We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ping Hsi Branch Railway Line

Ping Hsi Branch Railway Line
Ping Hsi, Taipei, Taiwan
886 2 2349 1635
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Pingxi Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway...
Ranked #20 of 306 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pass by farms and small rural villages outside of Taipei on this railway. A relaxing and scenic escape from the bustle of the city.
All Over...
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I used the train on two days and I would have used it more if time permitted. I visited Pingxi, Shifen and Houtong. I loved Pingxi, the people were so kind there. A lovely little area full of ambience. There is a nice yet tiny art gallery/postcard shop with lovely postcards made by the owner. I bought a lot of them, and there is even space right there in the shop to write your postcard, get stamps and send it off right there. Aside from strolling around the streets, I made a giant lantern and set it off into the sky. Shifen was similar to Pingxi, just a little more crowded. I spent more than half a day in Pingxi, that I only had an hour or so to spend in Shiften before sunset. So I just walked along the railway and took some pics and visited the local stores. The next day, I returned for a half a day visit of Houtong, the cat village. I really loved it there with all these cats. You can get delicious bubble tea at all these places. Bring a notebook or so, as you can get free stamps at each of these places. I wish I had more time, I would of visited the Shifen waterfall and Jingdong stop. All in all, some great traditional places, that will have you relaxed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    197
    57
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice railway trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Though the schedules of the trains were not as frequent as urban trains, it should not be a problem if you went there in a relaxed manner and pace. There are two trains running both directions, one with three compartments and one with two. The trains are clean, with lavatory inside. In my opinion, it's better to visit Shifen first, then to Ping Hsi, walking to Chin Tung, and then getting back to Rui Fang. The experience is really amazing. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you have a day to spare in Taiwan, the trip to Ping Hsi is well worth it. Along the way to Ping Hsi, you can hop off the train and visit other sites such as the Cat Village. The trip to Ping Hsi is not complete without flying those lovely laterns. One latern goes for 200TWD I think. We went on a weekend and the trains were packed! So consider going on a weekday if you're not into crowds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come here at flying lantern Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The flying lantern festival is held during lunar new year annually. You can write your wishes on the lantern and fly your wishes to God. When seeing flying lanterns covering night sky, heart will feel touched deeply.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Homely and Peaceful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This Railway lines passes a town, which has some local shops that sells local food. There is also a tradiction where you can write your wish on a lantern, and allows it to "fly" into they sky. Most places will not allow this due to fire hazard.

This town also sells fireworks, so you can experience the opportunity of setting off the fireworks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ping Hsi Branch Railway Line also viewed

 

Been to Ping Hsi Branch Railway Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ping Hsi Branch Railway Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.