We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Taipei's hospitaility Stay at the Riveria Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Taipei's hospitaility Stay at the Riveria Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed at the Riveria from the 6th Nov through the 9th Nov. The rooms were clean, toiletries aplenty. All the service staff that I came in contact with were very pleasant, efficient and always with a ready smile. Hotel is about a 10minute walk from the mrt station. I like the area around the hotel because it was very quiet and that made sleeping easier as I am a light sleeper. The pastries and desserts were very very good. However, the internet system was not very fast but I managed to check emails and such. The pillows were too soft to make for comfortable sleeping and I didnt get around to asking for a different type. I would definately choose the Riveria again for my future visits to Taipei.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    133
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
66
49
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Great Locaton, Great Service and literally my home away from home. Extremely safe area.
it's a 10 minute walk to the MRT and likely the easiest place to get a taxi in Taipei. It's also with in walking distance to Starbucks and a few western pubs.

We might want to suggest a change to the breakfast buffet which has been the same for as long at i can rememeber.

You must try the Beef Noodle Soup, one of the best in the world.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The staff is great! Very caring, often initiative to ask if we needed umbrellas, taxis, how's the room, actively advising the directions to get to a particular place of interest. They have a ready smile all the time and rush to get the door whenever we are leaving or entering the hotel, makes us feel very welcome as guests!

Room is tip-top, value for money, house-keeping should be applauded, we had a comprehensive set of toiletries. The roof-top gym was cool although a bit small.

Breakfast was included and although there isn't really much variety (they offered the same dishes everyday), it was well presented and the ambience is nice. Standard of the spaghetti was somewhere not there, sometimes!

Location-wise, you would need about 15 mins to get to nearest MRT station (Yuanshan), but by cab it will just set you back by 70-75 NTD, which is ok.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We booked Riveria simply because it is one of the corporate hotel recommended by my hubby's company. I travelled with 2 kids and had an extra bed added to our room. Still, there was enough space for them to run around.

The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They even took great care of my son when he chose to stay at the hotel lobby for a few hours while we went shopping. They make sure he had his lunch and checked on him every 1/2 hour or so. Even the doorman kept a look out for him while we were gone.

The only problem might be its distance to the subway station. It's about 10-15mins walk. Then again, it is difficult to find a hotel near the subway in Taipei.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I searched for several weeks before finally choosing the Riviera. It was a 3½ star hotel, but all the reviews & ratings indicated much more. Well like the ratings, I have to agree. To start with, the staff is the most courteous & professional I’ve experienced. Next, because of price, I decided to go with the Deluxe Suite. The suite was cheaper than the economy rooms of many 5-star hotels, but was nicer than any suite I reserved in a long, long time. The buffet breakfast was good, with a fair variety. The little bakery on the first floor was the balm, as my kids would say. Breads, pastries, etc…oh so good. The Yacht Club (2nd floor) had a nice international cuisine & dinner variety. The prices for all were very reasonable. $30 for a dinner for two (seafood & beef main dishes), with two appetizers and two drinks can’t be beat. …what about a loaf of fresh baked bread with cheese from the bakery for less that $3. Dinner on the 1st floor was also good, averaging between $15-20 per person. There is a small enclosed health room on the roof that some reviews rate as a negative. The room has two treadmills, a recumbent bike, a universal multi-exercise weight machine, incline sit-up bench, and a rack of light dumbbells. Everything was clean, plenty of towels, well lit, TV, etc. There is also a small walking track on the roof, which my wife liked and an area to recline and relax. I personally didn’t come to Taiwan to exercise. I got enough of that on the tours, walking & enjoying the sights. Please note that the location is excellent. It is near the metro; it takes exactly ten minutes to walk from the Riviera to the metro, probably less for those in shape. It’s about 800 yards from the hotel. The hotel is also near many food & shopping establishments, plus there are two seven-elevens nearby. One is right outside the main hotel entrance. One last thing…free internet (wireless or wired), or if you don’t have your own PC, you can use one in the business center, plus cheap mini-bar prices. This quaint little hotel was rated number 1 of 199 hotels on TripAdviser.com, when I came to Taiwan. I can see why. I truly believe the staff, rooms, food, price and location will match or exceed your expectations. I would stay here again given the opportunity and I would recommend it too my friends. Great little hotel!

Final Notes: the Riviera had the best currency exchange rate I could find. Convert only what you need at the airport; convert the rest at the Riviera. Also, use the Easy Card for traveling the metro & bus. You can even use the card for entry into locations like the zoo. When your trip is over, whatever amount remains on the card can be refunded at any metro station, minus about a 60 cent administrative fee. The Riviera…what a great place to stay while you travel & experience Taipei.

For visual of room, see pictures.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Very nice hotel, staff very great and spoke good english. Hotels rooms were of a decent size, very well furnished. Nice and comfy beds, quiet rooms. Good selection at breakfast. Overall, for the equivalent of 65 GBP per night incl breakfast this was good value for a 4/5 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Booked this hotel from airpot due to unexpected overnight. I chose it based in Trip Advisor reviews and was very pleased with the hotel. Clean, attractive, good service an good value. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#22 Business Hotel in Taipei
#24 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#31 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.