We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food but with poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine

Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine
38-6 Tain Mu E.rd, Taipei 111, Taiwan
+886 2 2871 4842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 8,935 restaurants in Taipei
Price range: $22 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
taiwan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food but with poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Only under reservation we got there and with the reservation taker lady who was not so nice, as Saffron was the only one restaurant in the city. But the merit goes to the chef because every dish is prepared perfectly. The curry of chicken, the mouton rice and the nam are really yummy and delicious and portion is ok for 2 to share many dishes. We waited for a while for the food but once the first came all the others came on time. Service really poor where the waiters do not look at the clients and you have to be patient to get their service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    56
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is better then some of the best restaurants in India and that too in Taipei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

On our recent trip to Taipei we were most pelsanatly surprised by this restaurant. Normally Indian one gets stuck for food in the far east. But this time we struck the gold mine. After two days of eating the local food we were dying for some indian food and we chanced upon this hotel on the basis of a recommendation. And boy, did we have a blast. We have not had such good Indian food even in India. Absolutely amazing, from the starters right down to the desserts. Authentic and tasty. What surprised us even more was the staff which was local but knew and could also pronounce and explain each and every dish. And their liquor and wine selection was top notch too. obviously a work of passion, which is refelcted in each and every minute attention to detail. Would recommedn this to every one -- local or India visiting Taipei.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best place to introduce Indian food ! Fantastic Authentic Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Every time I visit Taiwan I try to make sure I visit this restaurant with my colleagues. This is the best place to introduce good Indian Food. The food is authentic & very tasty. The pakoras, onion bhajis, mango lassi, the main course are just wonderful & the prices are reasonable.

Keep up the good work guys !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Taipei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is by far, not only the best restaurant in Taipei, but possibly one of the best Indian cuisine restaurants outside of India and London. The masalas, the vindaloos and the daals are just out of this world. Make sure you leave some nan at the end to wipe that plate clean because you will love it! We have gone to Saffron countless times since its inauguration, and the quality of the food is always just really the best. And service? No where can you find such friendlier yet professional service in Taipei. The decor, ambiance and general atmoshphere makes the Saffron experience a truly unforgettable one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING INDIAN PEARL RESTAURANT DISTINGUISHED BY PURE QUALITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Incomparable high-level Indian dish-quality and attentive-to-detail service combination make SAFFRON the most obvious choice amongst original Indian taste in Taiwan!! Simplicity and elegant presentation put the best emphasis on SAFFRON exquisite food by creating mouth-watering reminiscence of a variety of curries, naans, tandoori, salads and never-to-miss desserts out of Indian chef handcrafting skills which make you feel engrossed in such an Indian realism you are unable to resist the temptation to stay away a few days before you miss it. Whether romanticism or business lead you here, staff professionalism and environment would guarantee a complete success....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Fine Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.