We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmos Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Forgettable hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is convenient for a lot of travellers for it is located at the taipei main station. Other than that, please give this hotel a miss there are better hotel a few MRT stations away and are much better than this one. The hotel had a stale smell maybe because It is weathered and our rooms is dimly lit even we on all the lights. Our room is infested with mosquitoes, plenty of it. I am not the only one that faced this problem, in a lift when we met another gentlemen, he told me his room has gotten lots of mosquitoes too. Can you imagine, we hit two mosquitoes in that lift. Facilities in the room are old and breakfast is truly very average. I will give this hotel a miss next time I go taipei.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    370
    84
    8
    3
See reviews for
246
112
75
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival, our taxi filtered into the space near the lobby area of the hotel and the hotel concierges quickly helped us to unload our luggages into the hotel. We are still early but the hotel allowed us to store our luggages and later, at around 5 pm, brought them to our rooms.

The first impression of the brightly-lighted room, with four mirrors enhancing the space, looks good. However, two of the mirrors on the wardrobe faced the bed which to a superstitious guy, isn't very good.

The CEO has welcomed us with a plate of fruits and two pineapple tarts which come from their own bakery outlet just a few steps from the hotel. Then there were the complimentary beverages and four bottles of water. There was a TV and a DVD player. The TV shows many channels including Channel News Asia.

To save the earth, the management has placed small cards at almost all the strategic locations of the room, urging their guest to refrain from using up too much paper and other products. One downside was the missing safe deposit box (usual for 4-star hotels) which we could not find in the room. Another downside of the hotel is bathroom cum toilet area. It was already compact but the hotel included a bath-tub for bathing. Whenever we bath, we have to be careful standing because the bath-tub was rather slippery. Rightly the management put up a small sign to warn the guests of this. And behold, there was an electric bidet, one often seen in Japan and South Korea!

All said the best selling point of the hotel is the location. Situated next to Taipei Main Station with a conglomerate outlets for food, shops and travel. Travelling to all the popular destinations and far-away places like Kaoshiung was no problem. And the food-court in the station were run by well-established cooks and the food was good. Across the road is a popular outlet from Hong Kong - TimHoWan, a place reached by Exit M8. Many people queued up as early as 10.30 am for their lunch. With such a queue, the food should be good?

Another plus point was the concierges who worked hard to make the guests happy and satisfied. They opened doors, pressed the level we wanted and told us the correct directions to the places we wanted to go. With the latest Metro routes on a map, they could tell us how to visit the popular or remote destinations. Should we want to travel by taxi, it came along less than 10 minutes of waiting.

A comment on the breakfast, which has a reasonably wide spread delicious local food. Most items were identified on small cards placed on the table and this helped to save wastage as we took what we wanted. The morning breakfast stops at 10.00 am and guests, who coming for late breakfast had to be reminded of this.

At the 17th floor of the hotel, there was the business lounge with computers (free of charge), conference room, breastfeeding room, massage room (in-call) and chess room. With so many things happening in Taipei, I did not have time to use any of these facilities.

Room Tip: I believe usually they give Level 14 to Singaporeans and Malaysians. If one is superstitious, he ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed for 2 nights in December 2014. Great location next to Taipei Railway Station (exit M3). Perfect for those arriving on High Speed Rail from Airport with only a short walk to exit. Service at the hotel was great in every respect. Rooms were good with all facilities required. If you are expecting a big room this isnt the place but if you like a cosy shoebox this is perfect. Absolutely no complaints - great for a solo traveller.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel was old but decent, but the worst was the room which was so cold even in early December! Can't imagine how its like for people staying here in January. We suspect it must be the windows/ walls having holes/ being too thin. We had two rooms and they were both equally as cold. We didn't bother asking reception if they had portable heaters as we were only staying for one night

Aircon temperature could not be controlled, and there was only an option for low/ medium/ high.

Toilet design had heaters etc modeled after Japanese toilets but design was heavily flawed as there was a huge gap between the toilet seat and the toilet bowl so it was quite disgusting.

