We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder it received TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice® 2012 Winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dong Wu Hotel to your Saves list
Dong Wu Hotel
No.258 Section 2, Yan-Ping North Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 372 Reviews
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No wonder it received TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice® 2012 Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Did not regret choosing this hotel, the award received by Dong Wu hotel re-emphasized the importance of having TripAdvisor netizens review.

We stayed for 3 nights. Located at downtown (older city), the hotel staff provides exemplary hospitality. Room is small (typical for downtown hotels), however clean and neat. The location is strategic with Dihua Street night market (迪化街 夜市) with its famous fried oyster within 5min of walk. Daqiaotou MRT is also 5min away and Taiwan High Speed Rail (THSR) Station is within 5min city taxi drive. There are 2 24hour Family Mart (aka Taiwan 7-11), one just beside the hotel, and the other within 5min of walk.

The cafe offers free breakfast with many Asian-like varieties, we loved the dishes that help filling us up before our Taipei and Northern Taiwan sightseeing adventure. There are few continental dishes, however did not manage to try it out.

Would definitely come back for the great hotel cleanliness, value and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    142
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
117
91
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It's a small no frills hotel but I had a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and of a decent size. It has only 1 cafe in the basement but there's plenty of food in Taipei and you wouldn't want to just eat in a hotel cafe. I liked the little touches of free coffee and tea in the cafe which also has shelves of reading materials available to hotel guests. The availability of wifi in the rooms and computers in the cafe for surfing was great as it allowed us to make arrangements for our onward journey in Taiwan.
However, the hotel is a distance away from the main areas in Taipei and you'll need to take the subway to the night markets. The subway station is about 15mins away.
There is nothing exciting around the hotel. The good thing is that there is a family mart and a 7-11 right next to the hotel. In the mornings, there is a wet market across the junction from the hotel.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice, clean and well priced, with good breakfast provided. The very courteous staff provided us excellent instructions as well. The location was very useful for us first-time visitors to Taipei since it was a few minutes walk to an MRT station.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a window; although it was overlooking the street with some vehicle noise, we pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during the period of 10 Dec to 14 Dec. I would say that this is a well-priced hotel and it's just a 5 minutes walk to the nearest train station which is Daqiaotou Station. Do not expect to have much things to see surrounding the hotel as this hotel is located at a real neighbourhood with wet market, elementary school nearby. If you walked further up, you can actually find shops selling chinese herbs, dry ingredients and even shark fins.There's also a night market near the MRT Station for your dinner and supper as they opened till around 11pm or even midnight.

The hotel itself has a very filling and good complimentary breakfast for all the guests but you just need to get the meal vouchers every day from the receptionists. Since me and my buddy are chinese ourselves, we do not have much problem communicating with the receptionists. However i had seen englishmen talking to them, in my opinion even though not as fluent but still understandable. I even heard 1 of them speaking Japanese to a Japanese couple at the counter on our way out to sightseeing. Thus a plus point for them.

Room standard is quite up to notch. No complains just that the pillows are not really comfortable thus I do not have a good sleep at night. This is the only minus point for me, if not i might give them a good rating instead of average.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: When checking in, they did have problems with my credit card and thus double swiped it and charged it twice. I only realised this error after i reached home and read my credit card e-statement. I called them immediately and they told me that they will go and check their account and get back to me later. And not 10 minutes passed, they returned the call and they had assured me that they will refund the amount soon. So a piece of advice to all travellers, remember to check your bank account if you encountered problem with your card when checking in.

Room Tip: Stayed in a triple room instead of a double room. Happened to peep into a double room and imo it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was a comfortable and clean hotel. The staffs were nice and the breakfast was satisfactory. It was close to a MTR station with about 5 mins of walking distance. You can take a short ride with the MTR to get to many famous attractions. However, unlike in the city centre, there were not many things to see or eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Dong Wu for two nights and enjoyed it. While it's definitely not a 4- or 5-star luxury kind of hotel (the outside is far from impressive), the room I had was quite spacious and had good wifi connection (unlike the Sunworld Dynasty in Taipei, which charged a lot for just basic internet). The front desk were very friendly and smiley and helpful. Location is also not bad - once the airport express train station opens, it will be in prime location since it's not far from the station. But the best thing is the price - for what you get this is a wonderful deal. Only small negative is that the walls are quite thin - you can hear the traffic from the outside corridor a bit too clearly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel punches well above its weight. Staff are helpful, our business room was spotless and well appointed and the breakfast was fine, with enough European food to satisfy, although it could have been hotter. It is excellent value and deserves all the glowing reports that it gets. Dahui Street, which is one of the oldest streets in Tapei, is 2 short blocks away and well worth walking down to the end. We also walked to the local night market near Carrefour, and that was well worth a visit. The one closest to the MRT station is closed at the moment. We also went to Longshan Night Market, which we found much more interesting than Shilin as it has a wonderful old temple to visit too. If you want to eat-not easy if you can't read Chinese-there's a good sit down stall on the left near the end of the covered arcade which griddles food on a hot plate,which is tasty and excellent value. The couple who run it are very nice and speak English and have an English menu-try it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows so we booked a business room, which has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Address: No.258 Section 2, Yan-Ping North Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dong Wu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.