We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartwarming boutique hotel w/the sweetest staff and best breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Singer B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Singer B&B to your Saves list
Solo Singer B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No.7, Lane 21 Wenquan Road, Beitou District, Taipei 112, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 99 Taipei B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars 84 Reviews
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Heartwarming boutique hotel w/the sweetest staff and best breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

WOW. This place is very special. We booked last minute and stayed in the top floor room which had a tatami bed and along with a nice little writing desk. When we arrived, we were offered afternoon tea, which consisted of locally sourced bread made from one of the staff's brother and some local loose leaf tea. The very kind ladies also directed us on where to go for hot springs and recommended many different ideas.
After a nice night out and visiting some springs, we came back and had one of the best sleeps during our trip to Taiwan. The place was quiet and when we walked out to the outdoor terrace, you'd find lots of other nice travellers enjoying a book outside with some tea or a beer. It had a homey and friendly atmosphere. That morning, we were offered a delicious breakfast with food sourced from other local shops, which would change daily. We were very impressed with their idea to help other local shops and expand our tastebuds to places were normally wouldn't be able to experience. The sweet ladies ordered us a taxi to the hotel and we couldn't stop thanking them for their generosity. This sweet B&B has something that most places lack - heartwarming hospitality. Many places are in it for the money, this place just wanted to share the love and help us experience what Beitou has to offer. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
12
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Solo Singer B&B for two nights for part of our honeymoon trip. The hosts kindly upgraded us to the top floor room which is next to the sun reading room which made our experience so enjoyable. We spent a lot of time in the sunroom reading and relaxing.
The host left a handwritten note on our desk which is such a lovely touch!

The place is nicely decorated to bring you back in time to the 50s. We felt so chill and relaxed while we were there. The breakfast at next door was directly sourced from local hearty eateries, it was such a nice start of the day to sip the tea and enjoy the conversation with the hosts.

Get the only top floor triple room, it is spacious and next to the public sunroom which makes it like an extension of our room. We felt we had the whole floor to ourselves.

Room Tip: Get the only top floor triple room, it is spacious and next to the public sunroom which makes it lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took my mother to the Solo Singer for her trip to Taiwan, and it was a very pleasant taste of an authentic and hospitable Taiwan that can be hard to come by. The staff was courteous and the room was comfortable. The hotel's layout has been unchanged, produces some cozy nooks and corners, while the furniture all have a unique story behind them. Don't be afraid to ask the staff about the place, they are very friendly and approachable. The location is within walking distance to all of the Beitou sights and MRT. If you are looking to get off the beaten path, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Locations great for hot spring, local market, MRT.
Atmosphere is relaxing, welcoming, friendly and casual
Design is retro, authentic Old Taiwanese with a nice twist and combination of modern/ European.
Service is superb
Room is cute yet small.

So happy to see the new design power of Taiwan and the appreciation of Taiwanese heritage/ antiques.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Chanced upon this lovely place on tripadvisor and wondered what all the fuss was about a small little out of place hotel without TV. Decided to give it a try and ended up not wanting to leave. For modern city dwellers, it's like a step back in time to another era. You feel like coming back to a friend's home. A place where you follow your own pace and do whatever you desire. Located in a quiet alleyway of the bustling Beitou city, one gets the best of both worlds and its only 10 minutes away from beitou metro station where you can get to Taipei city in 30 minutes. Staff are more like your friends and service is great. Even breakfast is an experience in itself set in a quaint little cafe opposite the hotel. The whole place is filled with vintage stuff, lots of little knick knacks and surprises awaits your discovery at every nook and cranny if you care to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Located in a hidden alley of Beitou, the hot spring area of Taipei, Solo Singer is an unexpected little gem. As we arrived in the evening, it’s welcoming soft yellow lights shone warmly beaconing us. The hotel has about 50 years of history, inside the décor is a mixture of vintage furniture (the most memorable being a beautiful large mirror and green sofas) taking you back to the Golden age of Beitou as a major entertainment district of Taipei mixed with contemporary trendiness, you can spend a while just at the cozy foyer checking out the interesting products on display, like cds by local musicians or art works of emerging artists.
Solo Singer also organizes interesting cultural events like art shows or talks. There’s also a roof terrace where you can leisurely lounge and a small reading room/library equipped with interesting books. The inn is an intimate one with about 8 rooms, the room we stayed in was extremely comfortable with high quality bed and mattress and featured original art work. The bathroom is beautiful with old tiles. There’s a kitchen and the breakfast prepared for us was delicious with lots of fruit from the South of Taiwan.
Staff and manager are super friendly and talking to them feels like talking to old friends.
Beitou district is great and there is lots of information on what to do there at the inn, hot springs are everywhere and you can also hike to Yangmingshan, there are so many excellent restaurants too near Solo Singer. Highly recommended! I hear Solo Singer will soon open a tea-house, we visited the tea-house space which is wonderful and can’t wait to spend some time there on our next visit to Taiwan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A friend of mine recommended Solo Singer Inn to me. And I have to say, that was the best recommendation I got in a long time! The Solo Singer Inn is a little bit hidden in Beitou, the hot spring district of Taipei. It's a five minute walk to the subway station which is very convenient to get anywhere in the city. The hotel itself is an old Inn, carefully renovated, with a lots of charm, in a quiet neighborhood. Each room was designed by a different designer or artist and thus, has a lot of personality. The reuse of some old furniture and old material let you feel the history of the place. The staff is fantastic too. They make you feel like you are an old friend, they answer all your questions and are very helpful with any kind of request you might have. The breakfast is served in a adjacent building just beside the Solo Singer Inn. Each day there is some different kind of breakfast, this could be noodle soup, porridge or sandwich, all sourced from carefully selected, nearby restaurants, and made from locally produced ingredients. On top of that there is always tea, coffee, toast and lots of fruits. The staff usually introduces the different guest to each other and in no time I made new friends from all over the world. The same room is sometimes also used for art exhibitions, film screenings or other social/creative events.
I highly recommend staying at Solo Singer Inn because it's so much more than just a place to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Singer B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Singer B&B

Address: No.7, Lane 21 Wenquan Road, Beitou District, Taipei 112, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solo Singer B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solo Singer B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Singer B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.