We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lub d Bangkok - Silom to your Saves list
Lub d Bangkok - Silom
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Bang Rak)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was really looking forward to it. But it really doesn't live up to the cool video. It attracts noisey inconsiderate back packers on their way to or from the islands. The staff are very nice but they aren't able to control the guests. I had two (of three) rough nights sleep. The place is cool to look at but not very functional. It's poorly designed - where you can too easily hear the noise from the small bar. The girl at the help desk seems to be more of a sales person to be honest. The main consideration is the location! Bangkok is crazy hard to get around. Traffic is nuts and this place is 45mins from Khoa San Rd. My advice, is to stay elsewhere and closer to what you want. Also - get scooters to transport you. Super fast and cheaper than taxis. Fun too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok - Silom, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest, we are very sorry to know that you didn't have a good time while staying with us. We wish we knew you didn't have good night sleep so we can do something about it for you. As for the noise from downstairs, we plan to install noise blockers at the doors next year. We hope you will give us another chance. Have a great trip! Kind regards, Lub d Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    167
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
102
176
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's a young, friendly, clean hostel in Bangkok. We always stayed in Lub D when we visit the beautiful city.
We stayed in double room with private bath room. The room is clean and comfortable with 24 hours hot water. The hostel location is quite near to the BSB station!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok - Silom, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and thank you for your staying in Bangkok.We very happy that you know our meaning of "Lub d" not so many people know or can remember it even we try to tell of our guest !

Have fun traveling !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was a bit lost when I arrived in Bangkok, and Lub D's great service helped me quickly find my feet and enjoy my short time there. Firstly Lub D Silom have all sorts of services that came in handy (e.g. luggage storage so that i could leave big bags and travel with just a backpack to the islands; in-house travel agent). Secondly their staff was really professional and took care to give me good advice on how to travel, what to see etc.
I can totally recommend this. Dorms were clean and cool. Bathrooms were kept clean too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's about a 10min walk from the subway. Instructions they have on the website are pretty clear. The staff are friendly, and the place is clean and open. Loads of people and info, which is one of the main reasons I picked this place instead of others. Onsite travel company - didn't book with them as they were not setup when I arrived - but the staff informed me of another place which was cheaper than what you can find online yourself. Wifi worked, plus they had computers for use. Great service in allowing you to store your stuff and chill after check out. The washrooms are clean as well. The only one slight issue is the funky smell in the tv room and sometimes in the rooms themselves... but it's a flip of the coin who you end up bunking with. There are cheaper hostels but this one is in a great location and the staff are helpful and it's clean... so if you are like me, worried with bed bugs, etc... then you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The double room we booked was clean and comfortable. The hostel is located in Silom not far from a BTS station. The staff is young and helpful. Only thing not good was the wi-fi connection, you had to log in and out before using different devices and it was often very slow. In one occasion I was not able to use at all the account they provided so they gave me another one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels i've been to. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff. Very convenient location. I stayed only one day there but i enjoyed everything about it. I'm not sure about the private rooms there, but I highly recommend it to anyone who wish to stay in a hostel in bangkok.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

It is clean, but I like Siam Lub D better. Compared to Siam, Silom located far from the BTS, the room is a little cramped (when I stayed Silom Lub d was under renovation). The price is cheaper than the Siam Lub D.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lub d Bangkok - Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lub d Bangkok - Silom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lub d Bangkok - Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lub d Bangkok - Silom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.