We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still have room to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building to your Saves list
Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.94 Emei Street, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan (Wanhua District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Still have room to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Location ok
Receptionist nice
Room small, triple room not big enough for three adults to move around
Overall clean but smell from cabinet and fridge and also a little bit from carpet
Water taste strange even after boiled
Mattress ok but pillow not supportive
Breakfast poor, limited food choice and taste not good
Not alert to refill the food and the breakfast schedule of tourist
Wifi in room ok but not available in basement canteen
Cup in room was not clean properly after used
Ants were found in the room on the third night
Blanket/blanket cover was found to have smell on the third night

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
11
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A New Cosy Hotel with Free Wifi facilities. Just a short walk from the busy Ximending.
Hotel breakfast is simple & sufficient.
A hotel I will use again for the next visit.
Take note the street stall on cart is not permanent, make sure you grab your food before payment. They run when the patrol comes. Nevertheless the foos is delicious.

Room Tip: Take down to the shopping area for supper for even dinner. Lots of Shopping & food choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Ximen Citizen used to be an old apartment, and they bought over the building and rebuild it into a hotel. The exterior looks new and modern, compared to the other "established hotels" located in the Ximending Area. Upon entering, the reception will always greet the guests and a smile without fail. The lobby is small, with a small toilet and 2 computers that guests can use. The lift is also very small, but what can you expect from such a small hotel? My room was located on the 3rd floor. Once you step out of the lift, you will be taken away by the design as it was really very modern, chic and beautiful! Sadly, this hotel does not have room cards, instead they uses a key, which is troublesome at times. My room was very nice and warm. It was enjoyable staying in my room. The mattress / pillow / comforter was soft and thick. The toilet was clean. If I have to pin-point something bad about this hotel, I would say Cleanliness is their weakness. When I arrived, I had 3 hairs on the bed, a few on the toilet floor, which made me feel uncomfortable. When you step out of the hotel, there is a 7-11 minimart opposite and a Family Mart beside the hotel. It's takes less than 5 mins to walk to Ximending which was very convenient.

Why should you stay here??
- Location; Newly Renovated; Excellent Service from the Staff; Warm and welcoming

Reasons you should consider not staying here
- Not any I can think of!

Hope that my review helps you to make a good decision! :)

Room Tip: Request for High floor and road facing windows, as my view was of the back alley which wasn't ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Thiss hotel just renovated. The exterior might look cheap but the interior is so different. Its sooo nice and their service is the best out of the 7 hotels i went in taiwan. Although the room is small, its so comfy. Its just a 3 minutes walk away from ximending. The reception service is really very good. Highly recommended. We requested to clean up for our room, and I think the cleaner auntie forgotten about our toilet roll so when we come back, we called the housekeeping for a toilet roll. The staff who came refused to accept our tips and explained that its their fault. This is really a good hotel!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are bigger if you dont mind corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building

Address: No.94 Emei Street, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ximen Citizen Hotel Main Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.