We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem... Will be back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Meridien Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Siem Reap
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem... Will be back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is amazing, located in the central of the town. Staff at the hotel were always smiling, so kind and willing to help, and give us information. Really put me at ease. Add to that, i really like the cocktails at the Bamboo Chic, buffet breakfast at the Latest Receipt is very fantastic, and the comfortable room with a beautiful modern bathroom. It has Everything I could ask for and more. I didn't want to leave. Overall rating: 10/10. I will definitely back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor is like a paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your stay at Le Méridien Bangkok and also your kind compliments which compare us as the ‘Hidden Gem’ with such incredibly high score. We are pleased to hear that you recognized and appreciated our great services whether front desk associates, the cocktail selection at Bamboo Chic Bar or our signature breakfast at Latest Recipe - as making you smile is our pride and passion.

It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our service team, and we are grateful of your praises.

We hope to see again soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,205
    405
    55
    18
    8
See reviews for
131
676
276
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the best hotel ever: Great staff,Great bed; incredible breakfast!! (I miss so much their breakfast) Love the bath tube with sliddings doors,our room had a great view and was so quiet,as soon as we arrived we were given a voucher for 2 free drinks at the bar! Had a cognac and my wife a good wine...Great,great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed much of our services, in-room facilities, the view and especially our signature breakfast. May we take this opportunity to share your compliments with our service team.

We wish to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Bangkok again soon! Our inspiring breakfast awaits you every day.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during our Thailand trip to Hua Hin & Bangkok.
In all aspects its a 5 star hotel - service, facilities, comfort & staff. The location is a bit away from the crowded city center. Its situated on Surawong Road. The flagship Jim Thompson store is near by. That could serve as the land mark in case if the cab driver cannot locate the place. From airport to the hotel was kind of different since the taxi driver did not know the hotel location stating Surawong road may not be the right location for Le Meridien.
The reception is very boutique in nature. Stylish Mural on the interior of the facade. A smoking area on the first floor, a book corner where one could pick a complimentary coffee adds to chic nature.The interiors of the rooms were quite nice. Dark woodish setting. We were given a complimentary chocolate bar. Quite a decent mini bar. All business accessories & connectivities were available.
Rooms are big. Bath, shower are quite good & exceptional. They reminded me of the Hotel W, another star wood chain hotel. However classy & elegant in its own ways. The pool is not so big but adequate. The gym was quite nice. Toiletteries were of exceptional quality. TV in the bathroom allows u to relax & view something while u take bath.
Staff were quite friendly.
One of the things I did not like much was the lounge bar Bamboo chic. It was quite deserted & the choice of snacks were quite ordinary. The cocktails did not taste great. Considering the fact that quite a few of the bar tenders were newbies, this is understood.
The restaurant 'eat me' is quite walkable from the hotel. The other small cafe Bugs & Bees, is also walkable.There's a starbucks just outside the hotel 50 meters on to the left.
Skytrain station is a bit of walk from the hotel & the area around the hotel turns a bit noisy and hectic during later part of the day. Thats one of the reasons the hotel is not as tall or as grand as one would expect a Le Meridien to be. But more of a boutique hotel. Nevertheless the service is exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I brought my mother for a much deserved shopping trip to Bangkok and chose Le Meridien for its location and was rewarded with much more - the staff were very helpful and kind, special mention goes to the bellhop and doormen who never tired of welcoming you with a smile and volunteered their own helpful advises such as best places to shop (with their helpful markings on the tourist maps) for specific things and how much to pay for taxi to each destination. The hotel itself is a very soothing oasis from the heat and frenzy of Bangkok's city center. You really feel you're in the midst of it all and yet stepping in to the hotel you immediately appreciate its modern and sleek amenities. We especially liked the room for its posh and comfy accommodation and again kudos to the housekeeping staff who always made sure the room was always made up as if you just checked into it. Great experience overall, and will make sure to choose it again on my next trup.

Room Tip: Ask to be booked at a Starwood Preferred Guest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with Le Méridien Bangkok during your visit to Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family and we truly appreciate your compliments. We are also glad to hear that our bell associates, concierge and front desk associates have offered you a high level of services. Creating our guests stay more pleasurable by assisting them in any queries and giving advice is one of our team’s top priorities.

