We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SPA Experience at Le Meridien Bangkok.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Bangkok to your Saves list
Le Meridien Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,018 Reviews
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great SPA Experience at Le Meridien Bangkok.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

A very respectful, warm and cheerful atmosphere will make you feel welcome and at ease in this luxurious and relaxing SPA. Khun Kat and Khun Natchada, the SPA managers, create a very welcoming climate and their staff provides the most professional relaxing treatments. With no doubt, visit the SPA of Le Meridien.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your visit to Bangkok.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
Creating our guests stay more pleasurable by assisting them in any queries and giving advice is one of our team’s top priorities.

We will definitely share your kind compliments with our service team. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    484
    61
    20
    9
See reviews for
157
790
332
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of April. We checked in at about midnight and had no trouble. Very clean and modern hotel in an excellent location right across the street from the Pat Pong night market so a lot of action right around the hotel but you don't hear the noise inside. Several good and cheap massage parlors right outside the hotel. Always greeted when you enter and concierge very helpful with getting a taxi and providing you and the driver with a card showing the destination and the hotel name for the return. Rooms were clean and spacious. Only reason I did not give it five stars is that when we inquired about going out to the floating markets, they told us the taxi rate was 2000 baht round trip since the markets were about an hour away by car and then warned us that drivers are not always trustworthy and that we should do a tour for 2500 baht per person which included a boat ride for a five hour roundtrip tour through them. With 4 people, we opted to just take a taxi at 2000 baht instead of the tour they were selling for 10000 baht for all of us. The other complaint was the taxi then took us to a boat tour instead of directly to the markets. Not knowing any better, we thought we could only reach the markets via boat so paid 2000 baht for the tour for all of us, but it turned out to be just a tour and we didn't even get to stop at the markets and just sped through it on the boat. Afterwards, we asked the driver to take us to the markets and he drove about five minutes and we were at the markets (we had seen cars and roads during the tour so knew it was reachable by car). Not sure if the driver was told by the hotel to take us to the tour or what but we were disappointed by the manipulation since we told the hotel we wanted to go to the markets, not a boat tour. Don't think it was the driver's fault as he was very accommodating. Tip: if taking a taxi out, you pay the entire 2000 baht at the end of the return trip. Another reason for the four stars was when we asked about booking Siam Niramit tickets for the day of, the hotel only offered a 100 baht discount from the published rate of 1600 baht per person. On searching online, I found and booked tickets for 860 baht per person, saving almost half off. Tip: book through hotels2thailand.com for great discounted tickets...would recommend show as well. In conclusion, good hotel but would not recommend booking activities through them since cost is usually twice what you would pay if doing it on our own.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

At the airport various taxi drivers frowned at my request to go here, "because it's a long way from the airport". Well, the airport is a long way from Bangkok, so that's the same for most of the hotels you stay at in Bangkok; the drive took no more than an hour, although the driver got lost at the end. Oh well, that's not so relevant to the hotel itself.

Check in was very good - unprompted, a complimentary glass of coffee appeared as I was giving my details, and the lobby area is lovely - subtle decor, enough music to keep you awake without making you think you're in a nightclub for 18 year olds - plus my room was big and comfortable. Extra points for the free wi-fi in the lobby, although perhaps those should be deducted because you have to pay for it in your room.

The room had a great bath, pretty good shower, good bed; the only flaw is that it had no view out of the window apart from a car park. But I guess none of the rooms in the hotel would have a particularly beautiful view. Breakfast at the New Flavour restaurant was good - some of the best variety I've encountered at a buffet recently - and the service at the spa was also very good.

The only thing I've really got against this hotel is the glacial temperature they believe the air conditioning should run at. I'm beginning to conclude that this is universal in Bangkok, having almost frozen to death at the Conrad last year, and been swaddled in sweaters at the Le Meridien this week while it was 40 degrees outside. If not for the environment, then at least for my extremities, could everyone back off on the air con a bit?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I've always appreciated the "5 senses" concept of the Le Meridien brand but the Bangkok one is always my favourite.

I've been to Bangkok 5-6 times in the past three years and the Le Meridien has been my 1st choice since my 1st stay. I stayed with different friends and they all came up with same positive comments as I did.

Execellent location with many tasty street stalls around at night yet quiet enough for you to go asleep easily. Only a few minutes walk to the BTS station. Rooms are modern and chic with superb comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff. Buffet breakfast with extremely adequate choices and illy beverage.

The only thing to dislike is the raising room rates.

