We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good level, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brother Hotel Taipei

Save Saved
You added Brother Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brother Hotel Taipei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.255 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei, Taiwan (Songshan District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Kuopio, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good level, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Brother hotel is exactly 4 star hotel. It is very clean and personel is friendly. Location is nice close to metro station, which is the fastest way to go around in Taipei.

There are plenty of restaurants in the close surroundings of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    141
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
21
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Is an old hotel in the city, wifi signal is not very good but is okay as long as I can surf the internet and play with my FaceBook. I got a small room even though I wanted to have a big room. It was fully booked. I wonder why so many stayed in this hotel even though the rooms are small and old but I enjoyed the breakfast and Chinese Restaurant, very good food!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Brother hotel has a lot going for it. It is right beside the Nanjing Road MRT station which is exraodinarily convenenient. It is near shopping and many restaurants. It also has 5 or 6 restaurants and bars in the hotel. Breakfast is included with the room and they have a large buffet of Western and Eastern breakfast items. Rooms tend toward the smaller size, I usually ask for a 'superior' room. I'm 6' 3" and have to get a room with a larger bed or my feet hang off the end. The service is excellent and people are very helpful. It seems to me they are struggling to live up to the reputation they have built as a premium hotel in Taipei. With the advent of so many new hotels the rooms are small and the price is a bit more than I would normally pay for this size room. However it is still a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an room with an outside view. If you need a larger bed ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Brother Hotel is very clean and the staff were great, their English was a bit difficult to understand but they were very patient with me. The continental breakfast was great with both American and Asian options. My room was very small and the bed was very hard, but not too bad for just a week. The streets right outside the hotel are bustling and there is lots to see within walking distance. I would definitely recommend the Brother.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was in Taipei for 2 nights and I had the pleasure to stay at this hotel. Very central as it is on one of the most famous streets of Taipei Nanking East Road. The hotel is an old property but renovated and looks very elegant. Breakfast is good with most of the staff speak English. The metro station is at the door of the hotel. Lot of restaurants around the hotel. Will surely stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Overnight stay again at this property. The last time was about 3 years ago. The impression this time is actually better than the last stay; mainly due to the rooms were remodeled. Not sure when they did them but the rooms and hall ways are in much better conditions and give a much warmer and welcoming feeling to us when we first checked in.
The room is not large, but large by Japanese standard, since there were many Japanese guests staying here. Convenient location to either take the MRT next door, or just walk around as shopping areas are just around the corner. The bed was firm enough for a comfy sleep but the Breakfast was only ok.
Overall, average stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed several times over 10 years. Best breakfest in Taipai. Loved the hash browns, bacon and eggs. Rooms very clean but dated. Great servive from staff. I still get birthday cards from them. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brother Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brother Hotel Taipei

Address: No.255 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brother Hotel Taipei 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Brother Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brother Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.