We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIxed feelings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roti-Mataba

Roti-Mataba
136 Phra Atid Road, Phra Nakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
+662822119, +666293353
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,063 of 8,057 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“MIxed feelings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had the green chicken curry which was quite good... pieces of white meat chicken in a flavorful curry. The Masaman curry was fair at best. My friend had the chicken Biryani which consisted of a small chunk of neck meat and a small amount of rice. Very small portions. The chairs have no backs and the place is bare bones at best.
Not one of my best experiences. I wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Cheap eats!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great roti and decent little curries. Place is crowded but for good reason. Food will set you back next to nothing. Service is super quick too, we were in and out I. Under 25 minutes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Allright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not really clean, crowded and cheap. Curries are okay but not great. If you are around, it's worth a drop-by to see if there's a curry you like on the menu, but not worth a long ride.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great food. Sit upstairs in aircon. Worth the wait. Cheap. Almost opposite Phra Athit ferry pier. Will definately come again. Sweet and savoury. Child friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cheap, Delicious and Air-con!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

With so many places to eat in Bangkok (and especially around the KhaoSan area) we are very happy to have tried this place. Especially in the heat it's a great plus to be able to eat cheap local food and not be out on the street. Go upstairs for the aircon.

Firstly, food is delicious. A very nice change from the usual Thai flavour - which we still enjoy but after a while we wanted a change! Definitely, recommend to try the Mataba (savory filled roti) and Biryani (curried rice).

Dishes are on the smaller size so definitely get two dishes per person.

Prices are cheap - around 200 baht for 4 dishes and 2 drinks (food for two people) and we left extremely full!

This place can get very busy sometimes, which is a really good sign. Though service is very fast and you don't have to wait long to get a table.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roti-Mataba also viewed

 

Been to Roti-Mataba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roti-Mataba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.