We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience. Bigger Rooms May Be Better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites to your Saves list
Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   No.140, Sec. 1, Jianguo N. Road, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 55 Reviews
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bad Experience. Bigger Rooms May Be Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a small room for single traveler. Tiny. No closet for storage. Bathroom smelled terrible upon arrival. Before checking in, one of the staff informed me not to place used toilet paper in the toilet but in the waste basket instead because of smells. Sure enough. Since rooms was small, had to open up all windows, meaning lots of noise. Service overall was attentive but in a kind of an unctuous way. Upon breakfast staff wouldn't let me sit at the table I wanted near the window. Overall just not a great feel to it--dreary inside.

I'm guessing that bigger rooms are probably pretty nice, so it should be noted that maybe they're better. But I'd advise strongly against this one. First outright bad review I've written of a place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
12
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Really surprised.

Hotels in Taipei seem to sell out really quickly, so booking this hotel wasn't our first choice, but I'm still glad we did. I didn't know beforehand, but this hotel mostly caters to Japanese tourists, and most of the staffs are Japanese, too.

Stayed on the 11th floor in a corner suite, which (in my opinion) is the best room in the building. The room rates include breakfast, which is a pretty good value.

Pros:

- Design is really good, clean, and simple.
- Rooms are faultlessly clean.
- Breakfast is OK, but a little limited to Asian choices. Fruits and coffee were good, and the croissants were so goooood. Breakfast room is also pretty nice.
- Free, fast WiFi everywhere.

Cons:

- Check-in is brutally late. 3pm was the earliest we could get, but check-out is also pretty late, too. Coming off of an overnight flight, this was a bit concerning.
- No luggage racks in the room. Had to settle for putting my case on the sofa or floor, which isn't very nice.

A little harder to find than bigger name hotels, but boutiques tend to be like that. Save a map to your phone and the taxi driver should have no problems finding it.

A good choice for a trip to TPE!

Room Tip: Higher is likely better. Couldn't hear that much noise from the elevated road from the
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I found this to be a very comfortable place to stay, modern and comfortable beds, nice overhead showers and well located. The breakfast buffet was good local food, and there is a great bar that had live rock music a few places down. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After getting to the place after a trans-Pacific red-eye flight, I was checked into a room facing the elevated road with single pane windows (instead of double-pane windows). This absolutely did not help with the sleeping so I asked the staff to move me to another room. The hotel is full, so I had to wait till the next day when they asked me to vacate the room and check the luggage at the front desk in the morning (instead of offering to move the luggage from the room for me).

The new room smells like a hundred dead cigarettes and I had to wait in the lobby for a few hours when the staff fiddled with their “ozone detox” machine. It actually went well for one night but a considerable amount of smoke was trapped within a flap on a remote controller, and I had another coughing fit in the washroom.

It went okay for another night before all the switches stopped working; none of the lights would turn on or off. The staff came in again, long past midnight, trying to fix the electical system. I spent another few hours in the lobby. Everything was power cycled, and this had happened before, they said.

It went okay again for another night, then somebody checked into the adjacent room. They’re actually noisy, and I had to make three separate calls to the front desk, again, long past midnight, to actually shut them up. The staff is really too timid to confront anybody and prefers to leave the problem among the guests. I’ll not stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel. Please, just don’t book this hotel. If you’re really desperate, bring a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is small in terms of number of room available. However, the room is very new and nicely decorated though not many facilities are available. If you simply look for a reasonably priced, high quality room (the deal I got is great) with convenient location. Here is your choice. By the way, many Japanese tourists live here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Like was said previously, the location is not very good for eats and the MRT. The room was stuffy and closed in. The glazed window opened up to the back alley that smelled like garbage. I would have rather had a room that faced the elevated highway.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is okay, and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. On the first morning I was there, I found the breakfast buffet quite limited, no sweets or croissants (my favorite breakfast!), no yogurt, and the only choice for fresh fruit was watermelon. But the staff immediately came to my rescue, and the cook offered to make a french toast (delicious!) and even prepared a chocolate pudding with strawberries, just for me! The second morning, he repeated the magic, which I found very kind.
The only really negative thing of this hotel is the sound-proofing, both outwards (the hotel faces an extremely busy elevated road, highway-style, and the windows don't have double glazing) and inwards (l could hear the guests in the other rooms, especially the children in the room across the hallway, and people walking in the room above mine. Very annoying).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms NOT facing the Jianguo Elevated Road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites

Address: No.140, Sec. 1, Jianguo N. Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green World Hotel Jian Pei Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.