Lighting was also rather dim

The best was its good location (walking distance from Taipei Main Station). However due to the horrible room, definitely wouldnt recommend it

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear j0yce90,

Thank you for choosing Cosmos Hotel and your honest feedback.

We are sorry that you could not entirely enjoy your stay in our hotel and would like to tell you that we are always eager to make our guest’s stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We are happy to please all your needs.

This means in your case that our housekeeping could of course have provided appropriate equipment if you would have told us. Feel free to ask us next time instead of waiting.

We would be glad if you would give us a second chance to welcome you at Cosmos Hotel Taipei to show you our outstanding hospitality and service.
Have a great day!

Best Regards,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location,abt 5min walk to Taipei main station and 1 train stop to ximending (shopping belt).

Room is small but is furnished with all necessary paraphernalia.

Breakfast spread is basic but it's seem to cater to Japanese tourist with Japanese cuisines together with continental buffet.

Free wifi inroom at 2-3 Mbps download speed.

The fitness centre is only open at 7am - a tad too late for early riser.

Overall if u want good location with a shoestring budget, this is a reasonable hotel.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Lesliecwm,

Thank you for choosing Cosmos Hotel for your stay!

We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for your advice on the gym. We agree that for early risers this is too late and we will think about adjusting the time.

I also regret to hear that the breakfast was not what you expected. We have been adding diverse style of food in order to meet guest’s needs. Your comment have been reviewed by our management team as a reference for improvement..

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 2N during our 10days trip to Taiwan. Room small but furniture well arrange to fit our luggages. Hotel provide baby cot at no extra charges. My family like the breakfast as it has a lot variety choices. Staff very helpful and friendly. Location excellent, very convenient. Good choice to explore Taipei Main Station shopping centre as all within walking distance.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear TanHH,

Thank you for choosing Cosmos Hotel for your stay. Our success is built on several factors like location, cleanliness, most of all, our GREAT service. I am glad to hear that we met your expectations. That is what exactly we promise to our guest.

We can not wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Taipei.

Best Regards,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed twice at the Cosmos Hotel for a total of 7 nights and were very happy with it. On our first stay our Executive Deluxe room on the 5th floor was a reasonable size, although the very large bed restricted the ease of movement around the room somewhat. The room was well-equipped and very clean and the bed was firm but comfortable. A minor irritation was that almost all the lights could only be switched on and off at a panel on one side of the bed, leaving the person on the other side with no way to turn off the bedside light on that side without getting up. The safe was awkwardly placed in a low cupboard and it was hard to access it without sitting on the floor. The bathroom was good, with a Japanese-style washlet toilet and two showers above the bath (rain and handheld) but the ceiling was quite low and anyone over about 180cm would probably be unable to stand upright under the shower. This may not be a problem for other rooms or floors.
On our second stay we were upgraded to a suite on the 16th floor. This was very spacious, with a plushly decorated sitting area with a bar, off which was a second toilet, a large sleeping area and an attractive and well-equipped bathroom. There was no problem with ceiling height on this floor and the views over the station area were very good.
The buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and we were happy with the range of choice.
A great advantage of the Cosmos is its location. It is easy to get from there to almost anywhere by train or bus and, as noted by others, there is a wide selection of shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.
The hotel staff we dealt with were all exceptionally helpful and friendly and spoke good English, which made our stay easy and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kirkw00d,

First of all we would like to say thank you for choosing Cosmos Hotel for your stay!
Furthermore we appreciate your detailed feedback, these information are always very helpful for us to improve our service and facilities.

Especially your advices on the light system and the bathroom are very useful and we will see how we can improve these issues.

And I also agree with you that the safe is in some rooms placed awkwardly.
You can be sure that we take your advice serious and will consider improvements wherever possible.

But besides this we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at Cosmos Hotel and would be happy to welcome you again on your next trip to Taipei.

Have a great day!

Best Regards,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Address: No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, AsiaRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmos Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.