We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“located in best location in taipei” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmos Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“located in best location in taipei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

hotel is next to M3 of the taipei MRT station. Also, near to the taipei railway station which is great for us as we took an express train from taipei to hualien.


Close to many eateries and shopping.

Rooms are clean with good wi-fi connection. Breakfast had a reasonable spread.

Staff most willing to assist with queries

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Alan W,

Thank you for the great review of the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cosmos Hotel Taipei and thank you for your praise of friendly staff, clean room, great location as well as the bountiful breakfast. That is exactly what we promise to our guest.

All of your compliments are much appreciated and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    412
    89
    8
    4
See reviews for
269
124
88
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. We had a corner room (2 twins) with windows on both sides. It had a huge window in the bathroom. The room is quite nice but it is a little tight. The furniture was a little on the bulky side and eats into the room size. If they removed the small side table and chair, this would help in space. We were on the 16th floor and there is a bad odour in the room. We complained to the hotel and they tried to fix the problem and/or move us. The smell comes and go. After they fixed the problem ... it seemed better but the smell did come back. I think the smell came from the air conditioner.

We had an excellent buffet and the selection is huge. Mostly Asian foods, though fried eggs are available, cereal, fruit etc.

The location is the best. It has easy access to bus, metro, high speed rail from airport, and rail.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear spunkymo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Regarding the room smell, I am sincerely sorry for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Thank you for informing us of this issue so that we can know what aspect we should improve. I will pass along your comments to our management team and engineers to see if there are ways to correct it. We truly believe that all feedback is a gift, both positive and negative as it provides us an opportunity to attend to areas that need our attention.

Thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in triple sharing room. Love the hotel location within reach by mrt and railway in Taipei or from other cities. Room is clean and just nice for 3 of us. Breakfast is good. Checkin and out is smooth. Would stay here if I am visiting Taipei again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear JoleneKhoo,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review on tripadvisor. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of your room and the breakfast that we offer. I have passed your review on to our staff. They will all appreciate reading your comments. Our goal for all our guest is to make their stay as enjoyable as possible and I am happy that we met your expectations.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights with our two kids aged 6 months and 2.5years. We had a room on the 9th floor with a lovely view of the Taipei Central station building. The room was on the small side but we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time there. It was big enough to accommodate two cots though. The staff couldn't have been nicer. They were so helpful and lovely with our kids. They went out of their way every day to ask if they could help us. The buffet breakfast was lovely, mostly Chinese food but there was also the usual western food, eggs, waffles etc. The best thing about the hotel is the location. Right under Taipei Central station. If it rains you won't get wet getting in and out of the hotel as it is all connected underground. It made it very easy to explore Taipei with a stroller.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Zazi_11,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Cosmos Hotel Taipei. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helps us to continue maintaining our efforts to offer you an exceptional stay.

I am glad that you were impressed with the room and nice staff and bountiful breakfast as well as great location. As for the breakfast, we will continue to add new diverse style of food in order to satisfy customer’s needs

I will certainly share your review with all the staff and we would all be delighted to see you back with us soon.
Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked a triple single room with breakfast. Cushy and firm comfortable bed. Working quiet aircon. Cable TV with plenty of channels based on English and Mandarin languages. Super location within 2 min to main train station and within 5 min reach of main malls and food courts. Locates along main road. Safe for individual travellers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear FamilyTraveller2N3,

Thank you for your 5 star wonderful review. We never get tired of hearing that our guests enjoy their stay. That is exactly our promise to the guests, from service to amenities and product. It is our pleasure to ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable.

Once again, thank you for your 5 star review and can not wait to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Spent two nights with a room on the sixth floor overlooking the very busy street. Surprised at ow quiet the room was. Many in room amenities. Nice shower. At 6'6", it was almost the right height but was close enough.
Bottled water in room.
Very good breakfast buffet.
Location by the main train station is a major plus. Walk out of M3 exit and there's the Cosmos.
Electrical outlets set up so some can accommodate the three pronged plug.

Room Tip: Buffet is on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Calvin L,

Thank you for posting your review and mentioning that our room and location as well as breakfast made your stay memorable and comfortable. Our team strive for a great service for each guest. I am glad to know that we have met your expectations. We will continue to add new diverse style of food in order to satisfy the needs of customers.

We can not wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My family stayed 4 nights here in our first visit to Taiwan over Easter school holidays.

At first, we were given a room (Room 501, I think this is Room 1 as the guest room start on 5th Floor), there was no view as it faced lightwell, the room smelt stale and damp, the toilet had a constant mechanical noise every so often you can set your watch by.

After complaining, we were moved to the 12th floor to a room without the above defects.

We had to fuss and waste our time getting breakfast confirmed. We had booked with breakfast, we had paid for it as far as we were concerned. There was some misunderstanding or admin mix-up, we were told with public holiday that we had to wait till the hotel can get through to the agents to sort out.

What sort of hotel does that? If someone has made a mistake and we were not charged for it, of course we will pay it. But we the customer is not at fault, we merely book with breakfast and expect to get it; not have to sit around waiting for someone to get their act together before getting approval and authorisation to go down for breakfast! They were more concerned that they were paid than their guests' service.

We were given vouchers for free crepe and ice cream (surprisingly 3 vouchers for 4 guests, so Daddy does not qualify for desserts?) but when presenting it at the hotel ice cream parlour; we were told we can only select ice cream. If they cannot afford to give away complimentary crepe and ice cream, just print a voucher for ice cream!

Well, I had initially click average for my rating trying to be kind and generous as is my nature. But I have just downgraded it to poor, no, terrible. I am sure they are there to run a business, but certainly not to the degree that myself as guest have to waste my time to move room from a delapidated one to one which is ok, etc. We are on holiday, not get heap with stress.

Fortunately, you may not have the same experience if you read this and go elsewhere or they read this and get their act together.

Room Tip: Room 1208, not Room 501
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear yee sang c,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for your stay at Cosmos Hotel Taipei was below your expectations.

At the first day, you informed our GRO team about the room status, the next move is our House Keeping and Engineer department are engaged to the room maintenance. We would like to make apologize for the communication between hotel and travel agent takes time and our staff did not meet your satisfaction before we get to the result. This issue was happened sometimes but what you show on the comments seems our staff need more efforts on this issue and this already drown to our management team’s attention. We are now focus on taking measures to prevent such misconnection situation from occurring again.

The crepe machine happened to be under maintenance while you were our guest. I am sincerely sorry that we should have informed you this in advance when you checked in and you could response this issue to our GRO right away, I believe the GRO could take action to make you satisfied. I am happy to tell you that the crepe machine had completed maintenance and restored selling. Thank you for letting us know about this so that we have chance to retrain our staff to prevent it from happening again in the future.

Once again, we appreciate your comment as we always look for every guest's opinion to us. We hope that you will return and give us the opportunity to show you the experience that every guest had. Please know that we value your feedback and we will work hard to earn your trust once again and don’t hesitate to reach out to me at gro.cosmos@cosmos-hotel.com.tw before your next trip to Cosmos Hotel Taipei so that we can offer you an impressive accommodation.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Captain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Address: No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmos Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.