We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

After spending 3 nights at Le Meridien, I really didn't want to leave and board my luxury cruise! I can't say enough about this excellent hotel. The employees, the room and amenities are top notch. The breakfast buffet was soooo good! The location was perfect. Across the street from the Pat Pong Night Market / Red Light District which is totally safe and a lot of fun. We also walked down to the river. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. Thanks Le Meridien for starting my vacation off so nicely!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,273
    432
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
136
716
291
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very pleasant hotel close to Patpong, many restaurants and bars. Rooms are clean, spacious and modern stylish but comfortable. Whilst being centally located the room was very quiet and the bed was really compfy. The only suggestion i would have is to put 3 towels in a couples room (its nice to use a dry towel if you have long hair to dry) and an extra power outlet ie to plug in the hair straightener while the ipads are charging ..is the only suggestions I would have to make about this hotel. Delicioius breakfasts with lots of choice and the waiting service was very good.
The staff are very accommodating and knowledgeable with their suggestions on local events and amenities. It was also a treat to have a welcome drink on arrival at checkin ! We only had 4 days so didn't have the chance to use all the amenities but it is a very pleasant hotel.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a Vista room on the 17th Floor overlooking with a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very good location only 5 mins walk to the metro. Near the hotel there are many restaurants and at night there is a night market also many small little carts selling food by the street.
The hotel itself is very stylish and comfortable. The room is spacious, even we added one more bed we still felt very comfortable. The only complaint is the pillow. They put one normal pillow and another old pillow in which the contents were no longer evenly distributed inside the pillow case. Of course that is not comfortable but seeing this old pillow I felt disgusted and didn't wanna touch it at all. I gave this comment to the front desk, they said I could have requested earlier and they would have brought us better pillows. Well, for a five star hotel isn't it reasonable not to give the guests this type of ugly old pillows? the normal one isn't comforable either. all of us had neck pain after the first night.
No free wifi in the room but only in the lobby. one minus.
When we checked in we were offered a welcome drink which is like a frappacino. Wow, that was wonderful! We wish to have that every single day! The buffet breakfast is wonderful. They have so wide varity of food that after 3 days breakfast there I still didn't feel bore about the food. It's great!
Most of the staff are very good looking. I wonder whether have they set a standard when recruiting staff? The female receptionists and even the female cooks for the breakfast are so pretty, the bell boys, the concierge staff are very good-looking.
We went to the swimming pool area. over 90% of the guests are male and seems they were as well having a good time there sunbathing! the hotel offers pool side BBQ with some cold cuts too at around USD 30 (don't remember the exact price).
Overall our stay here is very comfortable. I would definitely recommend my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at the Le Meridien Bangkok at the end of April when the weather was quite pleasant and occupancy wasn't overwhelmingly high.

Rooms:
I booked a Vista (basic room) but was upgraded upon check-in to the Avantec Suite for being an SPG Platinum. The series of benefits for Platinum members is amongst the most generous for Bangkok Starwood properties. The Avantec Suite is beautifully appointed with one of the most comfortable beds I've had at a hotel. The only negative would be the hot and cold water knob (or handles) in the bathroom. They make it unnecessarily hard to turn on the water. Everything else was top notch. Overall, just amazing value.

Food & Beverage:
The breakfast spread was good and service was efficient. There was nothing that wow'ed me, but it was still great.

Location:
LM Bangkok is located in Patpong. Most of the time, I left the hotel in a taxi. Level of convenience is very subjective. For me, the location was perfectly fine. There are a few massage places right at the hotel's doorstep. Nothing too shady.

Facilities:
The pool area was chic; unfortunately, I didn't have time to try it. Bamboo Chic looked nice. As an SPG Platinum member, you also get free drinks at Bamboo Chic. The lobby has a nice contemporary feel to it and it was just very comfortable to come back to it after a hectic or fun-filled day in Bangkok.

Guest Profile:
For some reason, guests there were predominantly male. There was a good mix of European, Japanese and Korean guests. I'd say it was mainly a younger crowd.

Overall:
This hotel is great value especially if you are a SPG member. They treat you very well and I would certainly return to this property in a heartbeat. Service is very friendly as you would expect it to be in Bangkok. Try to get a room facing the temple. The view is nicer on that side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Le Meridien Bangkok is a great hotel for it's location in Bangkok. Very centrally located and in a lively night-life neighborhood. Nearby restaurants, bars and transportation options definitely add to the value of staying at this hotel.

The hotel itself is very modern, although it looks like the building is a little older, the insiders are updated and clean. The room is a good size and offers great Bangkok skyline views. The bathroom opens up into the bedroom, which is kind of cool, but doesn't provide much privacy (especially noise-wise).

The staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions regarding transportation, site-seeing and restaurant options. Unfortunately, there's only free wifi in the lobby, not the hotel as a whole. And it's a little spotty in the common areas of the hotel (restaurants, pool, spa).

The pool area is small, which makes sense for the type/location of the Le Meridien. However, it would be nice if the pool and bar stayed open later into the evening, as it's the only outdoor area of the hotel, which would be nice to relax with a drink or dip in the pool at the end of the day or before dinner.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is my default hotel for work trips in Bangkok as it is close to my office but it could never be faulted for bad service. The rooms are elegant and modern, the suite very spacious. As an SPG platinum I am always impressed by the service I get at the bar where the lady seem to recall my preference in food (no seafood) and my favorite drinks even though my last stay was more than 3 months ago.

Service is stellar from bell boys who fight to carry your bags to a warm and personalized welcome. Also enjoy the platinum breakfast with sparkling wine. This is also the hotel that I choose when staying on a long week end. Always a pleasure to come back.

The pool is great and the gym full of great equipment. It is easily accessible with skytrain a mere 5 mins walk away (Sala Daeng BTS).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really, is there any other place to stay? Welcoming, helpful staff who go the extra mile to assist you. FANTASTIC breakfast with a multitude of Asian and Western stations and great local fruit. Modern spacious rooms with all the amenities and a great location. Perfection.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are worth the supplement. Quieter, floor to ceiling windows, electric day or night blin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Address: 40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok offers 282 guestrooms and touch screen IP phone. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.