not be as good as it once was but the river still provides a nice backdrop and helps make this a good place to hunt out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Over rated unfriendliness and just ordinary food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went to this place on one of our last nights in Babgkok. The place is enormous and rhe view is ok .welcome was cold and staff struggled with our request for a better table even though we were very early and the place was nearly empty. Furniture is poorly maintained and unclean. We had numerous servers with no one responsinle. We spent most of the night waving at people who seemed oblivious to our needs. Food nothing special

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.