We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - don't understand the negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Apsorn

Krua Apsorn
Samsen Road (north of National Library), Bangkok, Thailand
+66 2 241 8528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 116 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food - don't understand the negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is very solid Thai food. Miang Ka Na emphasizes all the great flavors of Thai cuisine and is a great way to stoke the appetite accompanied by an ice cold beer. Also had the yellow chili crab, a green vegetable dish and a superb coconut sorbet. Yes, the dining room is dull, and the service seems disinterested (uncleared dishes in a half-empty restaurant), but I believe some of the diffidence came from the language barrier, which is my fault, not theirs. I was definitely NOT made to feel unwelcome - lots of smiles.
We ate at the Sam Sen Road branch, just north of the National Library. We were the only farang there - everyone else seemed to be local.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai neighborhood resataurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect the Oriental or Blue Elephant atmosphere....but if you want authentic thai food enjoyed by Thais...this is a very good place. Packed with locals and take away from all sort of people, and the food is outstanding. Amazing crab with yellow chili and others. Atmosphere is not the strong point, and food comes as it's prepared so it's wonderful but probably not for those who want everything to appear together etc. Lunch is buzzing on the weekend, for good reason.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, basic decor and service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are here a couple of times during a short trip to Bangkok in December. The food is excellent, very local and spicy (be prepared). If you want some good quality, freshly prepared Thai food then this is for you.

Our highlights included the mussels with basil and green peppercorns and the crab in yellow chilli oil. All washed down with some ice cold Singhas.

We'd give this 5 stars if the decor and service was a bit better, but if it is good Thai you're after in Bangkok it is hard to go better than this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Quite a lot of tourists in this very local restaurant it must be in few travel guides.

The ambiance is really not that good and it looks more like a canteen.

Food is really nice but very simple try the green curry and the crab omelet.

Good for lunch after visiting the palace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbados
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I liked this place. They don't have a huge menu, they're not open late, they feed a lot of people, mostly local from what I could see. The miang was tasty and the tom whatever spicy soup with huge prawns and lemon grass was excellent. First time I've ever been served a beer that was on the verge of turning to ice along with a mug with the bottom inch frozen ice. Pour your beer and you get a slushy. Careful or your cup will runneth over. Small water bottles sit on every table. This is a simple, friendly place that you can't help but enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Apsorn also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Krua Apsorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Apsorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.