We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is brand new!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
Westgate Hotel
No.150, Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan (Wanhua District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 250 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel is brand new!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel itself is brand new, it was only opened in early 2013. The design of this place is like a designer/boutique hotel. Staff at lobby is friendly in giving any directions, and can converse well in english. The 4person room that we had is very clean and they even have 2 sinks and a separate bath and toilet so that more people can use it at a same time. The breakfast is geared towards an asian crowd. It's location is fantastic as it is just outside exit6 of Ximending station. Nothing to whine about at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Xiuyi89:

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Premier Dual Queen Room. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    124
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
65
50
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The room is clean, bed and pillows soft. Breakfast was ok,
Location is perfect! Very close to ximen station, bank, restaurants and shops along ximending. Carrefour is 10min away.
Staff are very helpful and courteous. We made our reservations thru email and Echo Lin responded to all our queries quickly and efficiently. Going back in January 2014! :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Rja34:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The comfort of our guests are our top priority and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to your next trip to Taipei!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved how convenient it was. It was right next to the MRT station right in the middle of ximen, cant get anymore convenient than that. Booked a regular room, and got upgraded to an executive suite! The staff was really helpful when I had some questions about the night markets. The hotel is quite new, and the design was nice. Rooms weren't particularly large, but for ximen stardards it was really quite good. Breakfast was decent, but it felt like a battlefield, there were too many people, but since it was included in my booking, I cant complain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear ryuasuaki:

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Taipei WESTGATE Hotel. We love that our location provides our guests greater mobility within Ximending as well as the entire Taipei City. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is the first time we stayed in a hotel in Ximending area. It is recommended to me by the travel agent. We stayed in a city view room which is reasonably sized, not like those small boutique hotels in the same area. Since it was built in 2012, the room is very new and clean, very comfortable. However, the cafe is a bit small and we had to wait for 10 minutes for a table for breakfast. Besides, the choices of food were not good enough which made me a bit disappointed.

Other than this, I will definitely recommend Westgate to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear RitaMay3388:

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. In regards to your comments on our breakfast buffet, our culinary team is continuously making adjustments to our breakfast selection to satisfy our guests needs. We look forward to your next visit and do hope to provide you with a better and improved breakfast experience.

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel ! Great location, great facility, good breakfast served, staff friendly and helpful. Suitable for both business, leisure travellers and family too. We all love the hotel ! The kids were placed in the 4 bedder room whilst the adults stayed in the standard room. The set up is very moden and furnishing elegant and comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mayyap123:

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your room accommodations. Our top priorities are to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location with very comfortable beds. I enjoyed my stay there, and feel truly rested. ALtho the price of the rooms are considerd alittle on the high side based on my budget, still decided to give it a try as it is a new hotel. Love the decor of the hotel checkin area and the lift lobby of the individual levels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ida P:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you decided to give us a try and even better is knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and visit us on your next trip to Taipei!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel with my family for 5 nights. Booked the premium dual queen room and asked for a baby cot for my little one. The room was clean and spacious enough for four adults and a little one - and our luggage. I'd like to commend the excellent service - the staff were quick to offer assistance and were friendly (the staff at the reception desk, manning the door, and the cleaning girl on our floor - 10th floor). The hotel staff somehow knew it was my birthday and surprised me with a card and a souvenir. On hindsight, I should have asked for a free stay or discount... hahaha. I've stayed in many hotels and I felt that the staff of this hotel really made a difference. However, do note that we communicated solely in Mandarin. Overall, we had a wonderful experience.

Convenient location with lots of shops and eating places nearby. I would recommend the adventurous to skip the breakfast at the hotel and go explore the numerous options nearby - Fong Da near the Red House has great coffee and breakfast, take a cab to nearby Yong He for the soya milk, take a cab to Ding Tai Fung at Xinyi for the xiao long bao, etc (we usually head out at 9 am).

We didn't experience any mosquito problem but we generally didn't hang around the lobby and dining area much. The wifi signal was a little sporadic towards Day 3-5 of our stay, but we managed to get a signal if we stood near the entrance of the room.

Will definitely book the hotel again should we visit Taipei again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTGATE永安棧, Executive Office 執行辦公室 at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Lixun:

Thank you so much for your review. It is so great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to meet our guests' needs and are glad that we were able to accommodate you as well as provide a bit of surprise to your experience. In regards to the WIFI signal issue, our information system team is currently working on enhancing the signal strengths in our rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Taipei!

Sincerely Yours,
WESTGATE Hotel 永安棧
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Hotel

Address: No.150, Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.