Room Tip: Starwood Preferred Guest can get higher floor rooms. Connecting rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just checked out of the Le Meridien at Surawong Road in Bangkok. This hotel was outstanding and I rarely give out a 5 star rating to any hotel.

From the airport if you take a metered taxi it will run you about 250 baht plus tolls (100 baht). If you take a regular taxi it will run you about 450 baht. Take the regular taxi, the "limo" is just an upgraded car.

The hotel is a huge impressive strucutre, sleek and modern. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were so friendly and warm. They greeted us in the typical Thai way. We arrived at 1pm, 2 hours before check in time, however the concierge gave us a room upon arrival. The room we booked was a corner room, very spacious and modern. The shower had a huge rain head fixture and the bath was a massive soaker tub.

We had breakfast included in our rate. A huge bonus for us. The area around the hotel is right near Patpong and Silom district. Packed with restaurants, bars and the red light district. If you don’t get breakfast included there is plenty of choice. I would however recommend the breakfast at the hotel. This hotel has one of the most extensive food offerings for breakfast I have ever seen. And I have seen a lot  Anything from Ramen, waffles, eggs, pancakes, curries, dim sum, fruits, fresh yoghurt, rice, frozen ice cream (yes I said ice cream for breakfast) is offered here. The breakfast area is massive and so modern and beautiful. For the price it was worth every penny and was so convenient. You must try this breakfast if you have a chance.

The swimming pool at the hotel was also amazing! Located on the sixth floor it was private, having 3 pool side cabañas a long with plenty of chairs with umbrellas. It was about 38-40 degrees every day we stayed in Bangkok (10 days) and the pool was refreshing after a hot day or just before starting your journey. We were there every day, opens until 8pm.

The staff at the hotel were some of the best I have ever dealt with. They were all so willing to help you plan your day, give you directions and suggestions on the best ways to get places and organize any transportation you needed. All with a warm smile. They were so courteous and friendly, I wish all hotels had staff like them. Thanks to Lalanee and also Nattaporn for all their help while we were there. Make sure you ask the concierge desk for a map, they will give you some good ones to help you better navigate the city.

The hotel is not near the old city, rather closer to the financial district. Situated between two subway stations (Sam Yan, Sala Daeng/Silom) it’s close to walk to the stations and get around the newer parts of the city (Sukhumvit, Siam, Chatchuk, National Stadium). For older parts of the city you can take the train to Saphan Taskin (Central Pier) and take the ferry to the older parts of the city or a taxi. The Silom/Surawaong area is a very happening area, especially in the evening. The night market is right near the hotel (less than 1 block) and there are rows of restaurants along both Surawong and Silom area. There is also a huge shopping complex connected to Sam Yan station (Chamchuri mall) which also has a slew of restaurants (Asian, Japanese) to choose from.

Thanks Le Meridien for a wonderful stay. I will absolutely come back to this hotel the next time I am in Bangkok, which will be soon 

Room Tip: Choose a rate with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with Le Méridien Bangkok during your visit to Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your compliments.

Le Méridien Bangkok has indeed a unique design and ambiance. We are very proud to hear that you liked these elements that contribute to our identity.

Many details have gone in to the preparation and selection of dishes present in our Breakfast experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our Le Méridien Signature Breakfast.
We are glad to hear that our services exceeded your expectation – hence, making your stay a memorable one.

We would like to share your comments among our service team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Bangkok very soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had such a terrific experience here a little over a year ago I recently selected it for a return visit to Bangkok. It still a great hotel and we had a great time, including an unexpected upgrade to a suite, which was fantastic.

But I worry the service was slipping a little. Small touches like the welcome drink at check-in were missing. At poolside, the service wasn't as attentive as it had been the last time I was there -- water was slow to appear when we arrived, as were drinks after we ordered. Check-in and check-out both took a very long time.

The location is spectacular, the room decor is amazing, and an earlier visit showed the staff can really pull off great service. Here's hoping we just caught them on an off weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It is wonderful to know you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the hotel facilities and our service culture.

Thank you again for your feedback. We will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you once more back to Le Méridien Bangkok.

With Best Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and got upgraded free of charge! It is further out of town than most hotels but it's do cheap to travel it was no issue. The rooms are large clean well equipped. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and the food in the restaurant was Devine! They couldn't do enough for us!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your recent visit to Bangkok.

It is wonderful to know you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the hotel facilities and our service culture. Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Bangkok.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Address: 40/5 Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok offers 282 guestrooms and touch screen IP phone. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.