We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but hot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Dinso Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Dinso Hostel to your Saves list
Baan Dinso Hostel
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   113 Trok Sin, Dinso Rd. | Borvornnivate, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming but hot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Baan dinso was a great place for our first stop in Thailand! The staff was friendly and welcoming and the rooms were very clean! Our only complaint was that the ac was not working so it was very hot. Otherwise great place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    53
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
100
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markt Schwaben, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

February 2013 I had a plaesureful stay over at Baan Dinso Hostel. I felt always welcome - the staff was very friendly and helpful.The house is very clean breathing colonial and thai styled atmosphere. It is situated in a small and quiet street offside the busy Bann Dinso road but not far form the famous Khaosarn road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment I arrived I felt that this place and staff were welcoming and well looked after. Its a little treasure of Thai house down a side alley near a klong. The whole place has an air of being well looked after, clean and very pretty. My room was lovely - it had everything I needed as it was en-suite, tv, fridge and tea and coffee making facilites. It is close to temples, the Democracy Monument and also Koh San Road is just down the road. Breakfast is included and it was delicious - I had the Thai breakfast. It is well deserved of all its awards and I would stay here again if on a trip to Bangkok. My only regret was that I was there for one night only.

Room Tip: Loved my en-suite room but did look at the communal showers and they were clean I would have been ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the best hostel I've stayed in. The decor is tasteful and facilities are excellent. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast is very good but I had to have coffee as they had run out of tea one day! Also the TV did not work properly, although they did try to fix it. However, this was a minor inconvenience as there was also a DVD player in my room and you can borrow DVDs if you really want to stay in. You do because the rooms are so lovely and it is easy to forget you are in busy Bangkok. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very good location in Bangkok, not far from the water, in a small street without cars. The people at the reception are very kind ,there is a nice choice for breakfast. On the day of our departure,we had the pleasure to have the possibility to take a shower before to go to the airport.Our room was fine, we just said that the curtain could be dark, because they are white and so you wake up too early, and there is missing a little place for clothing.But these are details and can be fixed.We recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This guesthouse is perfectly situated in walking distance to many tourist attractions such as the Grand Palace and the Khaosan Road. On the other hand it provides the intimacy and silence you need in the evening or during siesta when being on tour all day long.
Choosing this hostel you should be aware that not all the rooms are equipped with own toilets/bathrooms. Due to the limited number of rooms there are'nt too many people using the shared toilets and washrooms. In fact we never saw anybody else using it and the cleanliness was perfect. The staff was very kind and polite, the breakfast delicious, although tea could not been offered for 3 days in a row (shouldn't be a big problem to get it in a couple of minutes ...) - what a pity!
But on the whole our stay was pleasant and nice. If we'd come back to Bangkok we'd choose the same hostel again. We can therefore recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Consider that not all the rooms are equipped with own toilets and bathrooms. But as mentioned: the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendoza
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

great location in busy bangkok, 10 min walk to city palace! staff is very nice and helpfull, delicious breakfast (you can choose among 3 options, only one vegetarian)..
the rooms are small but clean and confortable, shared bathrooms modern and clean as well. always A/C on to fight thailand`s summer temperatures and humidity!
all in all, excellent place to stay, i would definitely go again next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Dinso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Dinso Hostel

Address: 113 Trok Sin, Dinso Rd. | Borvornnivate, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Dinso Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baan Dinso: Bangkok's beige beauty! 10-minute walk from Khao San Road, Baan Dinso invites guests with beige walls, original copper fittings and endearingly creaky teakwood floors fill this dainty former nobleman's house, the nine rooms with cable TV, snug beds and floral curtains. Unlike most hostels in the vicinity, the service is sweet, staff use your first name, a hearty American breakfast is served on the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Baan Dinso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Dinso Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Dinso Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.