We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Relite Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relite Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Relite Hotel Taipei
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.21 Section 1, Chung Hwa Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei 108, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #298 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
3.0 of 5 stars 449 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The staff was not friendly, cheerful nor helpful though they gave information when asked. The bathroom tiles were mouldy and cracked. The wallpaper was peeling. The lighting was insufficient. The water was very hot and that was good in Winter. They should have at least a shower curtain and either more racks or hooks for our clothes. The deluxe family room was a misnomer. The 4 of us hardly had space to walk after we opened our luggages. The wardrobe was too dark to be of use.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any good rooms at all since ours is the most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    159
    191
    67
    17
See reviews for
18
17
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

i paid a bomb because it was over the NY and all the rest of the decent hotels were completely snapped up. almost NT$14,000 for 3 nights! Sob sob!! :'( After reading all the reviews here i felt ripped off even before i gave this hotel a chance to impress me.

honestly, tho i paid 3 times the normal price for this hotel, i actually have no major complaints. i wont say i was impressed but i was definitely not disappointed.

first of all, it is well located between 2 MRT stations - Taipei Main Station and Ximending station. We took the Guo Guang bus from the airport which took us there (Taipei West Rail Station) in under an hour. Maybe because we arrived at an unearthly hour of 1am? We didnt walk to the hotel although it was really just a stone's throw away. This was because it was drizzling and we were feeling miserable. it cost about 110NT$. not that expensive, i guess.

When we got to the hotel, it did feel a little rundown and dodgy. But the rooms were clean and spacious. That was a plus. I love spacious hotel rooms. The bed was huge too. Larger than king size beds i am sure. and we had a good view because they placed us on the 12th floor (i think the top floor is on the 13th floor).

the bathroom... like the other reviewers had pointed out... has no shower curtain. and yes, when you shower, you will end up wetting the entire bathroom floor. just leave it to dry over night. and wear the bedroom slippers into the bathroom to avoid getting your feet wet. that worked for us. =)

breakfast was a simple fare of veggies, ham, egg (both hardboiled and scrambled), porridge with pickles and some other stir-fried stuff. there's bread too if you must have your butter and jam in the morning. they serve a small range of tea (tea bags) and soy bean milk. oh yes, they called the dining area the hanging garden and i am seriously not sure why. it looked more like a school canteen. and again, no serious complaints. it was clean, simple and no frills.

they allowed us to leave our luggage overnight at their hotel at no extra cost while we made our way to Sun Moon Lake. we didnt even have to beg. is this normal? i am not sure but it did help end our stay at this hotel on a nice note. =)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is the first time I'm staying in a budget hotel anywhere and will be my last.

The room is small and there's no shower curtain in the bathroom which will end up with a wet bathroom floor after shower. (I simply HATE this!)

The personnels at the frontdesk are friendly and helpful enough but they're seriously shorthanded and there was time I had to be kept waiting as both of them are taking calls.

Its close enough to the Ximen Ding and close to the furthest exit of XiMen Ding MRT station. However, having a hotel just opposite some automobile workshops is not what I can handle.

Breakfast is simple and the spread is not impressive. I ended up taking toast with eggs every morning.

Room Tip: Get a room on high levels. Level 4 is really scary with unwanted or broken furniture strewed about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is OK, if you have not paid too much for it. Its location is great, within walking distance to the Taipei main station (the its underground shopping mall). There is a 24 hr self service laundry within 3 mins walk from the hotel, a post office (where you can post your shopping home, even open on weekends !) within 6 mins of walking. the hotel itself is very outdated, I suspect some rooms are renovated and some are not. Service is average.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

An old hotel, not expensive, but great location. You can catch a shuttle bus from the airport (takes about an hour!) to the Taipei West bus station, and this is located within walking distance of the hotel. Much cheaper than a taxi! Situated in the Ximen district, also close to MRT station. Lots of great places to eat nearby, coin operated laundry close too. Also right in the middle of big electronic stores area. Can walk to Taipei 2-28 Peace Park, National Museum. So if you don't spend much time in your accommodation, but need a clean place, big TV, small breakfast, free bottle of water every day, and amenities to make tea/coffee, and a fridge, and want to head out and explore, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is for hourly guest, terrible smell, only up side is wifi, had to move to other hotel after one night.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

Sheets were not changed. Rooms are old and smells funny. Only saving grace is the location. Can't sleep because I am feeling itchy even after change of sheets.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relite Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relite Hotel Taipei

Address: No.21 Section 1, Chung Hwa Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relite Hotel Taipei 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Relite Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilai Hotel Taipei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relite Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.