We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
Westgate Hotel
No.150, Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan (Wanhua District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 252 Reviews
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stay for four nights in this hotel, location is excellent with Ximending just around the corner. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful, special mention goes to Julie, Grace and Eric who were very helpful and did their best to meet our requests.
However, the walk-in bathroom may not be everyone's cup of tea, kind of lacking in privacy. Overall, the room was clean and nice but try to get rooms with windows facing the city as it can be dark when windows are facing the wall of the next building. The room rate is average though the hotel is above average, will stay there again. A big thank you to all the staffs for making our stay a pleasant one,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Letmepost:

Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will share your positive comments with our front desk staff.

Thank you again and please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    126
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
65
50
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in March 2014. The hotel is relatively new, just a year old I think with great location in the heart of Ximending, the popular shopping district in Taipei. We stayed in the Deluxe room which is not really big, without any place to put our luggage and there is no actual cabinet but only hangers to hang our clothes which is exposed.
The room is very clean. modern and well maintained. I hope they will keep up the good work. The hotel staffs is also very friendly and very kind to show us where to go for food and shop.
The breakfast is quite good although the restaurant may be abit small as we have to wait for available table almost every day.
Overall the hotel is quite good and best for those who like to shop and do their travel via the subway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Tkc24:

Thank you for choosing WESTGATE Hotel! We hope you and your family had a wonderful time in Taipei and enjoyed your accommodations with us. We are delighted to hear your positive comments towards our service team, and will share them with our staff.

Thank you again and hope to be of service to you on your next trip back to Taipei!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just came back from Taipei on 24 Mar. This is our first trip to Taiwan and we stayed at Westgate Hotel in Ximending area during our 7 days there. The Hotel location is very good, just minutes away from the MRT and Ximending shopping is just round the corner. We can even go down to buy supper when we are hungry at night! The Hotel staff is very friendly and well trained. Special mention goes to Duncan from concierge team who gave us very good tips on all the good eating places around and even put it all on the hotel map for us, he also made effort to highlight the best places to visit in Taiwan and how to get there as we were on a free and easy trip. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear DoreenTKK:

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our service team will be truly happy to hear of your positive comments! We hope you had a wonderful time in Taipei and please come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Unbeatable location, just 1-2 minute distance to the Ximending station!
I would not say it's the best hotel in Taipei, but it's a good one, worth a try.
Instead of a luxury one, it is only a small boutique hotel, if you like to shop around, it would be a great choice, otherwise, this may not suit you.
The fitness centre is a joke, only 2 machines there, if you need some workout in the morning, better go on the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Ming Tung L.:

Thank you for sharing your review. We hope you and your family had a great time in Taipei and thank you for choosing WESTGATE Hotel as your home away from home on this trip. We are currently considering several additions to our fitness center to accommodate our guest needs. In addition, our service team is available to provide scenic jogging routes in Ximending and nearby districts.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again when your travels brings you back to Taipei!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had an overnight layover in Taipei, so I booked a room at the Westgate Hotel. We had some trouble finding a taxi driver who would take us there, so first-time visitors unfamiliar with the area may want to have more than the screenshot of the area that I had. Although I had used a third-party service for my reservation, upon arrival, I was delighted to find we had been upgraded to an executive suite. The receptionist was efficient and businesslike, and seemed friendlier after I asked for a map and then for restaurant recommendations. The person who brought up our suitcases basically just opened the doors, dropped off our luggage, and left, with no explanation of the room, so we found some of the amenities after some hunting. The suite was compact at 37 square meters, but comfortable, and clean. The sitting room, open to the bedroom, had a loveseat, armchair, coffee table, and lamp. There was a plate of packaged Taiwanese cakes, which was a nice touch. The foyer was also the sink and luggage storage area. The washlet toilet and shower were separate and hidden by frosted glass doors. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. There was one small window in the sitting room, which opened to an alley, but the lack of a window in the bedroom did not detract from the room at all. Like the rest of the hotel, everything looked modern and stylish, and there were whimsical touches that kept the decor from being sterile.

The hotel is just steps away from a subway station. There are also many small shops and restaurants in the area. We saw at least three or four convenience stores within a 10-minute walk.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and thought the selection was good, even though we arrived towards the end of the allotted time. Checkout at 12 was quick, and the hotel let us keep our baggage until we needed to leave for the airport at 2:00. The bellman, Duncan, was personable and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Pagesixtyone:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, and found our accommodations to your likings. We realize that not all taxi drivers know of our location, so we recommend our guests to carry our address (in Chinese) when visiting the first time. Our front desk staffs are available 24 hours a day to provide assistance to our guests. Speaking of which, we are certain that Duncan will be happy to hear of your positive comments!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again when your travels brings you back to Taipei!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was my first stay at the Westgate; the location is right near shopping and restaurants - very convenient! Rooms are small but modern, comfortable and spotless. Decent breakfast buffet. The hotel has a "hip, modern" vibe. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Mike_JB:

Thank you for posting your review and choosing WESTGATE Hotel for your travel needs in Taipei. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable and safe environment to our guests, and we are delighted to hear that our guests are enjoying their stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel again for 3 nights for a short leisure trip recently.
Sent email to hotel a week before arrival asking for a double bed. Hotel replied the request was noted. On the day of arrival, was given a twin bed. I told the receptionist about the request made, she claimed my travel agency didnt make such a request. The point is: the room is booked under my name, please dont make an excuse. Turned up the receptionist suggested to change us a double bed mattress the next day since the housekeeper staff was off at 4pm and nobody could help us change the double bed mattress.
Breakfast. I couldnt see any improvement in waiting. Still needed to wait. Food was lacking of variety.
9 out of 10 times I had to open the heavy door at the entrance on my own while I saw staff chit-chatting among themselves.
On the day of checkout, at 12.10pm. Got called by staff at the lobby reminding us to checkout since the checkout time was 12.00nm. I kindly told her i had a bad was in the washroom and needed 15mins more. She reminded me again checkout time was 12.00nm. And told me to be quick. After 3mins, the same staff called again, asking if i needed a cab to the airport and telling me checkout time had reached. At the moment, i was quite pissed. Didnt you hear me i said i was in the washroom 3mins ago and i promised to checkout in 15mins. I cant see any hotel management practice in here. Please dont call yourself a hotel if you cannot offer hotel hospitality to your guest. Call yourself an INN.
With the amount of money, you could stay in a decent and standard hotel in taipei.
If you stay here simply for the location, there are still many options nearby.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Jay J.:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to provide a high level of service to our guests. Thus, we are disappointed to hear of your less than satisfactory experience during your stay. If possible, please email to us (exec.office@westgatehotel.com.tw) the dates of your stay and room number to help our departmental managers better review this situation.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us and this will help us improve in all areas for our future guests.

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Hotel

Address: No.150, Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.