We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the cleanest and friendly hostels I've been in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lub d Bangkok - Silom to your Saves list
Lub d Bangkok - Silom
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Bang Rak)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the cleanest and friendly hostels I've been in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's about a 10min walk from the subway. Instructions they have on the website are pretty clear. The staff are friendly, and the place is clean and open. Loads of people and info, which is one of the main reasons I picked this place instead of others. Onsite travel company - didn't book with them as they were not setup when I arrived - but the staff informed me of another place which was cheaper than what you can find online yourself. Wifi worked, plus they had computers for use. Great service in allowing you to store your stuff and chill after check out. The washrooms are clean as well. The only one slight issue is the funky smell in the tv room and sometimes in the rooms themselves... but it's a flip of the coin who you end up bunking with. There are cheaper hostels but this one is in a great location and the staff are helpful and it's clean... so if you are like me, worried with bed bugs, etc... then you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    167
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
102
176
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The double room we booked was clean and comfortable. The hostel is located in Silom not far from a BTS station. The staff is young and helpful. Only thing not good was the wi-fi connection, you had to log in and out before using different devices and it was often very slow. In one occasion I was not able to use at all the account they provided so they gave me another one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels i've been to. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff. Very convenient location. I stayed only one day there but i enjoyed everything about it. I'm not sure about the private rooms there, but I highly recommend it to anyone who wish to stay in a hostel in bangkok.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

It is clean, but I like Siam Lub D better. Compared to Siam, Silom located far from the BTS, the room is a little cramped (when I stayed Silom Lub d was under renovation). The price is cheaper than the Siam Lub D.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent two nights there, one night in a single room, and one night in a dorm. Had a really good time. Great communal area where you can enjoy breakfast, snacks and rum. It was the perfect place for me to start my solo journey, as I was able to meet a lot of other solo travelers. Went on a pub-crawl with the staff, and had a good time. I wasn't able to get a bed for my last night in Bangkok, so I slept at another place, but went back to Lub d just to hang out at the bar. Really great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Lub D Silom is a great place to stay, no doubt about it. The staff are friendly, the rooms are super clean, great bathrooms, free & fast wifi, etc.. Probably the best thing about Lub D is the bar area and outdoor terrace. We brought our own beer to save some money (don't know if this is officially allowed or not) and sat there multiple nights drinking and chatting with fellow guests and the staff. We didn't try the evening food, which looked good, but the breakfast was nice enough.

The two things that let this hostel down are firstly the useless travel agents desk located near the bar - don't bother with it - just book your travel elsewhere as they seemed clueless to all our questions. Secondly, it is much more expensive than many other backpackers hostels, despite the fact it is superior - it isn't enough to justify paying almost double. And then you are charged extra to hire a towel!

Overall, would highly recommend if your not on a very tight budget as its a great place to meet other travellers and have a good sleep.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been to Lub.d hostel , i am very enjoyed my stay in this hotels is very nice , especially the staff is very friendly and professional. The have hosted me very well.WiFi is FREE and GOOD The hostel is located in a very nice area with a lot of nice restaurants and food-stalls.Especially "Grilled pork with sticky rice" ( kao nweao moo ping is highlight ) and "Stir-fired pork neck with Brazil leave " ( Phat ka pao kor mu krop ) thai style

Regarding Lub D, I can advise to everyone visiting Bangkok to stay at LUB D.
I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: they have room with and without connected bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lub d Bangkok - Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lub d Bangkok - Silom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lub d Bangkok - Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lub d Bangkok - Silom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.