We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still nice but............” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Bangkok to your Saves list
Le Meridien Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still nice but............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel several times over the past years. Nice location and trendy hotel. The service is perfect and the rooms are very comfy. I would like to advise the management to keep an eye on the quality of the rooms. the smell in the smoking rooms ansd coridor is terrible without smoking one sigaret and the carpet and the bathrooms shows it's age. Nevertheless pleasant stays without complaints.

Room Tip: avoid smoking floors even being a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    481
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
155
784
330
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I chose this because of its location. Frankly, I did not expect much from a hotel inside the filthy Silom or Patpong. But overall experience is pleasant. At least, it's not noisy at night in spite of the clubbing crowds downstairs.

First of all, I arrived early and did not expect an early check-in; and I just wanted to leave my bags there first. However, front desk staff was nice to arrange me a room. I heard that the hotel breakfast was a highlight - yes. It's a hotel that I left without any complain.

Room Tip: The taps (faucets) in the bathrooms are hard to grasp and turn. This is noteworthy for people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Definitely the best hotel I've been in so far in South East Asia.

The hotel itself is beautiful, architecturally it's very impressive and the lobby is spectacular.
The staff is very professionnal, helpful and welcoming.
Our room on the 22th floor was superb, with an impressive view on the skyscrapers in the area. Perfectly clean, with a great bathroom and a wonderful bed, we had a divine night of sleep there.
We enjoyed it so much that we returned 2 weeks later when we had to go back to Bangkok at the end of our trip and it was as great as the first night.
There is a very cosy place at the sixth floor with a big pool and comfortable deckchairs, where you can chill out whenever you need.
It's also 2 minutes walk to the night market.
I wish I had more time to stay there longer, I recommend it to anyone, also it's a bit pricey, but worth it, for a 5 star stay.
We can't imagine going anywhere else in bangkok if we go back there one day.

Jon.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your excellent comments and to post your review on this site. We are delighted to read that you have had such
a fantastic experience and that our service team have been able to make the start of your journey an inspiring one.
Our entire team do hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

With Best Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Le Meridien is the best hotel in Bangkok when compared against the Hilton across the river, and the Marriott. It really is an oasis in this hustling, hot, sweltering city. Located right across the street from the Patong night market, the hotel is an excellent location compared to other hotels in Bangkok and the neighborhood is good vs. the Lebua hotel (where Hangover II was shot - you exit that hotel and the neighborhood is not great at all) - it's great for either business or pleasure given it's location. The staff is excellent, there is an excellent money exchanger by the night market if you're not using your ATM card.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay special so we appreciated that. That included giving us a circle bed room (we were room 2221) which was really cool. And the housekeeping staff give you PLENTY of water every day so we never had to buy bottled water.

Breakfast buffet is great as well and the honeycomb was a nice touch - I've always wanted to taste this and now I can cross it off my bucket list.

The mattresses were EXCELLENT and at the end of the day - that's what really matters since it's the one thing you can't really change about a hotel. Good for both back and side sleepers.

Only issues were
1) The towels were kinda thin and they only give you 2 sets so we had to keep calling for more towels
2) The walls can be thin - we heard our neighbors phone ring.
3) The faucet handles in the bathroom are an interesting modern take on handles, but can be hard to turn when your hands are wet

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We had a room facing downtown and it was fine. We had a circle room which was really nice - room 222...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my family stayed in this hotel only for two nights, but i wish it were a lot more! We stayed at the round bed suite, the room is AMAZING, every detail is great, extremelly beautiful and spacious, the bed was one of the most comfortable in a hotel that i ever stayed.
I would say its an excellent hotel specially for those who like Patpong market, which is just downstais...there are many massage places very close as well.
The breakfast is great, has everything one can expect, the buffet lunch restaurant was also amazing and for an affordable price...
The only down size from the hotel was that we expected to hire a babysitter to stay few hours witb our child while we would go around, but the hotel couldnt provide us...so beware of that...
All the other things were the best as possible, the sevice is exceptional, the team is always doing their best to please you and with a big smile in their faces!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed here twice. This is a very stylish modern hotel located across the patpong! night market. It is always clean, the rooms are lovely. From outside the hotel is not so big, small lobby but when never expected such an awesome room. W.C is the best ! Amazing breakfast, excellent service form the staff , no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights at Le Meridien and our stay was excellent. The Meridien is chic and airy, yet the atmosphere is warm and inviting. It's a great hotel for couples, especially, we think. We split the majority of our leisure time (we were in town for a conference at a nearby hotel) between the rooftop pool, shopping on/near Patpong Road, and eating at local establishments. First, having Patpong within 50 meters was very convenient. Nice to have something fun and lively to do right outside your front door! My wife found the purse shopping particularly good there, and all of the typical Thai street market goods, foods, massages, and other diversions are available. There is a 7-Eleven right next to the hotel and many atms. If you're off to explore another area in Bangkok, the doormen at the Meridien do a nice job of nabbing and screening taxis for you--always a fair deal. No worries about getting overcharged like often happens when waving a taxi or tuk tuk down outside such touristy areas. And no matter where you end up, taxi drivers will know how to get you home because everyone knows Patpong Road. There are good restaurants nearby, including the Oasis Lounge right across the street (friendly, cheap, tasty, pool table) and Somboon Seafood a five-minute walk away (local favorite, super-fresh seafood, busy!) We enjoyed the rooftop pool and the adjoining fitness area. Quiet and breezy, it's an oasis from the hustle-bustle below. Our room on the 16th floor overlooked a temple. Awesome bathroom. Internet flawless. Hotel food good--incredible brunch on Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a base to discover Bangkok and for taking the time to share your excellent feedback with us. We are delighted to read that you and your wife had enjoyed your stay with us, especially the convenient location or the stunning city view from your guest room on level 16. Your words of compliments have been shared with our team to recognize their efforts in being a part of creating an inspired journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Address: 40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok offers 282 guestrooms and touch screen IP phone. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.