Thank you again for your kind feedback. We will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Bangkok.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thumbs up...Hats off to this hotel manager. Clearly he chose the best staff and or trains wonderfully. Here is what you will see...Doors open for you, you are greeted with a smile by EVERY staff member you see anywhere on property, property is immaculate. rooms are updated and very "W" style cool, as is Lobby and bar and art work all around including a lobby library.

Its a Im Home feeling.. and a Happy to be home at a very reasonable price.

grab it..

Room Tip: front facing...but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay; services, room and our arrival artwork. The contemporary design and settings have all been carefully studied to offer a new perspective and to inspire our guests during their stay. To hear that you enjoyed these elements brings us a great pride.

It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our service team, and we are grateful of your praises. We hope to see again soon.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was a wonderful respite from the frenetic streets of Bangkok. You feel calm descend over you as soon as you walk through the door.
The reception staff are very welcoming and helpful. I encountered a small problem with my room - as soon as I walked into it, it was obvious the previous occupant had ignored the fact it was a designated non-smoking room. When I complained to reception staff they couldn't have handled it better - an apology and an immediate transfer to a new room with their assistance followed up with an inquiry about whether the new room was to my satisfaction. Problems happen from time to time, but for me it is all about how staff deal with them that matter.
The rooms are well designed and comfortable. I especially liked the design of the bathrooms - the shower is separate from the bath and you can pull back the wall opening the bath out to the bedroom (could lie in the bath and watch the tv if that was your desire). It made everything feel spacious.
One night I ate dinner in their buffet restaurant. I normally hate buffets but this one has raised my expectations. There were different sections covering different types of cuisine and different courses and although it was a buffet the food tasted as if it had been very freshly prepared. In addition there were a number of food stations where chefs would cook certain dishes to order for you. Breakfast was equally impressive - especially the fresh coconut water.
My first impression of the pool was that the whole area was on the small side however I was always able to find a sun lounger and appreciated the option of matresses in the shade.
The gym had everything I needed - cardio machines, free weights, mats, swiss balls, etc as well as resistance machines for those that want them.
I had a treatment in the spa and was impressed both by the facility (spacious and luxurious) and by the masseuse (eager to ensure the level of pressure was to my liking).

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a good view over one of the nearby temples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your recent visit to Bangkok. It is great to hear that your stay was wonderful which you enjoyed our services by our front desk associates, room facilities, gym, massage and most importantly our all-day dining venue, Latest Recipe. We understand that there was a challenge in regards to your room assignment, however we are glad to hear that you were satisfied when we re-assigned your new room attentively and with timely manner. Thank you once again for your appreciated feedback. Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.

We will definitely share your kind compliments with our service team. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon.

With Best Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Something that stood out for me when I entered into the Steve McQueen mural entrance of the Le Meridien Bangkok; was that it was a larger hotel that managed to pull off a boutique hotel feel within a fairly large space. Everything about my stay at this property was a five star and above experience. The check-in was quick and painless, everyone greeted me with a smile and a very eager can-do attitude. My room had an entire glass wall, which allowed for a breathtaking vista of Bangkok. The bed was large and comfy, bathroom came with all the expected amenities and more, and there was plenty of space to store my clothes and luggage. There is also a lovely swimming pool where you can take a dip to freshen up and do a bit of sun-bathing. The breakfast was also very good, it included a large variety of dishes to choose from, both for the western and eastern palate. I have travelled around Asia quite a bit for work and pleasure and have stayed at many five star properties, but something stood out about this particular Le Meridien property in Bangkok. It is a property where service, comfort, and tasteful aesthetic all blend seamlessly together to make a true gem of a hotel. This hotel is a must-try in BKK. And it will be my hotel of choice when my partner and I go back to Bangkok this month.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director - Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Reviwer,

Thank you for compliments which comparing our hotel as the ‘Gem of a hotel in Bangkok’. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent journey. Le Méridien Bangkok has indeed an unique design and ambiance. We are very proud to learn that you
have liked these elements especially the Arrival Artwork at the hotel’s entrance that contribute to our identity. It is also lovely to learn that you have enjoyed our service attitude, the signature breakfast and our facilities.

We will pass your compliments to our service team and we are grateful of your praises. We look forward to welcoming you and your partner again soon!

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok offers 282 guestrooms and touch screen IP phone. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.