We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE HOTEL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ecotel Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Ecotel Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ecotel Bangkok
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1091/333-4 New Petchburi Road 35 | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AVERAGE HOTEL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (4 adults) stayed there for 4 days 3 nights recently, the rooms were decent though the bathroom doors could use some cleaning. The housekeeping staff were alright. The front desk some were quite friendly some not so maybe it is the communication barrier? hotel, tourism = have more english speaking staff possibly? They have a western and thai restaurant "Cafe D'Elite" - food service and ambiance there good. The thai restaurant "Tom Yum Thai Restaurant" food and service is acceptable but furnshings looks quite dated. The staff are sometimes shared between the two restaurants. Overall no major complaints about the rooms and restaurant The area "pratunam" has a lot of traffic i.e. human and vehicles though generally acceptably clean but many buildings looks run down and old and in need of some "face-lift". When travelling in asia, as always make sure you check prices whether taxi fare or purchases. There is always bargaining to be done for e.g. the floating market tour can be from 250 Bhat to 1500 Bhat and that is just the floating market tour, the water is dirty, you can get stuck in "boat traffic" . Not a tour recommended for those with litle children as some boats are motor driven and some manually using oars. some boats had cover, some didnt have and it was not pleasant if you are going in the afternoon, with the heat.

Check weather before visiting as the humidity and heat may be not comfortable for some. http://www.1stopbangkok.com/about_bkk/seasons/#monthly-weather

December appears to be the best time to visit when it is the coolest time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    144
    95
    18
    20
See reviews for
58
78
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very good hotel, the rooms were really clean and hughe, the price was just excellent. Only a few blocks away from the skytrain station and ratchaprop street. I tried to stay there a second time but it was fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast was very good and kept you going for long time. All services needed you will find nearby (massages, taxis, street food, laundry....), as well as many shopping malls. For taxi drivers it was sometimes difficult to find the hotel, they know better Bangkok Palace and Ramada so those are better landmarks for them. Great quality for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked a triple room at the Ecotel for New Year's Eve when most other hotels in the area were full or had driven up their prices. The staff was very helpful and the free breakfast was a large spread with plenty of options. The room was very large and the AC worked great. Overall, it was a nice place to catch up on sleep after a long trip from the States.

While the Ecotel is centrally located in Bangkok, cab drivers had a difficult time finding the hotel and we found it easiest to have them take us to the nearby Ramada. Avoid the taxi stand just outside the hotel as they refuse to use the meter and tried to charge us more than double for a trip to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

There are 3 things which are most important to any place I stay at, The Bed, the Bath and the fulfillment of key services promised by the hotel. [In my case, internet connection is usually quite critical since I need to check on my work mails.]
I will often find a compromise for these along with location and price.

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when in Bangkok.

Summary: If you are looking for a budget hotel and willing to overlook lack of internet, you should consider this hotel. It has a decent breakfast for the price, a really attractive location which would save you even more money traveling from the airport. You will get average staff service at best but do remember that this is not some up-market 5 star hotel and I have no complaints about the staff. (The hotel staff outside the reception do their job mostly as if they have got a grudge against you but they do it and that's most important.)

Details to my summary are highlighted below:

Location: The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the train station which is connected directly to the airport. This is a very good advantage if you do not mind a short walk.

Bed: Totally acceptable. Bed was firm, clean and sheets were changed everyday. I am quite happy with them.

Bath: The bath was reasonably clean for the type of hotel but the water for the shower was inconsistent. The water pressure changes even during your shower and this was also reflected in the ever changing temperature of the water.

Key Services: One of the reasons I booked at this hotel was for the free wifi service. For the entire 4 days I was in the hotel, there was no wifi in my room. No cable alternative either. When I asked the staff in the front desk, they gave me no answer except to tell me that the access point was spoilt for my level and that they will try to fix it. I was willing to overlook this and not kick up a fuss seeing that I was on a holiday instead of a work trip but this would be completely unacceptable if I had work to do.

Staff: The only staff who smiled at you were the front desk. You will find that the room service and restaurant staff gave you a look as if you owed them something. To their credit I want to stress that this is only surface level, they will do their job. [Remove your plates, clean your room, bring your water etc.]

Other points: The buffet breakfast was acceptable to above average given the price of the hotel. Hotel is completely non-smoking for rooms which is an advantage for those who do not smoke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very good budget hotel at extremely affordable rates. The staff is also quite courteous. The highlight of the location is the streetfood that one can find in the nearby areas. Gives you a good flavour of life in Bangkok away from all the glitz and glamour.
The rooms are very clean. Of course, one can't expect five star service, but for the rate you pay, it definitely is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burdwan, West Bengal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ecotel is located very near to the Indra square (just opposite to Ramada & Bangkok Palace hotels).

A small hotel but very good for stay with family. The rooms are spacious with neat & well maintained toilets. Please note, Ecotel is A NON-SMOKING property.

The buffet breakfast is one of the best I have ever found in Thailand. Well spread with both continental & Thai varieties.

The reception is helpful. Also please note, you have to give a deposit of 100USD while checking in (even your room rent is prepaid) & the same will be refunded tou you while cheking out.

Overall a good family hotel. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecotel Bangkok

Address: 1091/333-4 New Petchburi Road 35 | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecotel Bangkok 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Ecotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecotel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ecotel Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Ecotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.