We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OHHH the pillows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Bangkok to your Saves list
Le Meridien Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OHHH the pillows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights on an opening special and it was brilliant. The concierge service were exceptional. The rooms were well set out, beds were comfortable, the pool area was very nice [you got frequent glasses of cold water + a cold facial spritzer] and the gym was a decent size. The area was colourful and close to Sala Daeng Station. The lunch buffet looked wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,597
    534
    72
    21
    9
See reviews for
182
870
357
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Stayed here for one night in April, before moving to Shangri-La Bangkok (separate review on that). We were incredibly impressed with every detail of this hotel. As previous reviews have said, an incredible amount of thought has gone into this property. The design is simply a benchmark for what trendy and luxurious mean in 2009. There was never a compromise between style and comfort, as this hotel was supremely welcoming in every aspect. We also noticed the custom-made music for the elevator that redefines what elevator music should be.

We stayed in a Vista Room on the 17th floor, with a great view of the skyline. The room was very well thought of and impeccably furnished. State of the art equipment from the flat screen tv to the touch screen telephone. The bathroom was very dramatic with a large and deep tub. The "cool rainshower" they said in the website was no joke. It was flush in the ceiling, and had the strongest water pressure of all rainshowers I've tried. The bed was extremely comfortable - dare I say more comfortable than our succeeding beds in Shangri-La Bangkok and Langham Place Hong Kong.

As we explored the hotel, we found a brand new gym with pretty much all a traveler can use. The pool was smallish, but very inviting and trendy. The pool area was also very thoughtfully and comfortably furnished. The spa was really modern, but really luxuriously designed. As we didn't have time for a treatment, I can only comment on the design. Check out all the bathrooms of the restaurants and the lobby. I only wish other hotels would start updating theirs.

We had 3 meals in the hotel during our overnight stay. Our first was dinner at Bamboo Chic. What was supposed to be a quick dinner after a flight turned out to be our most memorable meal in Bangkok. The menu was so inventive and of the highest quality. Try the sushi topped with foie gras :-) Breakfast the next day was at Latest Recipe. They have thoroughly re-invented hotel buffets with this one. Each dish was so creatively presented, with noticeably the freshest ingredients. I love how the dishes in the hot buffet all lay on a bed of rock salt and cinnamon sticks - everything just smelled better. Many items were prepared a la minute, and everything tasted outstanding. We were so impressed by breakfast that we had our lunch there as well after checking out. It was so impressive how the restaurant had a complete change of selections in less than 2 hours! All the dishes for lunch were perfect, and again, many were made to order at no extra charge.

As for the service, I have to say this had the warmest, most efficient service we experienced in a long time. At first, we were hesitant to stay here because it was so new, and the staff might be raw. We were extremely surprised. Each staff member we encountered was a true master of service - from the doorman, bellhop, check in agent, to every single restaurant staff person. The restaurant staff was so quick in getting our used plates, replacing our cutlery and refilling our water glasses that we felt we had a dedicated person per table.

Le Meridien Bangkok certainly shows the world what a trendy, upscale and luxurious hotel should be. The decor is so stylish and comfortable that it will be my basis of comparison against all modern hotels from now on. The service is second to none (and we just came from the Shangri-La!). The food alone is worth the trip. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed here because it was ranked #4 on TripAdvisor. I am pleasantly surprised that it has now jumped to #1. Very well-deserved indeed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I was staying in Le Meridien Hotel during the SOngkran fesitival from 11 - 15 April 09.

Bangkok, a favorite destination for holidays for many tourists, naturally is never short of all kind of hotels, from well known hotel groups to many botique hotels and service apartment.. However, it can be a little challenge to find a hotel that operate like a botique hotel but offering a 5 star chain hotel amenities.

Le Meridien sure fit into this profile nicely. Furthermore the hotel location is sure a +++. Smacked in a very vibrant location ( just a short walk from patpong and Silom) and a 8 mins walk to the BTS Sky station ( Sa La Deng).

Hotel staff and service, are fantastic. I am impressed by the staff being able to remember your last name despite the short stay and both ehr concierge and the front desk always ensure you are ok and taken care of. Also the concierge always ready to offer suggestions for dine venue and places of interest.

Hotel room, no complain, I really like the big flooring window, which offer no obstrucive view and allow max of natural light in the day time. As for the shower room, I sure like the open concept. A sheer enjoyment to shower in the night time at the bath tube looking out the window.

Fascilities wise, the poolside and the gym is great. However it will be perfect if the pool side can stock up some spare swimming goggles, offering some cut fruit for the hotel guests while they are enjoying the sun tanning and offering some water spray for their face. That will sure make the pool a perfect place to spend the day in Bangkok.

The hotel sunset cerermony was fantastic. I really love the moment when the staff lit the candles and move in unision in placing the candle around the hotel lobby, is a wonder experiences just watching it. Oh the offering of free champagne to the guest at the lobby was indeed a very nice gesture.

Last but not least, check out the Bamboo Chic restaurant,. I simply like the drink selection there and also the fantastic food prepare by the chef.. It will be a good place to stay your night there.

I would highly recommend the hotel to any guest to stay in Le Meridien, Bangkok who simply want to have a jolly good time of fun and memorable time in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Spectacular new build. Soaring ceilings in common areas, with a glass elevator connecting the lobby to the restaurants. Very helpful service. Free wifi in the lobby (but, unfortunately, not in the rooms). Our standard room, king, was spacious and comfortable and modern, including a large sofa on the window and a decent swivel chair to work at. Zebra wood veneer accents on counters and in bathroom, which was black and grey marble. Good bathroom amenities. Two options in the shower (overhead rain or hand held). Opaque sliding glass between toilet and shower, separate bath with sliding wall into the room proper. Very nice convenience touches throughout; the mini bar was inside a closet and the kettle inside a drawer (and it worked in the drawer!). Complimentary mineral water every day, much appreciated. Good work area, flat screen with so-so offerings, simple, wonderful aesthetic Thai decorative touches throughout. The lighting options were myriad, and setting mood was virtually endless. Two electric blinds made for a nice dark room at night. We ate in their upmarket bar/restaurant, Bamboo Chic, which is a grand, impressive yet still warm room with a dj spinning light house. Good food, very well presented, but not blowaway. The pool has a lounge area that’s not too spacious and can fill up quick. The pool is only four feet deep, so a little bit of a let down, but it’s situated on the sixth floor with a nice ambiance and not bad for laps. Sun filters west mid-afternoon though leaving it in shade for what’s arguably the nicest time to relax poolside. Gym decent and gym staff very pleasant. For smokers, there is an exterior front patio; I’m not a smoker but I think it’s a service to non-smokers that they’ve provided a pleasant, private spot for smokers that keeps smoke away from common areas. Overall service was friendly and efficient, very high marks. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Neighbourhood is busy and dense and during Songkran (lunar new year, when we were there) raucous and sometimes annoying.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Address: 40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok offers 282 guestrooms and touch screen IP phone. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.