We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Good Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chair Man Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chair Man Hotel to your Saves list
Chair Man Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Han Kou Street, Taipei 094, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
3.5 of 5 stars 126 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

These are the pros and cons:
Pros;
a) Location wise - Easier to exit through Ximen Station compared to Taipei Main Station. It is quite a bit of walk. Allow 10 min walk to Ximen Station and 20 min to Taipei Main Station.
b) Staff - Friendly receptionist who are ever ready to advise you on places to visit.
c) Breakfast - It is porridge but it is authentic Taiwan cuisine flavour i must say. Thumbs up.
d) Bed - Bed is slightly firm but i did have a good night sleep.
e) Cleanliness of room - Clean and comfortable.
f) Xi Men Ding - 10 min walk to Xi Men Ding.

Cons:
a) Bathroom - My bathroom has a sweaty smell to it. Later, i discovered it was the shower curtain.
b) Decor - There are definitely room for improvement on hallway and room lighting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    58
    53
    10
    1
See reviews for
19
11
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I think I like this hotel the most for its location. The Chair Man Hotel is pretty close to Taipei Main Station in walking distance. There's a 7-11 at the same row of shop lot to the hotel. Hence, it's pretty convenience for us to get things like water and junks. When we walked from the hotel to Taipei Main Station, there's a lot of food stalls to try! I like the one that got selling Chinese Pork Pie, taste really nice~ Walking from the hotel to Ximending area is also pretty close. This is an advantage for those who love shopping.

The only thing I dislike about is where our room has no window. Our room had been upgraded to two double bed room even though we had booked for triple. Breakfast is included, nice taste but the choice is limited to traditional Chinese meal only. The staffs are friendly and helpful all the time. They helped my unlimited questions with smile~ :D Our room has problem to link to any wifi connection in the hotel. Somehow, the speed of connection steps out from our room is excellent! Thus, we usually open the door and use the net sitting on the stairs! :P

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff was very helpful and very kind. My luggage was missing at the airport and they were constantly calling the airport to get information on my luggage. They were very concerned. I was very much taken back by how overall caring they were and when I was so upset with my lost luggage.

The rooms are very nice and very clean. Wifi worked continuously which is a plus. The complimentary buffet was delicious and there was a very big spread of items to choose from. The location is perfect. It is right around the corner from the Taipei Main Station and The Taipei West Terminal A (the bus which you take back to the airport) both are only a few minute walk from the hotel.

This is an A+++++ rating. Awesome staff, Delicious food, and Great location ! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Chair Man Hotel is located in the heart of Taipei, surrounded by restaurants and near the main subway station. The room was very small--sort of like a Japanese hotel. The single bed had perhaps 2 feet beside it before the desk jutted out...barely enough room for a chair under the desk. The bathroom was small, too; but there was a wonderful shower with lots of water pressure. The bed itself was hard. There was a TV with some English channels including CNN. The breakfasts are Taiwan ones; the only thing I recognized was the egg omlet and bread for toast. But if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, it's a great place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hi! I stayed at Chair Man hotel in Taipei. Small but cosy and clean. The employees there were really friendly and nice. Wi Fi was quick too.. Its so near to Xin Men Ding that you could shop almost everything you wanted there! Close to the Metro Taipei as well.. :-D

Room Tip: I stayed on the fourth floor and its quiet accept there are no windows to look out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Room is quite small but city hotel always be like this. Our room is behind fire exit door?!
We stay here only one night. Hotel's location is not far from Taipei main station. Hotel restaurant is small space. Breakfast is Chinese style ,not various choice but delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is around 10-min walk from Taipei main station and Ximending. Therefore, you have an option to go to either subway station conveniently.

In terms of breakfast, it is all Chinese style with congee, bread and some vegetable. The taste is not bad.

Room quality is satisfactory and I am happy with the service. One minor thing is that when I opened the window for better ventilation at night I could clearly hear the traffic noise downstair. You can choose to close the window but I could still manage to sleep quickly given my long journey in day time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chair Man Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chair Man Hotel

Address: No.88 Han Kou Street, Taipei 094, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chair Man Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Chair Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chair Man
Chair Man Taipei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chair Man Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.