We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice for budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dong Wu Hotel to your Saves list
Dong Wu Hotel
No.258 Section 2, Yan-Ping North Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Top choice for budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I was in Taipei for two ngihts and stay at this hotel as I read TA's reviews about it. It is really as all reviews said, with excellent service, clean room and quiet room.
Strong recommend to viewers. If you are looking for a top value for money hotel, with excellent service (Staff's English is pretty good, and extreme helpful), comfy room, this is it!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    153
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
129
93
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I stayed in Dong Wu for 3 nights for business purposes. I have to admit that I was more than impressed since I expected less than it offered.

The hotel offers spacy rooms, comfortable bed and excellent service quality. People are very friendly (as most of the Taiwanese) and really helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

The services provided were superb. We went out to visit the Palace Museum. I dropped my bag at the bus stop on leaving. When I returned to Dong Wu, I reported to the reception. To my surprise, I got it back just before I went to bed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Sometimes when you go to a hotel, and everything works perfectly, you try extra hard to find fault with the hotel, to see if you can at least know they aren't perfect. The problem I had here, was that it's *really* difficult to find fault with the hotel !

It's located across the road from the Cisheng temple, in an area with lots of tourist stuff to see and do in the centre of Tapei. I stayed a few nights at another place in Tapei but because they were full moved to the Dong Wu - I found a real step up in service. Staff all speak good English, and the rooms are very comfortable indeed. Nice comfortable bed, reasonable bathroom, and huge TV - all for a very reasonable price. The comfort level felt like a 4-star, but the price I paid was akin to a 1-star in London.

When it came to food in the evening, reception were almost depserate to be allowed to ring round restaurants to find a place for me on Saturday night. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good and varied - the only fault I could find was that not everything had a label in English. Then again, for most things like scrambled eggs, if you need a label to tell you what it is, then there's something wrong with you !

After checkout, leaving my bag was no problem, and they were happy to explain to the taxi driver where I wanted to go.

I don't often aware the 5 circles to a hotel on here - but in this case, I really can't give them anything else. Definitely a place I'd recommend to others

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This was such a nice hotel - very comfortable, nice room and good furnishings. The breakfast was very traditional and fantastic. It was a mid-sized hotel which meant it has all of the amenities you need, but not too big so you the staff still know your face when you come through the door. I also stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Taipei but really preferred this because it was much more manageable and really it was nice enough. The only downside is that it was not the most accessible of hotels. However, taxis are cheap and it's easy enough if you're traveling via taxi.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Great hotel, no gripe about it. it has a 24 hour convenient store just beside it, and if that is not enough, there is a underground supermarket that runs 24hrs as well (for your last minute Hagen Daaz crave?) just a 5 minute walk down the same aisle as the hotel called Wellcome.

Only drawback is the walking distance to the MRT Station. The hotel is wedge in between 2 stations, and choosing one to walk to over the other makes little difference. However, the 15mins walk to the stations prove to be interesting, with several nooks and crannies displaying curio wares or foodstuff (brings to mind duck tongue :)) I do recommend the walk to Shuang Lian station at night (on fri or sat evening?) because there is a long street where hawker fare food is sold in a sealed off road. great stuff. leave your fancy croissant and squid ink paella behind, and embrace a daring bowl of pig blood soup or stinkie tofu. i dont know if there stretch of road opens on weeknights, but on both fri and sat evening back to my hotel, it was bustling and bursting with people.

in a nutshell, fantastic hotel. nothing fancy, not the least bit tacky. new and clean interior, toilet is big and clean, room and spacious, and aircon is freezing (i like it that way). If you dont mind the walk, its a blast.

Getting there from airport: Take Express Bus (look for Express Bus Waiting Area on the airport signboards to buy your ticket) number 21 from Taoyuan airport, and drop of at the 2nd stop. you have to cross 2 main streets to get to Yan Ping Road, where the hotel is located. Bus ticket costs NT135 per person, and takes 45mins, on a good day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

The Dong Wu is an excellent hotel tucked away in one of the less touristy bits of Taipei. Don't let that put you off though - the surrounding area has plenty of interest and public transport is available either on the doorstep (bus) or a short walk away (subway). Taxis are also plentiful. The hotel itself is very comfortable- beds are excellent - the rooms are clean and well furnished. The staff are uniformly helpful and friendly. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby or night markets if you prefer the local fast food. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend the hotel highly. If you book direct on-line there is a substantial discount over normal prices.

  • Liked — Excellent staff
  • Disliked — I enjoyed everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Address: No.258 Section 2, Yan-Ping North Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dong Wu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.