We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location. That's it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of East Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
East Dragon Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Section 2, Hankou Street, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location. That's it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My stay in East Dragon was pretty much bearable. I visited Taiwan with my friends last September and due to late booking we were not able to get rooms in our 1st pick hostels. Our friend, who was a TW native, went on to book East Dragon for us. The rooms were pretty okay, a bit small but clean enough. The beds are not as comfortable though. The front desk was very accommodating and polite. They helped us everytime we had inquiries. They also advised us on what to do in the city. The location is very ideal being that it is within Xi Men Ding. It is very convenient for shopping. The breakfast included in our package was the worst. They had bad food and the service of the waiters were horrible. They seemed snobbish and irritated which made us not consume of breakfast coupons in the hotel despite it being free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    52
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Convenient location with the train station just few steps away. Shopping is made easy as well since it's right across Ximending. Staff are really nice and even assisted in places to visit.

Only down side is rooms are rather worn out. Beds are hard and the pipes are old too. We could hear the sound of the aircon and water running in the pipes when you sleep at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Location is very convenient, just cross over a street to go to Ximending. Counter staff is very polite and courteous, however couldn't speak for the waiters in the cafe which are impatient and sarcastic. The room which we stayed has a double bed and a single bed. Space is tight and carpets are old. By the way, the main door is not operated by a card, you have to use an actual key to open the door and please remember to lock the door behind you when leaving the room.
If those who are sensitive to cigarette smoke, i would not recommend them to stay in this hotel, despite the hotel has non-smoking signs on the floor, there are guests who still smoke in the room, you could smell the stale smoke after coming out from the lift and we have to open the window to air the room.
Would I stay again? Unlikely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Chose this hotel due to convenient location n family room. Stayed in a room for family of 4. The room is very spacious with 2 queen size beds. The interior is rather old and needs to be renovated . Toilet is small and the tiles are slippery.

The location is excellent as Ximenting is just across the street and plenty of eateries.Walking distance to the Taipei Mrt.

Heard about the comments on the hotel breakfast and we decided to give it a miss. There are eateries around the hotel which serves better food.


Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 week, the location was fantastic! Friendly staff, rooms comes with free wi-fi. Cons: Bed mattress are pretty hard! It's pretty worth the money! Rooms consider quite spacious, all basic amenities are available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
691 helpful votes 691 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is located just steps away from Ximenting, a popular eating and shopping belt. The room is spacious which is unlike most hotels in the area. The service staff is excellent and friendly.
Water dispenser machine (for hot & cold) is located at each floor, near the lift, although bottled drinking water is provided daily.
The room ambience is good for quality as beds mattresses are comfy, aircon works well and the bathroom amenities is reasonable and within expectation.
Only grouses are :
1) No safebox provided in the room.
2) Daily is not too tasty (just fried eggs, ham and bun). Orange juice, coffee/tea also provided. And not buffet style. After the 1st day breakfast, we ate at the eateries just across the road.
Would I stay again ? yes...perhaps.

Room Tip: Not much a view from this hotel. No point having a high floor. stay low and benefit from easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

when choosing a hotel in taipei, Price and location is the 2 main factors to consider. Hotels that are very popular usually get booked a few months, its impossible to book unless you can plan much ahead of your trip.

East Dragon Hotel is located just a street across the bustling trip of Ximen. Its good because noise level is low and you can have a good rest. Location to Metro is within 10 min walk.

The rooms are okay, bigger than I expected. ( I stayed in a triple room). Some room may or may not have windows so maybe you can make a request if its important for you.

Price is reasonable, works out to about 50-60SGD per person per night.

Staffs are friendly, nothing to complain.

Will stay here when i am back in Taipei

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Dragon Hotel

Address: No.23 Section 2, Hankou Street, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — East Dragon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your East Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Dragon Taipei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.